We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a great get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ulus J
2 reviews
“This is a great get away”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Located in the mountains this house is a great weekend escape. Surrounded be trees and a nearby lake for ice fishing and skating. The house was immaculately clean and stocked with everything we needed. The fire place was warm and cozy and the snow made for a perfect winter wonderland.The owner and care keeper are great people. 5 stars for me.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Thank you for a great review and spending the holiday at the house. Hope you made some wonderful memories. Look forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless7...
1 review
“Family Holiday Get Away”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had such a wonderful stay at the Bear Creek Lake Retreat! We visited between Dec. 27-30. It was very cold outside but so warm and cozy inside. The house was clean and well stocked with all the kitchen supplies we needed to make home-cooked meals. We brought 4 children along (5 and under). We enjoyed playing with snow outside on the deck and taking short walks to the playground behind the house. We also spent a day in downtown Jim Thorpe taking a ride on the train and shopping. Thank you for letting us stay! We can't wait to book again soon!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with your family. We look forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
Ron,
Thank you so much for an awesome review. We look forward to having you stay again. So happy it was just what you were looking for.
Sincerely,
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carousel1...
West Chester
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Several Misleading Items in Ad”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The only reason we had rented this home was for the 'lake views' that it advertised. We could not see the lake at all from the house! It was a short walk to the lake, but we did not get to enjoy a lake view from the deck as it claimed there was. Also, there was no dishwasher, which was listed under the amenities. All that aside, the home was immaculate and was comfortable, so those were the pluses. The ad for this home should be updated to be more accurate, so it does not come up under a search for lake view properties. Although we were extremely disappointed that there was no lake view, we still enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The house was well maintained and had open floor concept downstairs
Liked least: No lake view as advertised.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for the review. I will update the website regarding no dish washer which I was unaware that it was listed as having one. However in the winter months you can see the lake from the deck, when leaves have fallen, but it is (.1 mile) away from house which is a very short walk as well as being very close to playground, tennis and basketball courts. I'm sorry you were under the impression it was closer but I do enjoy seeing the lake from the deck even though it is a further view than you had anticipated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailp3320...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, roomy and clean. Not lakeside”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was nice, but the ad should be updated. It says "lake view." That's very misleading and we were very disappointed about that. The #1 reason we chose the house, was because of that description. Our search included that description. We would not have chosen that house, if we had known that it was a short walk to the lake, instead of next to the lake. The amenities description also says it provides bed linens and towels. It does not, and the owner told us ahead of time, fortunately. It also does not have a dishwasher, which didn't matter, but that was also in the description. Trip Advisor needs to have that changed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was roomy and clean
Liked least: It doesn't have a lake view
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for the review and bringing a few things to my attention. I will be updating the ad.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing