We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Trip into the Past"”
Review of Asa Packer Mansion

Asa Packer Mansion
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“" A Trip into the Past"”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed the tour of the mansion on a lovely spring day. We did not have to wait long to start the tour which was $8 for adults and $7 for seniors. We had a large group so it was a bit crowded but not uncomfortable. The weather was nice so it was comfortable in the mansion but may be very hot in the warm summer months. The hill is very steep so it may be difficult for some to walk to the top. The tour took about an hour was informative but make sure you put enough money in the meter because we did get a ticket. I would recommend going but don't feel that I want to go another time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    103
    14
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Golden Age lives on inside The Asa Packer mansion”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

With many original furnishings, light fixtures, carvings and wall treatments, this tour takes you back to opulence during the days of rail construction. At $8 it's a reasonable value; our group was larger so some areas got a bit crowded... and there are several sets of stairs during the tour. I imagine it's not pleasant during hot days.

Worth doing - but would not repeat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible House & Tour!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a MUST SEE in Jim Thorpe, PA. Great tour and beautiful house. Make sure to use the bathroom at the Bike Rental shop before heading up the hill for the tour- there is no bathroom at the house.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank F00die729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Professional tour”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a first rate tour presented on a professional and informative manner. The house was very interesting and restored wonderfully.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This mansion which dates from 1861 and is virtually intact with 95 percent of the original furnishings and seems like the Packers have just left. Well worth a visit for a nominal fee with a well informed guide. Our was a young guy named Paul. PLEASE NOTE THAT THE TOUR IS NOT HANDICAP FRIENDLY.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharG205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asa Packer Mansion also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Asa Packer Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing