We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Memorial Day Getaway!”
Review of DeFeo's Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeFeo's Manor B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Memorial Day Getaway!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Staying with the DeFeos was the perfect way to experience Jim Thorpe! My girlfriend and I spent two wonderful nights in DeFeo Manor over the beginning of Memorial Day weekend. Every morning we woke up to a great assortment of breakfast items such as fruit and scones which left us feeling energized before our days of exploring. My girlfriend and I went on a running tour of Jim Thorpe starting from the Manor which proved to be the perfect vantage point for doing so! Richard and Ellen were so wonderful with their advice about where to visit around and their inspiring anecdotes about their experiences and travels. Looking forward to going back next year!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nutellalips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights over Memorial Day wknd 2013. The accommodations, value, & hospitality that Richard and Ellen provided were beyond excellent. This B&B is well-worth the stay if you typically enjoy staying in beautifully restored mansions in a quaint lil towns with personable, talented, welcoming hosts. The breakfast is delivered to your room's door and it's delicious. :-)
In a nutshell, the DeFao Manor not only checks all the boxes, but it offers that intangible, special touch that B&Bs should all strive for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanicane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Ellen and Richard are great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor B&B. Upon learning that my husband and I are aspiring innkeepers, Richard even invited us for a drink to talk about our plans and give us advice. We also talked about the history of Jim Thorpe, got a walking guide from Richard, and awesome restaurant recommendations from Ellen. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are currently planning a trip back with the in-laws. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bricknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Defeo mannor.The experience began when we were greeted on the porch by the owners.It was as if they were anxiously awaiting our arrival.we were then showed to our rooms and that is where we fell in love!our room had so much character and warmth to it.At every corner we were delighted to find a new surprise.various snacks were set out and our fridge was stocked with cheese and crackers!It was these small touches that will bring us back to the manor our next vacation to jim thorpe.If its a stale,generic,homogenized,boring cookie cutter room you are looking then the Defoe mannor is not for you but if you seek a comfy home like atmosphere which will enhance your visit to the town then the Defoe will not disappoint!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed last night at DeFeos based on the 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor we were expecting a beautiful, elegant home with a delicious continental breakfast. What we found was an old ,cluttered , tired Victorian desperately in need of cleaning and repair. The elderly owners were pleasant and welcoming. It seems like this big old home is too much for them to maintain. We stayed in the Deco Room on the 3 rd floor. We killed at least a dozen small moths flying around in the room. The room was semi stocked with cereals and instant oatmeal packets. "breakfast" is left on a cart outside your room which consisted of a small bowl of cantaloupe and a few grapes, croissants and some scones all seemed to be store brought. Very disappointing. Unfortunately, we would not recommend this B &B.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank randee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Okay, I read all the reviews previously and I am not sure what other people saw, The house is very old, although it is in a great location on the main street in Jim Thorpe. We travelled with another couple, and booked the second floor rooms. The rooms were across from each other which is great for 2 couples travelling together. The elder couple who own the B&B are cute, and pleasant and great you with a little story each time you pass them in their living room. There are small refrigerators in each room, with juice, milk, coffee creamers, bottles of water and cheese, and a cabinet with various cereals, cereal bars, teas, coffee and coffee maker. You do make your own coffee and tea and a cart appears outside your room at 8:45am with baked goods and a small dish of fresh fruit. The California King bed in the blue room could use a new mattress, but after a day of wine tastings at various wineries around the area, and walking around the town, sleeping was not an issue. If you stay there, get to meet Kathy the housekeeper. She has a lot of knowledge of the history of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newjersey1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the manor! The DeFeo's alone made the trip worth it, Richard is a wealth of knowledge, his stories are the best! They delivered baked goodies for breakfast with fresh fruit to our door every morning which was a really nice touch, it fueled us up for our LOOONG day of white water rafting & paintball nearby. The room was very comfortable, we stayed in the Suite. The shower was a bit quirky, but that's to be expected with an old home. The location was the best, we were literally in the heart of the town of Jim Thorpe with restaurants & shops right there, it was great to just walk up and down town & be in your room in minutes. We loved the location, we did white water rafting on Saturday & Skirmish, and we were only 15 minutes away, it seemed like this location was just minutes from everything, so it was very convenient.

We look forward to returning & wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else, the DeFeo's are a wonderful, charming couple who made you feel immediately at home! I'm glad we found this place and we'd recommend it to any couple or family looking to get away & have some down time. It was very comfortable & relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeFeo's Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeFeo's Manor B&B

Property: DeFeo's Manor B&B
Address: 5 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1931
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeFeo's Manor - is in the heart of historic Jim Thorpe, within convenient walking distance of all shops, galleries, museums & restaurants. We're across the street from the Opera House. We offer an adult getaway B & B, for couples and singles, with a guest Suite and the Blue room, in our Queen Anne Victorian home, built circa 1880. Both rooms have cable TV & VCR, free wireless internet access, a refrigerator stocked with juice, water, jams and butters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Defeo`s Manor Bed And Breakfast
Defeo`s Manor Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing