We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Home Forge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Home Forge
Ranked #8 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

I want to share an excellent experience we had this weekend at Hill Home Forge B&B in Jim Thorpe, Pa Our host and hostess went above and beyond to give us the weekend we were looking for. The rooms and grounds were very well maintained. My friend is a kind of neat freak and she was not uncomfortable at any point in our stay.

The breakfast prepared by innkeeper Eileen was absolutly delicious and fresh and the menu would probably satisfy anyone. The beds were highly comfortable and the linens and towels were "like new". The rooms and the inn are decorated with art created by Eileen and Nic the Innkeepers. The art is interesting but not too intrusive or overwhelming. Nic does offer a tour of the complex and he shows you how he creates his fine works. Eileen has a very nice line of artistic jewelry but feel no pressure to buy if you choose not to.

I have been to at least 20 B&B's and this one ranks in my top 5. Well worth it and you will probably feel inclined to return. We will !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Loved the food, best breakfast I have had at a B & B. Located just far enough away to avoid crowds and noise, yet set in a peaceful wooded area. Nic and Eileen were very knowledgable and helpful in every way. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubsfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Jim Thorpe and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hill Home Forge.

The good:
1. We stayed in the Woodland Suite and loved it. Clean and a really good value for two New Yorkers used to paying exorbitant prices. It was great to have a separate living room with a fridge, microwave and place settings.

2. The house and grounds are beautiful and clean (in terms of decoration as well as actual cleanliness). We checked out a lot of other inns in the Poconos that either seemed musty or overly "frilly" -- this one was just right.

3. We appreciated that there was bug spray available to us on the porch!

4. The location -- we were able to take a short 2-mile run down the Switchback Trail to Mauch Chunk Lake where we rented a boat and sat on the beach. It's also very close to town (less than 2 miles), but far enough away to feel secluded and quiet. (I was extremely surprised to read the review below that referred to Flagstaff Road as a "busy road." It was not at all, in our experience.)

5. Proximity to local attractions -- in one weekend we toured the jail, went to a drive-in movie, ran on the trail, rented a boat, sat on the beach, and toured a coal mine, still with enough time to drink wine on Nic and Eileen's porch :)

6. Small size -- there are only three rooms, so it's nice and quiet and there are always pretty things to look at.

7. Breakfast was delicious! We had the apple French toast and the omelet. The home fries that come with the omelet are nothing short of amazing, and the fresh fruit was really tasty, as was the organic toast.

The not so great (the only reasons I'm subtracting a star):
1. We pre-selected our breakfast from a menu of three choices the night before, and my husband did not get what he ordered. He ended up eating it anyway because he felt awkward saying something, but as we were the only guests eating breakfast at the time, it seemed strange they couldn't get it right.

2. This is a matter of personal preference, but sometimes the friendliness and personal attention of innkeepers can be a drawback. We're reserved people and were looking forward to a quiet breakfast where we could read, but Nic and Eileen ended up making conversation with us both mornings. (We're not reserved enough to be rude and send them away!) It was obvious that Nic and Eileen both take great pride in Hill Home Forge (as they should!).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Our stay at Nic and Eileen's was amazing. Their hospitality was the best experience. Their B&B is extremely clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Stayed in the "Loft", and it was beautiful. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I highly recommend their B&B, and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was the last B&B in a series we stayed in during a week-long biking vacation. When we drove in the driveway, we knew this place was different. The drive is marked by a metal sculpture man holding the B&B sign, and it gets more interesting from there.

The house, which started as a trailer, has been expanded to at least seven times its original size. I don't think there is a conventional room in the building. There are artistic details, stained glass, metal sculpture and more in every room. We stayed in a suite with a large bedroom, living room with small kitchen and dining room table, and a bathroom. It was comfortable and private.

The owner was happy to show us his studio and the types of work he does, which is incredibly varied. We came to bike on the Lehigh river gorge, but the house is worth staying in just for itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

If frou-frou is not your preferred style of Bed & Breakfast, consider Hill Home Forge. Nic and Eileen, both artists, own and manage the place, which began about 30 years ago as just a run-down mobile home they bought for weekend getaways, I believe. Over the years they gradually expanded the place into a beautiful, modern-rustic "compound" that includes three rental rooms and a large common room for their guests, plenty of space for themselves, and several large workrooms and studios for their stained glass and jewelry students and to make their own impressive creations. Stained glass, decorative ironwork, and paintings are everywhere, and a sculpture garden is one of the first features that guests see as they drive in.

Nic and Eileen are very gracious hosts, and Eileen serves up a scrumptious and filling breakfast. My wife and I stayed two nights in the Woodland loft, which was spacious and spotless. The room has high ceilings, and a balcony with table and chairs that overlooks the sculpture garden.

Home Hill Forge is a few miles outside Jim Thorpe, PA, a picturesque town nestled in the Pocono mountains that features white water sports on the Lehigh River, good restaurants, and lots of art galleries. We attended a concert of Chopin music at The Mauch Chunk Opera House, but the venue more often hosts singer-songwriter types, and, for better or worse, a slew of "tribute" bands.

We loved Home Hill Forge, and we'll definitely be visiting again. My one, very minor, complaint is that ice isn't easily available for guests; you need to catch Nic or Eileen before they go to bed, and they'll get some from their own refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnschnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amish country pa.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

agree with previous reviews, this is an undiscovered treasure only 1.8 miles out of jim thorpe in peaceful serene wooded setting. rooms are stunning, suites have cathedral ceilings, immaculate in cleanliness and furnished with the beautiful artwork of the owners . we stayed during four inch snowfall and had no trouble travelling to and from jim thorpe. i loved the fact you preselect your breakfast the nite before, in most b&B'S you are forced to eat something you don't care for. we had the french toast with apples, real fresh pineapple, oj and teas...very good meal, eileen sat in room with us and had pleasant chat...she has maps to all the restaurants and has good tips, some b&b's dont tell u anything. Nic and Eileen are extremely gracious and gregarious, we got a tour of the house...unbelievable amount of beautiful art made by both of them, everywhere your eye turns there is something else spectacular, stained glass work, wood furniture, jewelry, iron sculptures , the list goes on forever, it is like touring an art museum literally. we actually took more photos of their home than of jim thorpe itself.
wireless internet worked great

highly recommend you consider this treasure instead of the overpriced jim thorpe b&b's, i guarantee you will not be sorry

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfied112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
1.4 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Home Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Home Forge

Property: Hill Home Forge
Address: 10 Flagstaff Dr, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1964
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill Home Forge 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Home Forge is an authentic craftsman style bed and breakfast situated on 3.5 acres surrounded by Pennsylvania forest. Our bed & breakfast is perfect for a relaxing retreat, romantic getaway or an active weekend fishing or boating on the lake, rafting on the river or hiking and biking on the mountain trails. Our private woodland hideaway soothes the weary traveler, and offers art and sports lovers active days of art classes, recreation, dining, and shopping. We are on the edge of town where we are sheltered from the noise and traffic, but we are only 1.5 miles from all the attractions and restaurants in historic Jim Thorpe ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing