We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6th visit and will return for many more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Somewhere Unique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somewhere Unique
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6th visit and will return for many more!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I just returned from our 6th visit to Somewhere Unique and we will be returning for many more in the future. Whenever we visit we always comment that we wish we could stay longer! We absolutely love the privacy and peacefulness of the retreats and everything you could ever need is provided for you. Counting down the days until we can return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you yet again for your wonderful review, and for returning so many times over the years! I'm glad you both enjoyed the privacy and peacefulness, as it's something we also enjoy about our property.

We look forward to welcoming you both again very soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
195
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Somewhere Unique is exactly that..UNIQUE!

My husband and I spent our 1st Wedding Anniversary there over the weekend. It was exactly what we wanted and needed! Melanie had thought of every last little detail that made it that much more! We walked into the cottage to the sound of soft music in the background and a pleasant homely feeling. The fridge was stocked with food that was first class. My husband and I enjoyed sitting outside sharing a glass of wine, some cheese and most of all each others company an environment that made you feel relaxed, at home and it was still oh so romantic!

We had a couples in house massage organised by Melanie and that to was fantastic. Using the Somewhere Unique website we found a Trekabout Tours who spent the day driving us around to different wineries from some wine tasting. We visited the local restaurant Panino to have an anniversary dinner and that was simply outstanding as well.

We have now decided that Somewhere Unique will become a regular destination for my husband and I either to celebrate those magical moments in our relationship or to just get away. We recommend this place to whoever is c onsidering it! You will not be disappointed!

Somewhere Unique creates a magical relaxed feeling in both the mind and body! Well done Melanie and her team for creating such an amazing place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your very positive review, and I'm glad we could provide you with a memorable 1st Wedding Anniversary. The Pamper Package with in-house massage is a wonderful way to relax, and it sounds like you had a great day out with Trekabout Tours exploring the area.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The most relaxing, luxurious and peaceful weekend we have ever had!!
Amazing location, beautiful food and what an awesome little house! They have thought of everything!! Was the most relaxing weekend of our lives!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for your wonderful review, and it's great to hear you had a relaxing weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallidays Point, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at Somewhere Unique to celebrate my 50th Birthday and enjoy some well needed "couple time". It was organised by my husband as a surprise. As a Hospitality teacher, I can let you know that this place is absolutely first class hospitality from the minute you arrive at the front door and read your welcome note. I recieved a birthday card and we were so impressed with all the other personal touches inclusive of this gorgeous accomodation. We loved the music, the birdseed provided, the amazing bathtub for two, movies to watch, delicious local produce including Lovedale Smokehouse bacon and wine, essential oils to burn and chocolate candles. We had such a wonderful time there, totally relaxing and feeling quite different in terms of our wellbeing, when we left on Sunday. I can't say enough about this special place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for your terrific review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your 50th Birthday Celebration - hopefully the complimentary bottle of bubbly went down well!

It's great to hear you appreciated all the little extras that are included with our packages. We try and promote local suppliers as much as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Before we even arrived Melanie was in touch with us making sure that our requirements were captured and taken care of and that we had all the instructions we needed to find the place, get in easily and make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
When we got to the retreat we were greeted by a lovely personal welcome message by the door, soft jazz music and aromatic candles set for our arrival.
The place continued to delight us with its wonderful use of space and light, bringing the outdoors in, and providing us with everything that we could need from eco friendly amenities, to food and drink to meet our dietry requirements, luxurious toilettries and beauty products, and music and candles to help permeate the chilled vibe.
We chose Allawah retreat as a place to get away from the hustle bustle of the city; to spend a weekend in pease and relaxation and we got just that. We were able to melt into a world where only we existed; well us and the birds and butterflies, the trees and blue skies.
And just when we thought we couldn't be any more relaxed we were visited by the lovely Lynn who we had booked in as part of our package. She gave us full body massages and took us to a whole new level of relaxation.
This trip was just what we needed and more than we expected! We can't thank Somewhere Unique enough for this experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sabrina,

Thank you for your great review, and it was wonderful reading about your relaxing weekend. I'm so glad that we were able to provide everything you needed and more than you expected!

Sounds like your in-house massage with Lynn was heavenly ...

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our second visit to Somewhere Unique to celebrate our Anniversary. We have found it the perfect place to escape to as we feel relaxed as soon as we arrive. The Lowanna retreat is secluded and a haven for bird life. Of the 2 retreats, I feel this one has the better aspect and is nicely tucked away. Waking with a mist over the valley and the sounds of blue wrens and butcher birds was bliss. We were also visited by a wallaby and her joey. The bench seat on the top of the escarpment is a beautiful place to sit, ponder and tuck in to the fantastic cheese plate. It was a perfect spot to sit in the evening to watch the day drift away.
We had chosen the wine and dine package which left us very much self contained for the weekend. This included a breakfast hamper, ample Barbecue package and a 3 course lunch at award winning Margan Restaurant in Broke. We were able to buy the supplies needed at the general store in Wollombi to cover us for Saturday dinner.
Although we have never met, we felt like friends and not guests from the first communications with Melanie to the welcome message left on the notice board.. I cant speak highly enough of Somewhere Unique and know we will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your very positive review, and it was wonderful to welcome you for a second visit. Great to hear you enjoyed the local flora and fauna, and the general peace and tranquility we provide here.

The Wine & Dine Package is a great way to sample the local area, with lunch or dinner at Margan Restaurant in Broke being a highlight.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Allawah retreat and it was perfect. When we arrived, I thought someone was in the house as I could hear a little noise, but when we opened the door we discovered that some romantic music was playing on the stereo. This was the perfect way to start our little break, and made us smile straight away.

Melanie and Grant, the owners, have thought of EVERYTHING! We had the fridge stocked up, music, DVDs, games, bikes, an umbrella (just in case) and even bird food in case we wanted to watch the birds fluttering about.

I would totally recommend Somewhere Unique for a fabulous break - we will 100% be going back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Katy,

Thank you for your terrific review - wonderful to hear you enjoyed the music playing on arrival, and all the little extras we provide in the retreats. The bikes are a great way to explore the Wollombi Valley.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
12.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
15.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.4 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somewhere Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somewhere Unique

Property: Somewhere Unique
Address: Narone Creek Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Somewhere Unique' is located near the historic village of Wollombi near the Hunter Valley vineyards and two hours drive from the Sydney CBD. Two completely private couples-only retreats combine a tranquil romantic setting with luxurious comfort and attention to detail. The retreats are eco-certified and feature a king-sized bed, two person bath, rain shower, bathrobes, gas log fireplace, air-conditioning, Foxtel, stereo with iPod dock, Wi-Fi, modern kitchen, Weber BBQ, private deck with lounges and views, and two bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Somewhere Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somewhere Unique Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing