We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity!!!”
Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mystwood
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenity!!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. My fiance & I spent 4 nights over Easter in a cabin. It is so peaceful. Your outdoor spa is on a constant 38 degrees and the bush land setting very calming & romantic. The cabin itself has a huge king size bed with top quality sheets & pillows and plush robes. We had some lovely visits from Stella (the resident dog) who would chill out with us on the balcony while we played board games & cooked BBQ's. (She'll even accompany you on a walk to the large dam on the property if you like) The picnic packs are great value with meat, salad, corn & potatoes. The breakfast pack stocked in the fridge when we arrived supplied us with bacon & eggs for brekkie our whole stay (Plus the huge loaf of home baked bread!). If you are staying as long as we did just take some other food you would like as there isn't really much around the area but the kitchen is well stocked with everything you need - we actually cooked a mini roast for Easter sunday in the cabin. You will definitely leave a lot more relaxed & rested - exactly what we were looking for. The staff are very helpful but don't bother you at all, you pretty much feel like you're the only ones there as the cabins are spaced out nicely. Will be back - probably during winter so we can crank up the log fire!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kursed83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    7
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have been going to Mystwood for a number of years, and recently got engaged there. We are both well-travelled and this is our favourite place in the world. The accommodation is immaculate - you're constantly discovering little details that make you realise how much thought has gone into guest comfort. The food and wine selections are equally impressive. And the service is incomparable - Colin and the rest of the family are gracious, welcoming hosts whose relaxed and positive approach to everything always makes sure the stay is easy. Whether you're looking for a quiet break or a bit of a fun and adventurous few days away, this place caters brilliantly for both and we can't commend it highly enough.

Tips: make sure you try the barbecue hampers; go for a picnic up at the dam if you can (we only discovered this on our last trip and it's a pity we didn't do it earlier!); take Colin's wine tour which is a real treat; visit the Wollombi pub, especially on a Sunday evening when the friendly locals are out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatP_and_PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Fantastic place to stay

What an amazing place to stay. If you want a relaxing weekend away from the rat race this is the place to stay. The cabin we stayed in was tastefully decorated, clean and very comfortable with everything you could need. We didn’t use the spa as the weather was a bit hot to be jumping in a spa but when we come back in winter this will be a must. The surrounding farm and bush areas make you feel like you are the only people for a million miles.
Now the food, we pre ordered a dinner hamper, it was fantastic. There was enough food to feed a family and yet there was only two of us. The complimentary breakfast provisions, bacon, eggs etc was great. Sitting on the deck, cooking up a storm on the bbq in the morning was the icing on the cake.
We will definitely be back.

Can highly recommend a stay at Mystwood.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were in desperate need of a weekend of total relaxation and that's exactly what we got at Mystwood.
Our cabin was charming, spotless and secluded. We pretty much spent our entire weekend in the private spa, enjoying wine and recharging the batteries. The breakfast provisions were a wonderful touch....Colin and his wife bake a mean sourdough! You must try the Thai banquet, it was absolutely delicious.
We are already planning our next visit to Mystwood

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We had such a wonderful time at Mystwood last week. It is so secluded we could barely see it within the bushland upon arrival. Colin was so friendly and accommodating all throughout our stay, and took us on a fantastic wine tour to some of the local boutique wineries. The retreat itself felt like our own home and the heated outdoor spa was the perfect mix of romantic and relaxing. We made a new friend in Stella the Dog and were sad to say goodbye at the end of our time there.
We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband and I just got back from a relaxing weekend at Mystwood. It was a lovely drive up from Sydney to a relaxing and out of the way location.
We especially enjoyed spending time in the spa which was a real treat.
We're not wine drinkers but enjoyed a drive to Pokolbin to see the Hunter Valley Gardens which were spectacular during the day and even better for the Christmas light show at night.

The weather was extreme on the day we arrived and it was nice to walk into the cabin to find that the air con was on.... thank goodness!!
The breakfast supplies were lovely and the quantity was good... just would have liked to see some mushrooms and tomatoes to complete the meal.
The bed was really comfy and provided the opportunity for a well deserved sleep in each morning for both of us after a busy week at work.
The kitchen had all we needed and the bathroom was nicely presented with good quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel.
Overall we had a lovely and relaxing weekend away for our 11 anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Colin greeted us with a big smile,a piping hot loaf of bread and all provisions for breakfast
The retreats are well spaced apart for privacy and enjoy great views of the valley
the bed is one of the best we have slept on
the spa itself is located behind the retreat with shrubs around that make it private
we saw kangaroos in the valley, a wallaroo came right up to our cabin and all number of birds came to say hello
the big wine companies are located some 40 minutes away but there are smaller vineyards on the doorstep
its a bit far for us to visit regularly coming from the UK but if we are in the area again then we will definitely return

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has the best view of the valley Cabin 4 & 5 are fare more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
19.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
14.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
18.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
211 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Property: Mystwood
Address: 117 Milsons Arm Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing