We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Gilded Cupid B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilded Cupid B&B
Ranked #5 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The proprietors were as helpful and nice as can be. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and just as advertised. The place, as many in the area, is older and much different than many of our other B&B stays, but the Gilded Cupid, like the town, has some charm and seems to grow on you. The Moya was a recommended restaurant by the owner and proved well worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Wanted to get away for the night after our wedding and stumbled upon the Guilded Cupid. Without even knowing we had just gotten married, our room was naturally romantic, comfortable, and just gorgeous. We had a fantastic night and an even more fantastic morning! Enjoyed Sheila's (award winning) breakfast along with both her and Bob's conversation. What wonderful people. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckycharms518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Good: our hosts were very genial and enthusiastic, breakfast was high quality and on the gourmet side, there was off-street parking, the location couldn't really be better, there was good air conditioning in the room, and the room itself was nicely decorated.

The Not-So-Good: our room lacked a bathroom door (!), the tub was big and somewhat hard to get into and out of, way too much light poured into the room in the morning, egg dishes were served both days we were there (without breakfast meat or toast), there were no late-night niceties like cookies or tea, and no TV anywhere in the building.

I've been to about a dozen B&Bs and I understand that they're all different; that's just how it is. While my heart would like to join the chorus of 4 and 5-star reviews here, I just can't do it, and feel that Gilded Cupid ranks somewhere in the middle.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mrpaladin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Hubby and I decided to come to Jim Thorpe for our weekend away, to celebrate bookends of events: his birthday on one end, and our anniversary on the other. We really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Close enough to the busy-ness of the downtown historic area, and just up the street enough that it was quiet during the night. Phil's room was so comfortable, and we loved the antiques throughout the house. And the hosts...Sheila and Bob made us feel so at ease the whole time we were there, stopping to chat with us along the way, offering tips to us for best hikes (with my freshly-sprained ankle to boot!) and places to eat - we really felt like we were staying with true family as opposed to just another B&B. And the second "B" part of the B&B - I will say, there's only so much that I could pack away before my stomach yells "enough!" The breakfasts were just so wonderful, and hubby and I couldn't have asked for better starts to our day.

Bob also maintains a beautifully edible garden in the back, and you get little treats from the garden with your meal - from the mint in the fruit salads, to chive blossoms with the eggs, and edible flowers as well - you get the constant reminder with your breakfast that everything good comes from the earth. We are looking forward to the next time we get to come up to the Pokies for another weekend away, and if we don't stay at Bob and Sheila's we'll definitely be stopping in to say hello!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We had a wonderful anniversary at the Gilded Cupid. Their B&B is beautiful and decorated with antiques. Sheila gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to do, and recommended some wonderful restaurants. Bob shared lots of interesting information on the town and the home. Breakfast the next morning was out of a 5 star restaurant! Delicious!! This B&B is a great place to stay when visiting Jim Thorpe, PA.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patemayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Don't bother looking for a better value, a more romantic ambiance, or more gracious hosts than Sheila and Bob. The day before our trip, I had to call and reschedule due to a cold. Sheila was so understood and moved our reservations to the following weekend without any problems. It was an experience worth waiting for. Walking into their home was like a trip back in time. Beautiful antiques and architecture greeted us, along with a beautiful room, decorated in rich gold and burgundy with cherubs all around. Beautiful stained glass surrounded us in our room, and the claw foot tub was classic! But more than anything, it was our hosts that will have us returning. Sheila and Bob are such gracious people. They take pride in their product. It's what they were born to do. And the food was unbelievable. The pear chutney yogurt parfait, apricot-almond breakfast cake, mushroom and cheese omelet with a side of Sheila's own potatoes were so good and so filling that we had no need for lunch! We couldn't have asked for a better time, a better value, or better hosts. Don't miss it! We will be back in the spring to enjoy the gardens!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband booked the Gilded Cupid for a surprise weekend getaway the first weekend in October in honor of our 10-year anniversary as a couple, and I must say that he could not have made a better selection! From the moment we arrived, Sheila and Bob welcomed us like family and tended to our every need. Their home is stunning, with gorgeous antiques, unique wall treatments, and Victorian touches throughout. I was blown away by our room, Phil’s Room, which featured beautiful stained glass windows and Victorian splendor throughout, from the furnishings to the light fixtures and bathroom fittings. It’s impossible not to be charmed by the claw foot tub, marble sink, and old-fashioned toilet, which function just as well as their modern counterparts, with never a worry that the hot water will run out. I also particularly enjoyed the wonderful-smelling hand soap from Soapothecary, a handmade soap and bath product shop in town. Phil’s Room has a king-sized bed and fireplace and is also located in the back of the house, away from the other rooms, making it especially private. The common areas of the home are also a delight, with a quaint reading room on the second floor, leading out to the second deck of the porch, which is the perfect place to sip a cocktail in the evening if not in the backyard oasis, which Bob has transformed into a full-scale, multi-tiered outdoor living space, with lots of cozy seating amid the creative plantings and outdoor ornaments, which even include an electric train running through the herb garden. When you sit down to breakfast each morning, you’ll experience the garden’s bounty firsthand, as Sheila always incorporates garden-fresh herbs, vegetables, and fruits into the morning meal when available. Her presentation of the food is beautiful, and it tastes just as good as it looks. Every breakfast begins with fruit and a freshly baked coffee cake of sorts (different every day) followed by a hot entrée. Sheila is very creative in the kitchen, with delicious and very filling results. I guarantee that you will be able to get in quite a bit of sightseeing before you require another meal! Breakfast is also a nice time to draw on the wealth of information Sheila and Bob have to offer, whether you need to know the hours of the local attractions, such as the Old Jail Museum and the Asa Packer Mansion; need recommendations on a hike to suit your ability level and time allotment; or are looking for a good place to eat in town. It’s clear that these innkeepers take a tremendous amount of interest in their guests and seek to always ensure their happiness. For instance, when some fellow guests were disappointed to find that their ride on the Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway was shortened (due to a mudslide) but not reduced in price, Sheila was quite upset and vowed to call up the Railway. She and Bob take any recommendations they pass along to guests quite seriously. Jim Thorpe is a very quaint, walkable town, and the Gilded Cupid is an ideal home base for all of your explorations. This was our first visit to the town, and we fell in love with all of its many offerings. We definitely plan to return to Jim Thorpe and to the Gilded Cupid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlish_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
0.0 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Cupid B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Cupid B&B

Property: Gilded Cupid B&B
Address: 40 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1928
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erase your calender, enjoy the Victorian era at its finest. Walking distance to all interesting sites, shops and eateries. Second floor porch and gardens with seating to just drift away. Victorian clawfoot soaking tubs complete with lush robes. Gourmet breakfast with original flair. Served on fine china and crystal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing