We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret”
Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mystwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned yet again from the best kept secret for a weekend getaway. What a beautiful place surrounds so tranquil and quiet. The Retreats are wonderful very comfortable beds, i don't know what the people in the below review are complaining about! They must be fussy! State of the art entertainment systems and the most wonderful deck to bbq on. The breakfast and home-baked bread is truly a country touch. Being a travel agent and knowing the costs of weekends away this is the best value for money.! A huge thank you again Colin, Phensan, Lieneka and Simon for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelle716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    7
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

First of all, Colin was a wonderful host - his wine tour was really good too - we would definitely recommend doing this.

The cabin did have everything you needed and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The log fire was a really nice touch and the jacuzzi also.

Our only issue was that we didn't find it "boutique" enough for our taste. The cabins were quite basic and we found the 2 seater sofa too small for the 2 of us to sit comfortably. We had loads of cockroaches in the kitchen, Colin dealt with this straight away but they still kept coming - we figured that this was just part of being in the bush. Towels and bathrobes were provided but they weren't the super fluffy, white ones we're used to but they did the job just fine.

There is lots of wildlife around, we went for a run around Mystwood and spotted some Kangaroos and there were lots of amazing birds - lets not forget Stella the dog!

If you are looking for a high standard boutique feel then this place probably isn't quite right. But if you are after some peace and quiet away from it all then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned to civilisation after an unforgettable weekend at Mystwood. We stayed for 3 nights in the couples accommodation Thursday-Sunday, with our 21st & 25th birthdays on the Saturday.

This mini getaway was the perfect escape - from the booking process right through to our departure, Col was the perfect host. I actually realised the day before leaving that I'd made a terrible mistake and booked the wrong dates (!!!), and Col went out of his way to rearrange the bookings and accommodate us last-minute so as not to ruin our stay, which was so very much appreciated.

We arrived after a gorgeous drive surrounded by greenery to a clean, beautiful little cottage with everything we could possibly need. The bed was divine - huge & comfortable - and we immediately donned the fluffy, white bathrobes provided that we barely took off for our whole stay. The kitchen was well-equipped with thoughtful supplies (oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, porridge, milk, butter, 12 eggs, bacon, apricot jam, coffee, teas, delicious freshly-baked sourdough bread), there was plentiful kindling, logs, newspaper & fire-starters for the fireplace, which we tended to with care. A comfortable couch, sound system (which we made good use of!) and nicely sized TV - for which we helped ourselves to Col's extensive DVD collection.

The jacuzzi was a definite winner - very easy to use and just sublime to slip into every night, sipping on champagne and eating strawberries whilst looking up at a blanket of stars and feeling like the only people in the world. The property itself is lovely - so green and lush, with the sweetest birdcalls greeting you in the morning, cheering up your day and keeping you company softly during the night. We went for multiple walks enjoying the land, often tailed by the adorable Stella (the resident dog, a loveable 'Groodle') and said hi to some horses in the paddock.

On our birthday, Col was also kind enough to arrange a BBQ dinner for us both and set everything up at a lovely picnic area by the dam - Stella joined us on the walk and the three of us dined at sunset, listening to the birds.

All in all our trip definitely came to an end too quickly and we cannot recommend the place enough. It was the perfect escape... a place of tranquility and peace, fresh air and relaxation.. We will miss Mystwood!!

Love Leïla and Daniel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LeilaBerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked the two bedroom cabin for a special weekend away with my husband, 8 week old son and my parents who were visiting from the states. I was expecting luxury accommodation but was disappointed from the moment we pulled up to the retreat. The hot tub was covered with a blue tarp with bricks to hold it down; we never used it despite hoping to. The queen sized bed frame was beautiful but a hazard to shins, especially since we were getting up multiple times each night to feed and change our baby. The mattress is quite old; I sunk into a hole immediately after going to bed. To top off the disappointment there was an issue with the hot water heater. We repeatedly needed to go outdoors to "jump start" the heater in order to have hot water. Even though the owners were lovely, I felt some gesture on their part to acknowledge the inconveniences would have been appropriate, but that did not happen. Not sure we will be heading back in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Mystwood and it was absolutely fantastic. It's very secluded yet only 5km from the nearest town. The hosts are incredibly friendly and offer delicious home baked bread and freshly cooked Thai food. The spa is divine and the cabin is very homely. The breakfast hamper is a perfect touch during a weekend away and Stella, the resident dog, is an excellent guide during a walk around the property. Wollombi, the local town, has excellent wineries and very friendly. Would definitely recommend and will return one day soon,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We drove from Brisbane for a week in the Hunter Valley and stumbled across Mystwood on-line, it was the luckiest find ever.

We live busy lives and relaxing at Mystwood made all that melt away within hours of arriving there. We popped the supplied sparkling wine and relaxed in the hot tub to recover from the drive. The Salmon Steaks BBQ pack was perfect (and perfectly cooked if I do say so myself).

Wake up to birds singing and standing on the deck enjoying the Wallabies and the Cow moo's coming from the misty valley is the perfect way to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.

Wollombi is a bit off the beaten track, a 35 min drive to the major winery area of Pokolbin but there are some fantastic boutique wineries around Wollombi and Col does a great small winery tour that is well worth going on. As we wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of traffic and crowds Mystwood's Wollombi location was a bonus for us and we weren't worried by the 35 min drive into Pokolbin.

The cabin was perfectly clean, the fireplace was exactly what we needed (and wanted) on those chilly winter nights, and having a private hot tub under the stars was stunning.

We really didn't want to leave (and part of me wants to give up my city life and buy a property/cottages business similar to Mystwood, I'm inspired!). Col was the perfect host and we are already thinking of when we might be able to make it back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitey212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

An ideal location for us to drive to from Sydney for a few days, then explore the Hunter Valley and other interesting little places around. A beautiful place to relax and unwind, our highlight was sitting out watching the wallabies feeding each morning, as well as a huge and diverse range of birds. Everything in the cottage was very good quality, and we really enjoyed the breakfast food plus the optional BBQ pack we ordered. Whenever I would start to think "I wonder if they have a ... here?", the answer was always yes! Friendly help and advice available whenever we needed it, not to mention the wonderful thai dinner prepared freshly for us one evening. I think we needed to stay an extra week - maybe next time :-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
18.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
19.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
841 reviews
14.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
10.0 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Property: Mystwood
Address: 117 Milsons Arm Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing