We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a beautiful place! I took my partner here to celebrate his 50th birthday and to get away and relax. As it was raining Alan met us at our car with an umbrella before taking us to the Wind Spirit Pavilion on the golf buggy. Walking in to candles, an aromatherapy burner and soft music made it very special. The pavilion is luxurious and has everything you need. Relaxing on the deck watching and listening to the birds while taking in the views was so relaxing. The infinity pool and day bed were another delight. The cheese platter and breakfast provisions were plentiful and delicious.
Everything about our stay was perfect.
We would definitely recommend everyone experience this wonderful destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helentaylor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Helentaylor58,

Thank you for posting your review of Wild Edge Retreat. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your husbands birthday and that despite the rather rainy arrival, the weather didn't managed to dampen your enjoyment of the Retreat.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for more celebrations!

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
94
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in the Wind Spirit pavilion for our wedding anniversary and we absolutely loved it. We were lucky to get gorgeous weather so spent all our time by the beautiful, private pool. The sunken hydrotherapy tub overlooking the beautiful view is just divine. The pavilion was beautifully clean and we had everything we needed to stay and relax for our whole stat. The day bed by the pool was a great place to relax between swims and just soak up the amazing surroundings. Sunsets are gorgeous and we enjoyed them with some champagne while sitting on the recliners on the deck. Alan was lovely and very helpful and provided beautiful breakfast. Highly recommended and we plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Marie D,

Thank you for your review of Wild Edge Retreat. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made good use of the private infinity edge pool! Also pleased that you enjoyed the other facilities and the daily breakfast provisions.

Being located on one of the highest points in the region, we do get to experience some amazing sunsets and the views seem to constantly change throughout the day.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I booked the earth song pavilion for 3 nights (14/2-17/2), as soon as we drove up the private road and arrived at the gate we knew it would be a peaceful weekend. After we walked in to reception and met Alan he helped us carry our bags to the pavilion and gave us a rundown on the kitchen, spa and DVD player. The pavilion was awesome well laid out, clean and you couldn't fault a thing. The view from the balcony and spa was amazing especially one morning when we noticed the fog over the mountains. Alan went out of this way to make sure we had the best weekend and truly is the best host in the industry.

Will definitely be staying again and will be recommending it to anyone looking to stay in the hunter region.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathann92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Nathann92,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of Wild Edge Retreat and of the service you received.

It was my pleasure to welcome you both to the Retreat and to help you arrange all of the little surprises you had planned over the Valentine's weekend.

Being located on a mountain ridgeline certainly ensures our guests enjoy spectacular views which, as you mentioned, regularly change with the weather patterns from day to day.

I hope it won't be too long before we will be welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I love this place. From the moment you drive up to the gates you know this is going to be a special experience.
Walking up to reception across the boardwalk and hearing the variety of birds singing in the trees, instantly made us both smile.
Alan welcomed us in reception and was a great host and escorted us to the Wind Spirit pavilion on the golf buggy.
Upon entry my jaw dropped as it was just beautiful, the decor and layout was stunning and so clean. The little touches, such as lit candles and the aromatherapy burner made me feel relaxed as soon as I walked through the door.
Walking outside onto the balcony, I turned right and there was the infinity pool, which I could not wait to jump into. The day bed and loungers were singing out to be used.
Alan and Andrew have thought of everything and throughout the whole stay it felt as though we were surrounded with luxury. The food platter and breakfast provisions were very generous and contained quality items.
We both returned home feeling rejuvenated and much more relaxed and happier.
I believe Wild Edge Retreat is an amazing place, which exudes quality and luxury at every point.

Room Tip: During the summer months opt for one of the Pavilions with a pool. Wind Spirit is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozkaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Ozkaz78,

Thank you so much for posting your review of our property. It is very much appreciated when our guests take the time to share their experience of Wild Edge Retreat - especially when they have enjoyed our property as much as you did!

Our aim is to not only ensure guests are well looked after, but to also create the feeling of exclusivity, privacy and relaxation, and judging by what you have written, we succeeded to deliver that to you.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I took my husband here for a couple of nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We stayed in the Wind Spirit pavilion and it was just perfect. I want to find something unique to write about the place as ordinary words don't seem to do it justice.
The scenery is just astounding and the pavilion is pure luxury. We would have happily stayed there for the entire weekend - and yet there was the whole Hunter Valley to explore.
If you are undecided, don't be. We will certainly be back when we can get babysitters again!
Such a beautiful place to recharge, reconnect and nourish your soul. (I know, I felt sick writing that - but it's true!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch4rlott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ch4rlott3

Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate your husbands 40th birthday with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you both to the Retreat. Before you left, he had said to me that it was the best birthday he had ever had. Which in itself was good to hear.

Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write such a heartfelt review of your stay with us and of the Retreats facilities. Naturally, we are very proud of our property, the facilities we are able to offer our guests and our unique location.

Hopefully, it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to once again; recharge, reconnect and nourish your soul!

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I surprised my friend for his birthday with a 2-day stay in the Whispering Forest Pavilion. What a treat it was !! The drive up to the property offers expansive views of the area. We were lucky to drive just before sundown and enjoyed a very pleasant sunset on our way up. Alan welcomed us at the gate and took us through everything we needed to know about our stay and Wollombi. This and the fact that there are only 4 pavilions on the property made us feel very special. The Whispering Forest Pavilion has the most well-thought and modern interior design i have come across so far and it definitely made us feel we were the luckiest people in the world! everything is so carefully thought of, it makes it hard to leave even to discover the town of Wollombi (which you should definitely do too) Overall the most enjoyable and breathtaking experience in a very long while. Perfect way to spend time with a loved one!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the pavilion at Wild Edge Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear D&J
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Wild Edge Retreat. I was very pleased to read that you both enjoyed the Retreat, the facilities, and the magnificent views, which can really only be experienced by the Retreats unique mountain top location.

I was also pleased to read that you had taken the time to visit our historic little village of Wollombi.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back, and again, thank you for the review.

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place is just absolutely breathtaking.... It was the perfect weekend away!!!

From the moment we entered the gates, and our host walked over to meet us, we knew we were about to experience something very special!!

We stayed in the 'Whispering Forest' pavilion, and WOW, the attention to detail in EVERYTHING, was amazing!!

It's not just a place to stay, it's an experience. Words just can not explain the feeling this place gives you, and the mark it leaves on your heart.... It's beautiful ❤

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsSami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi MsSami!

Thank you for such a great and heart felt review of Wild Edge. It was our pleasure to have you stay and a little humbling to read your review.

We do aim to give our guests that extra special experience that does leave a lasting impression, so it's great to read when we have.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a little longer next time!!

Many thanks again,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
18.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
18.7 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Property: Wild Edge Retreat
Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing