We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder for a Friend's 40th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Murder for a Friend's 40th Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing house and an amazing staff! Went with a big party of 15 and took over the house. The family run business could not have been more accommodating and accepting of the group. Great food as well and a hilarious murder mystery weekend. The bartenders are top notch. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
116
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a great time, met the most interesting people - including our hosts. Quite honestly though, the mysteries we have done locally provide a greater opportunity for interaction. This mystery was very intriguing because it is primarily true. Made for a very interesting thought process. But,,,, More role playing, greater interaction, would have perhaps created more fun. Use the mansion, it is the best asset in the weekend (no offense Bob). I'm sure many of the rooms played a role in Mary's "quest" for inheritance.

Room Tip: We stayed in carriage house, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Harry Packer Mansion Inn is worth checking out. The atmosphere is quiet and historic. Breakfast was fantastic with great views of the mountainside from the balcony and bar. There is also a sitting area outside the carriage house we enjoyed. I would recommend staying at the Harry Packer Mansion rather than the hotel in town. We stayed the first weekend in October during the Fall Festival.

Jeff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you like history and intrigue this is a must see/do! Bob is a wealth of information on the old families of Jim Thorpe and weaves a wonderful story involving the Packer family into an interesting mystery.
The mansion is partly restored and beautiful. Guest rooms in the mansion are GORGEOUS! Rooms in the carriage house are pretty and practical. Rooms are immaculately clean.
Dinner was Awesome - perfectly cooked chateaubriand! Breakfasts were so-so at best, but it's buffet style and I've never had a good buffet breakfast yet.

Room Tip: To save some money you can get a practical room in the carriage house. But for 1860's elegance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I just want to share how amazing this place is. Beautiful, charming, great atmosphere, owners are wonderful, food was great, murder mystery soooooo fun. I could go on and on. I would go back for sure. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary weekend....

Peg & Steve

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My "Sister" and I decided to celebrate our special birthdays without kids and hubbies. She made the plans for our weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion for their Murder Mystery weekend. The first impression is that the mansion is huge and looks a little scary with all the greenery on the building. Once inside it was beautiful. Old woodwork, period furniture and comfy feeling.
We had never done anything like this and we had a really good time. Two breakfasts and a dinner came with the package. Our room was very comfortable. Patty, Bob, Taylor and Kristen were wonderful hosts.
So if you are looking for something different to do spend the weekend in Jim Thorpe at the Harry Packer Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melatz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After making a choice of a B&B over the internet in the quaint town of Jim Thorpe, we were more than extraordinarily pleased with The Harry Packer Mansion. Attention to detail in making their guests comfortable & special was important to Pat and Bob, the hosts. They have made their home, a stunning mansion, into an experience back in time; feeling as though you were a king/queen in their beautiful rooms. High ceilings, gorgeous furnishings and 'things to see' in each 'nook and cranny' was fun and interesting. I would highly recommend this experience, one you will not soon forget!! Pat was very helpful in assisting us in suggestions for hiking trails, biking experiences and restaurants as well as some local history of the mansion and the town. We had a wonderful 2 days in Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing