We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extravagant”
Review of The Times House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Times House
Ranked #2 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
“Extravagant”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is by far one of the most elegant places I have stayed. The Times B&B is so warm, cozy and beautiful. No need to wonder where romance is when you are staying here. The owners are so personable, and make you feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was filled with antique furniture and fireplace, which make the atmosphere that much more extraordinary! This was my first time in Jim Thorpe, and when I return, this is the only place I would ever stay! Oh and not to mention the wonderful homemade muffins and sconces that we had for breakfast. Diane makes them herself from scratch, and they are far better than any you could ever buy from a bakery. If you want a nice, romantic, relaxing place to stay, you found it, no need to look any further.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freespirited80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
205
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Times a few months back. We're staying there again tomorrow night. Same room, "The Overlook," which is an appropriate name, for it does indeed overlook Race Street and onto the Main Street. The owners are just lovely people and the old building, which has so much history, is being lovingly restored, room by room. The room is spacious, the food goodies are delightful (its nice to stay in your own room for breakfast, which is placed for you upon your arrival), and the bathroom, which is down the hall for this particular room, is warm, cozy, and large--very private. We had no problem walking down to the bathroom in the lush, cozy bathrobes. We are so excited to stay there for a quick getaway tomorrow night!

Room Tip: "The Overlook" is on the top floor, so it has a wonderful view, is very spacious, and feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriLynn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I went to The Times House to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. Not only did our innkeepers kindly help us out when our car broke down ten miles away, but they made our stay so welcoming and memorable--from the cozy décor to the delicious breakfast (I need to get the recipe for the scones!). We are looking forward to returning in the fall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to Jim Thorpe for a birthday weekend getaway. We were surprised to find a bottle of wine, flowers, and a birthday cake in our room when we arrived. The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We stayed in the Serenity Room and the whirlpool tub felt great at the end of the day. From check in to check out Diane and Chris were extremely friendly, attentive, and helpful in every way. We highly recommend the Times House without reservation and look forward to a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We are so glad we stayed at the Times House for our Christmas getaway to Jim Thorpe! Our innkeepers greeted us at arrival and were very kind and helpful. Our room was spacious and decorated beautifully. It overlooked Race street. We loved that we could hear the church bells from nearby churches and whistles blowing from the trains. Our room was well stocked with water, coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt and fruit. We were provided delicious scones and muffins for breakfast. We were thrilled to find an apple cake after returning from dinner and a show at the opera house Friday night. Saturday we found Christmas movies and a carrot pecan cake had been left outside our door... Perfect for a snowy day! We are a young couple who love to explore. The town of Jim Thorpe was a perfect setting for our Christmas getaway and the Times House was a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed it so much that we hope to return in the summer! - Taryn and Dan

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarynlynn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the Elegance Suite and it was just gorgeous-lovely decor! Lovely room and the homemade food was delicious - A private breakfast in your room make for romantic mornings. I liked that breakfast was at your leisure once it was all ready and right n our room for when we chose to eat :D Loved that everything is within walking distance from the B&B - Moya is pretty much right across the street! Jim Thorpe is a great little town. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Elegance Suite has it's very own private entry right off the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshCortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had an amazing time in Jim Thorpe wandering the streets, the lovely shops and restaurants. By far the highlight was our stay at Times House. Diane and Chris are thoughtful innkeepers and our room was romantic and extremely comfortable. And P.S. Diane is an amazing baker!! Thank You for a lovely weekend get-away!! (and thanks for the extra chocolate cherry muffins). Mark and Anita

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
0.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times House

Property: The Times House
Address: 25 Race St, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2003
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jim Thorpe, you'll enjoy the romantic elegance of the circa 1870 Times House Bed & Breakfast, just steps away from shops, restaurants, wine tasting and more. Delicious en suite Continental breakfast, Whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, Tesla Destination Charging Station, free electric car charging, bike storage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing