We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Get-Away!”
Review of Gilded Cupid B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilded Cupid B&B
Ranked #6 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We had a wonderful anniversary at the Gilded Cupid. Their B&B is beautiful and decorated with antiques. Sheila gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to do, and recommended some wonderful restaurants. Bob shared lots of interesting information on the town and the home. Breakfast the next morning was out of a 5 star restaurant! Delicious!! This B&B is a great place to stay when visiting Jim Thorpe, PA.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patemayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Don't bother looking for a better value, a more romantic ambiance, or more gracious hosts than Sheila and Bob. The day before our trip, I had to call and reschedule due to a cold. Sheila was so understood and moved our reservations to the following weekend without any problems. It was an experience worth waiting for. Walking into their home was like a trip back in time. Beautiful antiques and architecture greeted us, along with a beautiful room, decorated in rich gold and burgundy with cherubs all around. Beautiful stained glass surrounded us in our room, and the claw foot tub was classic! But more than anything, it was our hosts that will have us returning. Sheila and Bob are such gracious people. They take pride in their product. It's what they were born to do. And the food was unbelievable. The pear chutney yogurt parfait, apricot-almond breakfast cake, mushroom and cheese omelet with a side of Sheila's own potatoes were so good and so filling that we had no need for lunch! We couldn't have asked for a better time, a better value, or better hosts. Don't miss it! We will be back in the spring to enjoy the gardens!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband booked the Gilded Cupid for a surprise weekend getaway the first weekend in October in honor of our 10-year anniversary as a couple, and I must say that he could not have made a better selection! From the moment we arrived, Sheila and Bob welcomed us like family and tended to our every need. Their home is stunning, with gorgeous antiques, unique wall treatments, and Victorian touches throughout. I was blown away by our room, Phil’s Room, which featured beautiful stained glass windows and Victorian splendor throughout, from the furnishings to the light fixtures and bathroom fittings. It’s impossible not to be charmed by the claw foot tub, marble sink, and old-fashioned toilet, which function just as well as their modern counterparts, with never a worry that the hot water will run out. I also particularly enjoyed the wonderful-smelling hand soap from Soapothecary, a handmade soap and bath product shop in town. Phil’s Room has a king-sized bed and fireplace and is also located in the back of the house, away from the other rooms, making it especially private. The common areas of the home are also a delight, with a quaint reading room on the second floor, leading out to the second deck of the porch, which is the perfect place to sip a cocktail in the evening if not in the backyard oasis, which Bob has transformed into a full-scale, multi-tiered outdoor living space, with lots of cozy seating amid the creative plantings and outdoor ornaments, which even include an electric train running through the herb garden. When you sit down to breakfast each morning, you’ll experience the garden’s bounty firsthand, as Sheila always incorporates garden-fresh herbs, vegetables, and fruits into the morning meal when available. Her presentation of the food is beautiful, and it tastes just as good as it looks. Every breakfast begins with fruit and a freshly baked coffee cake of sorts (different every day) followed by a hot entrée. Sheila is very creative in the kitchen, with delicious and very filling results. I guarantee that you will be able to get in quite a bit of sightseeing before you require another meal! Breakfast is also a nice time to draw on the wealth of information Sheila and Bob have to offer, whether you need to know the hours of the local attractions, such as the Old Jail Museum and the Asa Packer Mansion; need recommendations on a hike to suit your ability level and time allotment; or are looking for a good place to eat in town. It’s clear that these innkeepers take a tremendous amount of interest in their guests and seek to always ensure their happiness. For instance, when some fellow guests were disappointed to find that their ride on the Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway was shortened (due to a mudslide) but not reduced in price, Sheila was quite upset and vowed to call up the Railway. She and Bob take any recommendations they pass along to guests quite seriously. Jim Thorpe is a very quaint, walkable town, and the Gilded Cupid is an ideal home base for all of your explorations. This was our first visit to the town, and we fell in love with all of its many offerings. We definitely plan to return to Jim Thorpe and to the Gilded Cupid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owlish_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Our hosts Bob and Sheila of the Gilded Cupid went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The place is charming and the backyard gardens enchanting. Location in town could not be better and we felt the price a very good value, especially when compared to what some of the regular hotels on the outskirts are charging! Breakfast was delicious! Thank you Bob and Sheila for all your hard work during our special weekend!


On a side note; To the couple in the adjoining room...your 5 am "performance" was really something...woke us out of a sound sleep. A little tip, in the future, when booking at a B&B you may want to ask for a secluded room! ; _)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Gilded Cupid is situated right no Broad Street. While we missed the house the very first time we drove up, Sheila was waiting for us on the porch with a warm welcome and lots of tips about the town.
The house itself has a true Victorian feel to it, decorated with amazing antiques and innovative renovations. ( the tiny pantry under the stairs is so cute and the door is a true antique)
A previous review mentioned that there is no phone or tv in the room. We found that incredibly refreshing and were grateful for it. The breakfast is just phenomenal and it was the best time we had during our whole stay in Jim Thorpe. We got to meet the other guests and share stories, while Bob and Sheila served us the most involved fancy breakfast we've ever had. They were wonderful hosts and we would stay there anytime.
Overall our vacation was incredible and we recommend this place with no reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Gilded Cupid. Sheila's warm welcome started our weekend and it only got better from there! She gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to do, and recommended some wonderful restaurants. Bob shared lots of tips on hiking the falls and we really enjoyed learning about the history of Jim Thorpe. The town is lots of fun - we saw a great show at the Opera Houseand enjoyed some wonderful meals. We couldn't have asked for a better anniversary weekend.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Coming back to work after a week-end at this place was really hard. The set was perfect for a romantic getaway close to Mother Nature. Sheila and Bob are amazing hosts, sharing with you their love for the history and the activities of the area, and possibly one of the best breakfast experience you have ever had. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in need of a real escape.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank matthieu_nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
670 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill Home Forge
Hill Home Forge
#4 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Cupid B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Cupid B&B

Address: 40 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1928
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: £119 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erase your calender, enjoy the Victorian era at its finest. Walking distance to all interesting sites, shops and eateries. Second floor porch and gardens with seating to just drift away. Victorian clawfoot soaking tubs complete with lush robes. Gourmet breakfast with original flair. Served on fine china and crystal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing