We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secluded weekend escape”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

No complaints. Just be careful driving there in the dark if you are leaving on a evening. The set up is fantastic and the spa bath is beautiful! It's a nice drive to the hunter valley wine region, but it's not close quick drive at all! Overall it's a great get away!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Stephanie N,

Thank you for your review of Wild Edge Retreat.
I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your 3 night stay with us in June. The two person spa bath and log fire are certainly popular with guests during the Winter months.

Due to our unique, mountain ridge location, we do advise guests to drive with care if arriving after dark. Not only are some guests unfamiliar with driving on our unsealed roads, but there are often a number of wildlife species to look out for - especially the poor old wombats!

While the main Hunter wine region is about a 40 min drive from the Retreat, we encourage guests to sample some of the local 'boutique' wineries on the 'Wollombi Wine Trail', the first of which is only 10 mins away.

Again, thank you for posting your review and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights in the Natures Mist Pavillion. It was absolutely wonderful. Every tiny detail was clearly thought out. The bed felt like you were sleeping on a cloud and the log fire heated the room nicely and it was so romantic. The place was fully booked but we never saw anybody until we were leaving!! Alan and Andrew were very welcoming and friendly. For a romantic getaway where you forget about the hustle and bustle of work, this place is it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda29111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Amanda29111,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for posting your review of Wild Edge. Very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your weekend at the Retreat and found the Pavilion so comfortable and relaxing.

Other guests have also commented that they thought they were the only ones here as it is so quite and private - which is great, as that's just the impression we want!

Thank you also for your wonderful comments on our guest survey - much appreciated!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Thanks Wild Edge for making our 25th wedding anniversary such a special occasion. From the sumptuous decor, to the beautiful surrounds...we could not have asked for a better place to celebrate.
Form the moment we arrived, we knew this was something different. Everything was perfect, the grounds, the pavilion, the owners....not a single complaint.
If you are looking for a quiet couples getaway, or a special occasion...you can trust Wild Edge to make it a trip to remember.
We will definitely return....thanks!

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyliefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Kyliefitz,

Thank you for your review of Wild Edge Retreat and for choosing to celebrate your Silver Wedding Anniversary with us.

It was great to read that the Retreat affected you both so much, that you 'fell in love all over again'! Naturally, being the owner of the property, I always think it's somewhere very special, but when our guests share that sentiment, it makes us feel very proud of our property and what we are offering our guests.

Again, many thanks and we hope to welcome you both back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My girlfriend and I went away to celebrate her coming home from the UK. Very hard to describe just how amazing wild edge really is! You drive up the private road into the most beautiful spot in the hunter valley by far. On arrival Andrew welcomed us and we were very pleased to upgraded to the Earth Song pavilion, Andrew helped us with our luggage and showed us around the stunning pavilion. They really have thought of everything the attention to detail is incredible! Relaxing music and candles on arrival were a great touch, made us feel so relaxed! From the kitchen appliances to the fire place, the bedding, robes no expense has been sparred. Alan and Andrew were so accommodating and helpful. Such a beautiful spot the girlfriend and I can't wait to come back in summer!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schiaffi1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Schiaffi1989,

Many thanks for posting your review of Wild Edge. I was pleased to read that you both enjoyed the experience and inclusions so much. We do find many of our guests appreciate our personal welcome and orientation, rather than the somewhat sterile 'self check-in' offered by a number of properties these days (you are our guests, we want to meet you!!)

After her long haul flight I'm sure Jade really appreciated the peace and quiet, plus the opportunity to catch up on some much needed relaxation and sleep.

Thank you also for up-loading the images and we look forward to welcoming you back in the warmer months!

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I spent a few days at Wild Edge for our honeymoon as we wanted somewhere relatively close to Sydney and yet a world away - Wild Edge was perfect! The pavilion was beautiful and the service was wonderful! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear SarahW6,

Thank you for your great review of Wild Edge and for choosing to spend your Honeymoon with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and very pleasing to read that you had enjoyed our property so much..........maybe we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back for your Anniversary!

Love the photo you up-loaded too!!

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay was amazing and exceeded all expectations.Our pavilion (Wind Spirit) was absolute luxury,with the log fire,soft music and burning candles on arrival set the scene for a magic weekend.Of all our getaways (we've have had many) Wild Edge would have to be the most memorable experience.
Our hosts were friendly and very accommodating,nothing was to much trouble.

A definite must on your to do list

Can't wait to go back

Bev and Lou

Room Tip: We stayed in Wind Sprit pavilion,and enjoyed a drink or two while relaxing in the spa watching the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Louisa N,

Thank you for posting your review of Wild Edge Retreat.

We actually love our property too and take great pride in what we do, so it is very much appreciated when guests take the time to post their reviews, and especially when they have been so happy with their stay.

It was lovely to meet you both, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back........hopefully in the not too distant future!

Again, many thanks.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked the Wild Edge Retreat for two nights for my boyfriends surprise birthday weekend away. I thought the photos looked fantastic, but once we got there the photos don't do it justice. The place is absolutely beautiful and peaceful, and Alan and Andrew's attention to detail and personal service was just out of this world! We had the seafood platter ordered for two on the Friday night, and as soon as we arrived the place had tealight candles lit and the table set up for dinner. When we checked out on the Sunday they had been baking delicious coconut cookies all morning and gave us a little bag to take home with us. Divine experience, highly recommended and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whispering Forest Pavillion which was perfect as it was winter and didn't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mzbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mzbron,

Thank you so much for submitting your review of your stay at Wild Edge.

Really pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your weekend away with us. We do receive a number of comments from guests who say our photos don't do the Retreat justice. I guess it's hard to capture it all in a photograph, but in a way it's always good to exceed guests expectations.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for choosing Wild Edge as your preferred accommodation in the Hunter.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollombi hotels
0.4 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a mountain ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond. Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. All pavilions have a two person spa bath, Nespresso machines and a Bose sound system with bluetooth dock and a Dyson hairdryer. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. Connected by raised timber boardwalks, each of the architecturally designed Spa and Private Pool Spa Pavilions seem to float effortlessly above the trees and landscape below. Here you will instantly lose yourself in a world of romance, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing