We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great, scenic, easy bicycle ride”
Review of Pocono Biking

Pocono Biking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join us on a beautiful ride that is popular with people of every fitness level. The designated Lehigh Gorge Rail-Trail is a gentle downhill, scenic, state park maintained path that follows the Lehigh River. Come for an hour or two, join us for a full day, 1/2 day, or an overnight stay in historic downtown Jim Thorpe. Access points allow for one way rides of up to 36 miles…whatever fits your schedule. Visit our website to find a shuttle schedule, bike rates, and specialty trip dates.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just a great, scenic, easy bicycle ride”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We did the 15 mile ride, had lovely weather, and would do it again soon, but maybe just the 10 mile trip. Those comfy bicycle seats get very hard for people not used to riding. We went as the leaves were changing, but the water in the Lehigh River was apparently too low for paddling, so only saw trains and beautiful scenery. The bikes were very well maintained, and they took care to fit us correctly and show us how to make adjustments. Interesting to see the rescue backboards tied to trees every half mile, apparently used in river rescues. It's a very neat town to walk around, as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    18
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic bike trip”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Situated across from the train station in Jim Thorpe this a great outfitter. You don't need a reservation for their bike trips unless you bring a large group. We called ahead because we were interested in the 36 mile ride but a staff member recommended mountain bikes for the for the Diamond Trail section. They told us our hybrid bikes would be adequate for the 25 mile Lehigh Gorge section from Whitehaven though. They were correct. They do rent mountain bikes at the Jim Thorpe and also near the Whitehaven trailhead. Pocono Biking will transport you and your bike by bus to the trailhead. The trail is a 2% downhill grade. It's an easy scenic ride with the river on one side and rhododendron on the the other.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank hoosiermomma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My boyfriend's family and I went to Jim Thorpe for a bike ride. We found Pocono Biking very helpful because they not only rent out the bikes, but they also provide a shuttle service to the point of your choice (there are 3). We were dropped off at Rockport and took the 15 mile trail. The trail was scenic, and easy. 2% downhill grade the whole way. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. There are lots of bike sizes to choose from, and the staff loads and unloads the bikes for you before and after the shuttle ride, then you just ride back to Jim Thorpe! I would definitely recommend this for a spring or fall day trip. Take heed that for an all day bike rental and shuttle ride plus insurance on the bike will set you back $40.95+tax per rider. Worth it though!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's all downhill”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Family had a great time on the 25 mile ride. I think all were a bit scared of the length at the start but it went quickly, and only hurt a bit. Would love to see the trail in the fall with the autumn colors. The staff was helpful in getting us all set-up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FourfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46761
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ride the Lehigh Gorge Trail!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Pocono Biking was an excellent transporter. We rented bikes--in excellent shape. (Or you can bring your own). Friendly employees. 45 minute shuttle ride (to White Haven). You will pedal all the way, and the surface is gravel, but it's not too difficult a ride. If you want to stop for photos, you might want to do the early shuttle. The most scenic spots were early (waterfalls) and late (railroad tressles, photo ops). With summer foliage, the river was barely visible during much of the ride, although there are several stops where you can hike down the hill to the river bank. Take water and lunch. We had a threat of rain, and did have a 10-minute stretch of hard drizzle; there is no place for shelter except the canopy. Next time we're coming during rhododendron season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pocono Biking also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
White Haven, Luzerne County
 

Been to Pocono Biking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing