We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time... Not a reproduction!”
Review of Asa Packer Mansion

Asa Packer Mansion
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time... Not a reproduction!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was on the last tour of the day and am so glad I arranged my schedule to fit in this tour of Victorian wealth! The fact that 90+% of the furnishings are original to Asa Packer and his family made the experience intriguing. Our tour guide informed us that daughter Mary Packer Cummings made it her mission to retain the estate and accumulated wealth. And as last surviving heir she had to marry to accomplish that goal. The only surviving child, Mary, was precluded from inheriting the family fortune by Victorian laws that forbade single woman from inheriting. To get around this, she married Charles Cummings, an engineer for her late father's railroad. It was a marriage of convenience. He signed a pre-nuptial agreement ceding him $100,000 worth of Lehigh Valley Railroad stock and a house in Florida in the event of a divorce. Within the year, (she) received both her inheritance and a divorce. These insights into the history of the Packer family made the description of furnishings, art, architecture, and life style even more entertaining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    97
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myerstown, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our guide was very well-read and friendly. The mansion itself is amazing. I would take a second tour just to see it again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jk2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing History, Tour and more for the whole family!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our tour of the Asa Packer Mansion was simply fascinating. We were there with the grandparents and 2 kids as young as 9 years old. Joyce, out tour guide was one of the best tour guides we've had anywhere. If you like history, art and architecture, this tour is for you!

Tips:
- There are many steps up to and inside the mansion, so this may not be suited for people with mobility issues.
- Read the brochure / information pamphlet first! This made the tour much more interesting!
- The ornate carvings, furniture, art, and stories / explanations given by our tour guide even kept a 13-year old and a 9-year old fascinated!
- The Harry Packer Mansion, located next door, has a bar which is open two days per week, and also is a "hotel" which hosts murder-mystery weekends!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JTLGriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is so nice and to see how these people lived. The house is mostly original. Just gorgeous! Gives you some history and the story of the family. Wish you could take photos.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mkz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was very impressed with this home. Our tour guide was very knowledgable on the estate and shared every tidbit of that knowledge with us. The interior details inside this home were superb as well as the feel of the original state of the mansion. Yes, the carpets were a but tattered, but it adds to the authenticity of the experience. The only criticism I had ws that the exterior grounds were a bit unkept, but I'm not sure it wasn't far off from the original landscape details. It would have been nice to include mire of the exterior gardens and outbuildings in the tour as well. Overall, a fantastic tour of a millionaires lifestyle at the turn of the century.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asa Packer Mansion also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Asa Packer Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing