We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Weekend”
Review of The Times House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Times House
Ranked #2 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Weekend”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had an amazing time in Jim Thorpe wandering the streets, the lovely shops and restaurants. By far the highlight was our stay at Times House. Diane and Chris are thoughtful innkeepers and our room was romantic and extremely comfortable. And P.S. Diane is an amazing baker!! Thank You for a lovely weekend get-away!! (and thanks for the extra chocolate cherry muffins). Mark and Anita

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
217
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Upon our arrival, Diane and Chris, the innkeepers, greeted us warmly and helped us with our luggage and bikes. Chris then took our car and parked it for us in their lot down some steps ( it was a tight fit due to the town being sold out for the fall festival). We stayed in the Elegance room which was huge with a dining table, living room area with TV, couch, and easy chair. The queen bed at the far end of the room in an alcove was very comfortable. There were snacks in the room, and bottled water, juices, yogurt, fruit in the fridge. We were given a bottle of wine celebrating our anniversary and Diane baked a cake for my wife's birthday. The room was perfectly equipped and Diane baked muffins and other sweets for breakfast ( and she is an excellent baker). The room was very clean as well. The inn is in a perfect location within walking distance to everything. As a frequent reviewer on Tripadvisor I try to give accurate reports both good and bad so be assured that this review is accurate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We loved our stay at Times House. The room was adorable. We kept going on and on about the pretty bathroom, which had been recently remodeled. In fact, the entire inn is being rehabbed. That may turn some people off, but we found it interesting. The room was a good size with nice antique furniture, large windows, a comfortable bed, a small fridge, and an electric fireplace. The owners of the Times House were kind and welcoming. They brought us wonderful baked goods (and egg-free for one of us who doesn't eat eggs!). The location is perfect--it's one street above the main street. We had a wonderful time and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We just recently returned from a great little weekend trip to Jim Thorpe and had a very nice stay at the Times House. We stayed in the new Serenity room on the third floor-it was beautiful! You can tell a lot of care was taken with choosing the decor from the antique furniture to the pretty carpet and the soothing color choices of pale blue and green. The bathroom was very spacious and complete with Jacuzzi tub. The room is at the back of the house so it was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast each morning was fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, and the best of all, delicious home baked cakes, scones, muffins, etc. The crumb cake was amazing! Breakfast is delivered to your room the day before so you can eat anytime the next morning. There was also a cookie jar with some little treats in it like granola bars and crackers. The bed and breakfast is located on pretty Race Street so you're away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway, which I liked. Race Street has a bit to offer as far as some cute little shops and a restaurant or two. It is barely a block from the Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway and almost right next to the church of St. Mark and St. John. We had such a nice and relaxing stay at the Times House that we didn't want to leave, I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was my 1st trip to Jim Thorpe. After looking at reviews and pictures, I chose The Times House. I'm so glad I did! They have 2 rooms listed on their website, but have recently opened a 3rd room upstairs. This is the room we stayed in. I have to say, this was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in!! There is a small table and chairs for you to enjoy the fresh made baked goods provided. during a 2 day stay we were treated to peach pecan muffins, chocolate covered strawberries, crumb cake and the best cranberry scones. There is also a coffee maker and a fridge stocked with water, orange juice, and yogurt. We also recieved a bottle of wine from a local vineyard. Our bathroom was very nice also-soft fluffy towels and robes were provided. I loved that the sink stand was an old singer sewing stand. The owner (very nice) met us upon arrival and showed us to our room. She also made sure we could contact her if we had any questions or needed anything. We enjoyed ourselves so much during our time here that we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalr483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just came back from a trip to Jim Thorpe, and absolutely loved the Times House. The room was large and cozy, and Diane and Chris spoiled us with wonderful treats every day. There was a bottle of wine, and roses to help us celebrate our anniversary. On evening of our anniversary we came home to strawberries dipped in chocolate. When we travel we love to have a small breakfast, a snack for lunch and then enjoy dinner out. At the Times House we always had snacks we could take with us as we explored the area during the day. Diane even lent us some books so we could learn about the area a bit more. We could walk to many attractions, restaurants, and shops too. This was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northeastbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary with a weekend stay in Jim Thorpe at the Times House bed and breakfast. It was a great decision as we thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is perfect as it is walking distance to everything in Jim Thorpe but not on a busy street with lots of traffic. The room is spacious (we stayed in the Times II suite) with a large bedroom, kitchen/dining area, and bathroom with clawfoot tub. Chris and Diane were very friendly on arrival and even provided us with some nice extras (wine and flowers) for our anniversary. They were quite thoughtful and helped with any possible questions. Diane even found my wife's watch that she had accidentally left behind. Breakfast is delivered to your room the day prior and there is plenty to choose from including baked goods, yogurts, fruit, juices, etc. We hope to come back again sometime in the future to enjoy the fun town of Jim Thorpe and the great service at the Times House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpert9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
647 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
60 reviews
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#3 of 6 in White Haven
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times House

Property: The Times House
Address: 25 Race St, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2003
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jim Thorpe, you'll enjoy the romantic elegance of the circa 1870 Times House Bed & Breakfast, just steps away from shops, restaurants, wine tasting and more. Delicious en suite Continental breakfast, Whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, Tesla Destination Charging Station, free electric car charging, bike storage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing