We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FALL GET AWAY JIM THORPE PA”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of DeFeo's Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeFeo's Manor B&B
Ranked #4 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FALL GET AWAY JIM THORPE PA”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Okay, I read all the reviews previously and I am not sure what other people saw, The house is very old, although it is in a great location on the main street in Jim Thorpe. We travelled with another couple, and booked the second floor rooms. The rooms were across from each other which is great for 2 couples travelling together. The elder couple who own the B&B are cute, and pleasant and great you with a little story each time you pass them in their living room. There are small refrigerators in each room, with juice, milk, coffee creamers, bottles of water and cheese, and a cabinet with various cereals, cereal bars, teas, coffee and coffee maker. You do make your own coffee and tea and a cart appears outside your room at 8:45am with baked goods and a small dish of fresh fruit. The California King bed in the blue room could use a new mattress, but after a day of wine tastings at various wineries around the area, and walking around the town, sleeping was not an issue. If you stay there, get to meet Kathy the housekeeper. She has a lot of knowledge of the history of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjersey1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the manor! The DeFeo's alone made the trip worth it, Richard is a wealth of knowledge, his stories are the best! They delivered baked goodies for breakfast with fresh fruit to our door every morning which was a really nice touch, it fueled us up for our LOOONG day of white water rafting & paintball nearby. The room was very comfortable, we stayed in the Suite. The shower was a bit quirky, but that's to be expected with an old home. The location was the best, we were literally in the heart of the town of Jim Thorpe with restaurants & shops right there, it was great to just walk up and down town & be in your room in minutes. We loved the location, we did white water rafting on Saturday & Skirmish, and we were only 15 minutes away, it seemed like this location was just minutes from everything, so it was very convenient.

We look forward to returning & wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else, the DeFeo's are a wonderful, charming couple who made you feel immediately at home! I'm glad we found this place and we'd recommend it to any couple or family looking to get away & have some down time. It was very comfortable & relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Between the building, town, rooms, and hosts themselves, it's hard to say what we found most charming about our stay here!

From the moment of arrival we were greeted warmly by the DeFeo's, shown our beautiful accommodations, and treated to some history about the establishment and surrounding town. Jim Thorpe itself is a quaint community filled with cute collectible & antique shops, a few museums and galleries, the mansions of millionaire's row, and a railway station towards the main square of town- exactly the peaceful atmosphere we were looking for. We were fortunate enough to book the suite, which pretty quickly revealed itself to be the best room in the best place in town, evident by the envious looks of those who passed by gazing up at our private corner breakfast nook as we marveled from within at its lovely view. The housekeeper was kind enough to show us other rooms (after guests checked out of course) and every room offered has its own unique decorative appeal and quiet comfortable feel. Breakfast was delicious and promptly delivered at your door 8:45am, perfect for a cozy private morning meal before heading out to either walk the streets, or go on almost endless adventurous and/or scenic local excursions. To put it simply, Jim Thorpe and DeFeo's Manor were everything we were hoping to find for our getaway, and much more.
It was a pleasure to stay here and saddened us to bid it farewell, but we have every hope of returning soon to do it again. Five stars, only because there isn't a sixth available! Thank you to the DeFeo's for making our stay so comfortable & memorable!

Room Tip: The suite was phenomenal and quite affordable even though the "most expensive" option. (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The DeFeo's are a charming couple who did everything possible to make our stay in their Blue Room special. We had breads/treats in our room upon arrival and breakfast delivered. The balcony (shared) overlooked Opera House Square and the people watching was great! The Blue Room is in the front of the house, so it's a bit noisier than others, perhaps, but JT isn't typically very noisy late at night so we slept pretty well.

The Manor itself is pristine and the original workmanship still shows through. Stained glass and carved wood staircases give the house a Victorian charm. DeFeo is at the hub of Millionaire's row and central to everything; great shopping, restaurants and attractions.

Thanks to the DeFeo's for starting us off right on our second honeymoon!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any room in the manor. We've only stayed in the Blue Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The DeFeos have a quirky and clean home. The bed in the Art Deco room was super comfortable and the friendliness of my hosts made me feel taken care of.

It is in walking distance of every shop and there is parking right outside. They do a quaint breakfast so if you're looking to fuel up before your big ride/run/raft you might want to grab a granola bar on the way out also :)

I enjoyed being here so much that Ill stay here every visit I make to Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACKERSnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We couldn't be more pleased with our stay at the B&B. Richard and Ellen were very hospitable and made it feel like home. The Deco room was gorgeous and the bed was so comfortable! Breakfast was delicious! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emarks515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wonderful inn with a very friendly welcome by the two kind-hearted inn-keepers. I would highly recommend staying here. We stayed in the suite which has a lovely view. The house is unique with many antiques. We were served a tasty breakfast in the suite. The inn also has parking, a premium in Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
617 reviews
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
0.1 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeFeo's Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeFeo's Manor B&B

Property: DeFeo's Manor B&B
Address: 5 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1931
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeFeo's Manor - is in the heart of historic Jim Thorpe, within convenient walking distance of all shops, galleries, museums & restaurants. We're across the street from the Opera House. We offer an adult getaway B & B, for couples and singles, with a guest Suite and the Blue room, in our Queen Anne Victorian home, built circa 1880. Both rooms have cable TV & VCR, free wireless internet access, a refrigerator stocked with juice, water, jams and butters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Defeo`s Manor Hotel Jim Thorpe
Defeo`s Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing