We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    894
    409
    146
    69
See reviews for
352
773
283
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a stop over for a night but were disappointed by the state of the hotel- it was in the middle of major renovations and the surrounding area was unattractive. Our bedroom was quiet enough ( room 305) but quite basic. The restaurant food and service was fine but the common areas were pretty uninviting and so we felt more at home in our room. I am sure that this will improve as the renovations are complete but I think that we would have preferred to stay closer to the main terminal building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for staying with us.

Please be advised that the hotel is not undertaking any renovations or remodelling.
There is however a development adjacent to the hotel which is not related to the hotel. This may be what you are referring to.

Thank you for the feed back in regards to the quiet rooms. Although the hotel is not under any direct flight paths, hotels in the area are subject to noise. This is why our rooms have double glazed windows to cancel out external noise.

Once again thank you for staying with us and proving valuable feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
865 reviews
483 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We took the airport shuttle from downtown to the International terminal then took a taxi to the hotel. The taxi driver was not happy as it was quite close and complained the whole way then charged us more than $20 for a less than 5 minute trip and also complained about no tip. First bad experience in Sydney and on our last day. Anyway we checked in and went to our room which was very nice and comfortable. We went out to walk around the area and found that you can indeed walk to the International Terminal as it is just across the main road from the hotel. However we opted to use the shuttle in the morning as we had luggage. We had drinks in the bar late afternoon and the barman was exceptional. So much so that we opted for bar snacks for dinner later and he was again outstanding. The best service we've seen in Sydney. A great stay overall for our last night in Oz.

Room Tip: There is construction going on adjacent to the hotel so on weeknights it may be good to ask for a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear WeeLuv2Travel2,

Thank you for your feedback.

There is no way that a taxi fair from the International Terminal would cost $20, unless the driver had taken an extended route. The hotel is less than 2 km from the International terminal and as you suggest in your review, we are only a short walk away.

This review has been passed on to the rest of the team and is sure to reinforce the exceptional service mentioned. Thank you. If you could respond directly to me with the name of the team member who served you, I would greatly appreciate this.

Until your next OZ experience


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is a hotel in the middle of not too much really, however, brilliant in terms of being able to save money in taxi costs by being situated close to the airport and on the main roads for a trip to the south our west of the city, if that is where your business meetings take you. Restaurant was good, service attentive even if a bit amateurish, and rooms were fairly quiet despite the proximity to the airport. I think you would be best to eat breakfast outside the hotel, or arrive at your destination 15 mins earlier and enjoy a nicer and better priced breakfast, which at $27 was pricey, for the basics things and a need to make your own tea and coffee…..

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the airport which was fine….double glazed windows did well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your pleasant review.

You are correct, our hotel did unveil a multimillion dollar refurbishment in June 2013. It is great that we are still hearing feedback in regards to this.

Please note that the mentioned construction site is adjacent to the hotel and is not related to the hotel.

Looking forward to accommodating you in the future.



Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

If you read the reviews they are mixed however I will say that our stay was pleasant. I did not know that there had been renovations to the front lobby as we had not stayed at this location for quite a few years and I must admit the front desk looks ok but the lounge area and entrance does lack ambiance. I would much prefer sitting in the restaurant area to have a drink then the lounge as it is really lacking, ok if you are watching a footie game I guess. The room was comfortably laid out and new showers and floors had been put in. There are also in room safes in located in the closet. The only thing that detracted from the room was the view as it overlooked the construction site. Being the airport I was surprised at how quiet the rooms were despite the proximity to the airport. If you need to get to the airport early or just like to be close to the airport this is a good choice of the hotels around the area. If you are a tourist with a car the location of the hotel is ideal as you are right close to the expressway.

Room Tip: the construction wont be going forever but if you like to have a view ask for a room on a higher lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Laura K,

Thank you for staying with us and providing such a detailed review.
Our hotel did reveal a multimillion dollar refurbishment in June 2013 including the areas that you mentioned.
It is great to hear that the double glazed windows are doing their job at keeping that sound out and providing the comfort you expect when staying with a Mercure property. Not to mention the fact that our property is located away from direct flight paths as well.
Please note that the adjacent development is not related to the hotel and we have employed measures to ensure out guests and operations are not effected, as your review suggests.

Once again thank you kindly for the review and please do not wait too long until you stay with us again.


Warm regards,
General Manager
Richard Holt
Richard.Holt@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Mascot Central
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Property: Mercure Sydney International Airport
Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport
Mercure Sydney International Airport Australia/Wolli Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing