We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat.”
Review of Bear Appetit Cafe

Bear Appetit Cafe
Ranked #30 of 37 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to eat.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The café is across the street from the Inn at Jim Thorpe. It is open every day, but closes at 8 pm before Memorial Day. The food is good and the prices are reasonable for dinner (unlike the Broadway Grille). My husband and I ate breakfast and dinner there several times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    30
    32
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Maybe stick to coffee? Or just eat at home.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We looked at the menu at lunch time & the place seemed pretty busy, so we looked at their hours & thought let's try someplace new for dinner. Well, the bottom line is - they probably shouldn't even serve dinner. If they have happy people coming for lunch they should really stick to that.

There were 3 tables including us. There was a blaring TV. The service was terrible and slow. The decor - 2 deli counters, exposed ventilation ducts and strong smells of sawdust.

Then there's the food - filet mignon that had no taste whatsoever, steak fries again, no taste. We ended up finding a bottle of A-1 and jar of ketchup on another table across the room while waitress was missing, but my meal was simply condiments.

My husband had shrimp scampi. It was VERY garlicy, which we're fine with. But based on what happened later I'm going to guess that the shrimp weren't fresh because I really thought I was going to be taking him to the ER.

Suffice it to say - we won't be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“When we choose to eat in downtown JT, we choose Bear Appetit”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a nice casual meal (soups, salads, sandwiches, etc) at a very decent price, this is the place to go. I had the grilled vegetable panini- it was very fresh and tasty. The owners/staff are very friendly and down to earth. I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beary good cafe”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

convenient cafe with pleasing menu options. I had tuna melt and sweet potato fries, she had cheeseburger with onions and mushrooms. tasty and filling portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESWICK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food good price.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had lunch here today. My husband and I both had the pulled pork sandwich with sweet potato fries. We were not disappointed . The food was hot and plentiful . The servicer was very attentive. I would certainly eat her again. With so many upscale places in town this was a welcome relief .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitcasesiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear Appetit Cafe also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bear Appetit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing