We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facelift has made a difference to the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We overnighted here to make access to the International Terminal easy and quick. I have stayed here on numerous previous occasions and since the last time, refurbishment of some, if not all, of the rooms has taken place. The result is a definite plus. We were given a complementary room upgrade, which was nice. The rooms are not large, but fine for what was a 'transit' night. Having not eaten in the restaurant I am not able to comment on food or service this time. The former bar area has been completely rebuilt, but it is now quite sterile, open and lacking character / atmosphere compared to it's former enclosed and colourful design. I hope the management addresses this in future, as it is not inviting at all. There is currently a building site on the former car park, but I suspect most people who stay will not be disturbed by any building activity; there was certainly none at night. In conclusion this is a well positioned transit hotel at a reasonable price and would rate it at 3.5 if I could.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Brett,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. Also thank you for choosing our hotel on numerous occasions. I am glad to hear that we are accommodating you well which results in your returned stays.

It is great to hear your feed back in regards to the multimillion dollar refurbishment completed in June 2013.

Please note that your feedback in regards to the bar area has been communicated to the relevant departments as we are continuously aiming to enhance our public areas.

Thank you for addressing the adjacent development as not having any impact on your stay. The development is not related to the hotel and we have measures in place to ensure that our guests and operations are not effected.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Mecure Hotel in March and in May 2014.
This Hotel, although very good and ideally placed for Sydney Airport, has a rather drab appearance due to the concrete material used. A coat of paint would brighten it enormously!
Staff were very good and helpful, however the restaurant was understaffed, with the staff trying to do many different jobs at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear 45scorpion,

Thank you for returning to Mercure Sydney International Airport and It is great to hear that you had another enjoyable experience.
Please note that I have passed on your dinning experience to the relevant department and any issues will be rectified immediately.

You may have noticed upon one of your return visits that the hotel did complete a multimillion dollar refurbishment in June 2013. This refurbishment did not include the exterior of the building which I am assuming that you are referring to when mentioning the concrete material.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again and please do not wait too long between visits.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Last night we had the displeasure of eating at the restaurant at this accommodation venue. The food was good, but the service was very much sub standard. We sat at a table without cutlery, we then had to ask for menus, then ask for water, ask for drinks. We took cutlery from another table. There were a number of staff. I just wish I had taken my camera out to photo the Ice area of the breakfast bar. As I am sure i saw things that a health inspector would just love to see, then close the whole place down. Finally there was a credit card surcharge. I would think that the Accor group would have a great discount with the card companies, and the 1.5% charge, plus GST is a rip off. There was no warning of this when paying. I have no comment about the accommodation as we were not staying.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelH_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear NoelH_Aust,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Please accept a sincerer apology for your unfortunate experience. I would greatly appreciate if you were to contact me directly so that we can discuss your experience further.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a lay over in Sydney and this is right next door, bit classier than some of the others without being extravagant. Food was very nice and wine selection was quite reasonable.
Meals were good and rooms were lovely, well worth a try.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much all the same, so pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Jody D,

Thank you for staying with us and I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

good quality, the service is fine, some receptionist are ver experienced ad client friendly.
the shuttle service in relative expensive.
quality of accomodation is fine, wqith spacious public areas.
wifi is problematic though, it is very old fashion to let hotel clients pay or have a slow connection, that can be improved (overall in Australia though)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank paolocove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi paolocove,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our shuttle service costs $6 each way, per person. This may be the cheapest mode of transport to each Airport terminals. Taxi fares are a little more costly. I have walked to the International Terminal from the hotel my self and achieved this in 10 minutes as it is less than 2 km away, although I understand that this not the most practical way to get to the Airport from the hotel.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Back again this June with a group of 54 leaving the next day for a holiday in the States. We keep coming back to this hotel because of the friendly service and caring attitude of the staff. This year they were particularly caring and in spite of a large conference being held by a large service organisation they were able to accommodate a carer who needed to stay over for one extra night. Yes, building activity is presently going on but in no way affected the visit. A coach was able to access the parking area without trouble and exiting the facility was no problem. This will always be our stay of preference when travelling by air for our holidays. Meals are adequate and the breakfast always good!

Room Tip: We have had no complaints from any of the rooms allocated to us as a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Lenkingston,

This is such a lovely review. It brings great pleasure to read about your experience with us and preference for our hotel.
If you could contact me directly with the names of staff who made your stay so pleasant - this would be greatly appreciated.
It is great to hear that the adjacent development had no interference with your stay. We have measures in place to ensure this.

Once again thank you for staying with us and providing such a lovely review.
I am looking forward to hearing from you directly.

Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range: £96 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport
Mercure Sydney International Airport Australia/Wolli Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing