We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Maybe stick to coffee? Or just eat at home.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Appetit Cafe

Bear Appetit Cafe
Ranked #31 of 37 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Maybe stick to coffee? Or just eat at home.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We looked at the menu at lunch time & the place seemed pretty busy, so we looked at their hours & thought let's try someplace new for dinner. Well, the bottom line is - they probably shouldn't even serve dinner. If they have happy people coming for lunch they should really stick to that.

There were 3 tables including us. There was a blaring TV. The service was terrible and slow. The decor - 2 deli counters, exposed ventilation ducts and strong smells of sawdust.

Then there's the food - filet mignon that had no taste whatsoever, steak fries again, no taste. We ended up finding a bottle of A-1 and jar of ketchup on another table across the room while waitress was missing, but my meal was simply condiments.

My husband had shrimp scampi. It was VERY garlicy, which we're fine with. But based on what happened later I'm going to guess that the shrimp weren't fresh because I really thought I was going to be taking him to the ER.

Suffice it to say - we won't be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    30
    32
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When we choose to eat in downtown JT, we choose Bear Appetit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a nice casual meal (soups, salads, sandwiches, etc) at a very decent price, this is the place to go. I had the grilled vegetable panini- it was very fresh and tasty. The owners/staff are very friendly and down to earth. I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
175 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beary good cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

convenient cafe with pleasing menu options. I had tuna melt and sweet potato fries, she had cheeseburger with onions and mushrooms. tasty and filling portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESWICK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had lunch here today. My husband and I both had the pulled pork sandwich with sweet potato fries. We were not disappointed . The food was hot and plentiful . The servicer was very attentive. I would certainly eat her again. With so many upscale places in town this was a welcome relief .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitcasesiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Whenever we come to Jim Thorpe we have our lunches at Bear Appetit. Food is consistently good as is the service. Kathy and Carly were attentive and fun. They will also accommodate special needs. Good Job!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear Appetit Cafe also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bear Appetit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing