We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well at least we have funny story to tell...BUT THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim Thorpe Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jim Thorpe Camping Resort
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well at least we have funny story to tell...BUT THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

This is the worst camping experience I have ever had- for reference, I have been to over 50 or 60 campgrounds in my life all over the US and in Iceland. The tent site we were given was very cramped, which would have been ok with us had the owner not had a psychotic episode at 3am and 8am. He drove past our site at night screaming at us, claiming we were making too much noise and that we had to leave the next day. Meanwhile, there was a screaming baby on the site next to ours, which did not seem to bother him. He demanded that we all go to bed, which we promptly did (this guy is pretty scary, especially at 3am in the dark). At 8am Psycho Owner returned with another employee who looked and acted like Officer Dewey from the Scream movies. They startled us awake by screaming my friend's name, who booked the reservation. Our group rented a cabin and another tent site as well, which was also abruptly woken up and asked to leave. Officer Dewey and Psycho Owner said "we were disturbing the peace and breached the contract" and had 15 minutes to leave or else they would call the cops. We tried to reason with him, explaining that we went to bed when we were told we were being disruptive and that we did not know we were bothering anyone until he told us and that there was a baby screaming well past 5am. This was a futile effort. So, is anyone able to pack up a campsite in 15 minutes at 8am...no. They kept rushing us and finally after about 30 minutes we were all packed up and over at the cabin meeting the rest of our party. Officer Dewey was driving up and down on the road in a tractor, which we figured was some form of red-neck intimidation. In the midst of this psychotic episode by the cabin, one of my friends got the Psycho Owner to admit that when he drove past at 3am, he did not hear us making noise. Our neighbors saw us packing (or more like throwing our stuff into the car) were surprised that we were leaving and said they did not hear us at all and they were up well past 4am. We drove away and found a beautiful state park to camp in. Although this was inconvenient, I would not have wanted to stay at Psycho Owner's campground anyway.

This campsite should have a negative Rating but I don’t have that as a Rating option. This is and AWFUL place run by a CRAZY MAN with INCOMPETENT staff and NEVER in my life have I been kicked out of a campground for NO REASON!

The only bright side is that it makes a funny story. I’m really mad at myself for not checking the reviews before camping here- you should really believe what you read on these sites.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vmd0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    12
    5
    16
See reviews for
31
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sounderton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

My family (husband, son -7 yrs old) and I had a great time at the campground over July 4th week! The bathrooms and laundry rooms were very clean and the owners were very nice. There were tons of fun activities for the kids but the best was the Ms. Jim Thorpe Campground contest!!!!

I found the campground to have many perks such as trails at the base of the campground which were wonderful for runs up to the lake and/or bike rides. My husband and son had a awesome time fishing on the creek which is also at the base of the campground. The pool was perfect.. clear, warm water to cool us off. We plan on going back for Labor Day weekend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at this campground for 3 nights .. one extra because of car trouble. The owner let us use his truck and helped usget mechanial assistance. They were friendly and helpful. The pool was awesome and the bathrroms were very clean. not sure why all the negative comments on the internet .. don't believe what you read.. its a great get away and relaxing!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmom3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I read all of the reviews for Jim Thorpe Camping resort and was apprehensive to stay here but our trip ended up being just fine. First of all, it's in a great location if you mountain bike. You can get right on the trails from the bottom of the campground. The bathrooms are clean and cleaned often. The pool was ok. The sites are small and not very maintained. It wasn't crowded but if it was, it would have been a pretty tight spot. The picnic table at our site was about to fall apart. If you want to camp close to Jim Thorpe, this is probably the only place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank murr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed for two nights at this campsite and it is on our list of Not For Future Stays. We didn't have any major problems but it was not what the website advertises so it was a bit of a dissappointment. The area the campsite is situated in is beautiful, lots of shade, hills and overall very pretty - unitl you try to find your site and realise just how crowded this campground really is! Sites and roads between sites are NOT well marked at all. Roads could use some help, but not a major issue. They don't enforce the number of vehicles per site so in many cases the cars take up a lot of space that one would ordinarily use to set up camp in - Don't be fooled into thinking that just becuase they allow 6 adults to a site that these sites are large and spaced out - not the case at all......these sites are small and extremely close together no matter if you are in a tent / popup or camper. The shaded/wooded sites have no grass, they are only sand and stone, so you need an airmattress to get a good nights sleep. Sites would be tolerable only for 1 tent; 2 adults; 1 car. Pool was nice, store was a little expensive and the management/office personnel seemed pleasant enough. Bathrooms were pretty clean too. We were not disgusted with JT Camp Resort, but we probably would not return here.

Helpful?
4 Thank zalovestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

It took my group a total of 30 minutes to get kicked out of the place. And what did we do? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. He accused us of 'cursing' and being loud - when the contract specifically stated that quiet time is after 11pm. It was 10:30. At first, the Father of the family owned place walks up in a belligerent manner asking us the rhetorical question "If we talk this way at home." Being as we are older than he thought and either own or rent our own homes, we answered "Yes." He didn't even identify himself as the owner of the campsite... He probably thought we were a bunch of 18 year old kids or something which we are much older... Right after that he said - well go ahead and go home and you can talk that way all you want, pack your stuff or I will have you arrested. We were completely dumbfounded... So we said we will keep it down and we are sorry. After he walked away, we made a comment about how ignorant and rude that was, then the SON of the owner (Middle aged guy that looks and sounds like Ned Flanders) came up and told us he didn't appreciate us making fun of his father that way and again threatened to have us arrested. So he calls the cops (which we are glad, so we have a witness to get our money back, or take him to court proving that nothing was damaged and we didn't break the contract either) and the cops were super nice, because they apparently know these people have nothing better to do and kick people out for no reason all the time... We made the cops come look at the place so we have a witness that everything was fine when we left. Then he tried to keep all of our money, and when we threatened to take him to court he said we would only be charged for the evening. He apparently knows that this amount isn't worth coming back to that Podunk town for a trial but gets us out of almost 100 bux nonetheless. You can't even cook on an open fire there - what kind of camping is that? Everyone in Jim Thorpe seemed to be ignorant and unwelcoming probably because they are tired of the tourism... Well I got news for those rednecks - we bring the money to your town and keep its economy going - if you don't like it then move somewhere even more insignificant. We found another campground called that used to be called Goss Hawks - but it's under new ownership right off of Germans road. This place was amazing, the owner was super nice - and the clubhouse, pool, deck were all beautiful. No issues there - and you are even aloud to cook a damn marshmallow over the fire! Wow - what a concept! Stay away from Jim Thorpe unless you want to get robbed and ripped off by a family of tool bags. On top of all that, the cabins smelled horrible, and the beds even had some sort of grimy unidentifiable film on them - it was disgusting. Funny thing is, we even found people at the camp site we ended up at that got kicked out for nothing as well! And another group didn't even bother trying Jim Thorpe becasue they read the reviews!

Stay away from this camp site - it is a dump, over crowded, and you get thrown out for throwing marshmallows over the fire. I even heard the managers father tried to get in someones face and fight them. Totally ridiculous.

Stay away from this rip off place - it's a sham.

See you in court buddy.

Helpful?
8 Thank DJA984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
2.4 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
2.5 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Thorpe Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Thorpe Camping Resort

Property: Jim Thorpe Camping Resort
Address: Lentz Trail, Jim Thorpe, PA
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jim Thorpe
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Jim Thorpe Camping Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing