We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Murder Mystery/Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Murder Mystery/Girls Weekend”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a fantastic weekend and a great experience! The murder mystery was so much fun and it was fun to watch everyone get into their character once it was assigned. I loved that we all got to participate and no role was small. The staff was amazing. I can't write enough about them to give them the credit they deserve. Pat was so warm and welcoming and her food is amazing. Bob blew me away with his knowledge on the Packer Family and the history of the mansion, he also was very friendly and accomodating. Taylor and Christine did an amazing job with the Libations Lounge and always knew what exactly I wanted to drink. The mansion itself was beautiful....this really was the perfect place to go for an October weekend and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry19741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a fantastic time with a "murder mystery" weekend stating in the mansion. The staff was outstanding, the bar had a nice refined feel to it, the food was excellent, the ambiance of the place was incredible, and the mystery was a lot of fun. The time was well spent and we are very much looking forward to returning.

This is an interactive weekend experience, so don't think you will just sit back and watch the show. You are assigned a character, and it's a great opportunity to step out of your comfort zone and help develop the story. You will meet a number of people from a variety of backgrounds who are seeking the same experience that you are. So make the most of it and have a great time! Hope that we see you there on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erkaar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Traveled to Jim Thrope PA aka Mauch Chunk for a weekend of fun and adventure. Was NOT disappointed. Make sure you plan on doing some walking, very hilly area. The Packer Mansion oozes history, and sits on top of a hill over looking the town and a perfect back drop for the murder mystery weekend. Also be prepared to be involved you will be assigned a role to play, its not a sit back and be entertained show.....You are part of the action. The owner 'Bob' expertly weaves a tale from historical events into a fanciful adventure, in which you actually participate, through the pages of history of the Packer family. My wife and I then walked to the cemetery up on the hill where you can actually see many of graves of the people the mystery was based on, also tour Asa packers house next door its a 1912 time capsule. Also make sure you visit the prison in town. There are lots of other sights in the area and plenty of shopping food and drink. The Packer Mansion is real jewel, will visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamJRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a great time doing a "murder mystery" weekend.
The staff was very accommodating, fun, knowledgeable, and kind.
Advice: If you want to have a successful event, you'll have to be ready to really get into your roles, that is, to dive into it the role-playing with enthusiasm. We did that, and had a fantastic time. Really great food too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KV3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing house and an amazing staff! Went with a big party of 15 and took over the house. The family run business could not have been more accommodating and accepting of the group. Great food as well and a hilarious murder mystery weekend. The bartenders are top notch. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a great time, met the most interesting people - including our hosts. Quite honestly though, the mysteries we have done locally provide a greater opportunity for interaction. This mystery was very intriguing because it is primarily true. Made for a very interesting thought process. But,,,, More role playing, greater interaction, would have perhaps created more fun. Use the mansion, it is the best asset in the weekend (no offense Bob). I'm sure many of the rooms played a role in Mary's "quest" for inheritance.

Room Tip: We stayed in carriage house, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Harry Packer Mansion Inn is worth checking out. The atmosphere is quiet and historic. Breakfast was fantastic with great views of the mountainside from the balcony and bar. There is also a sitting area outside the carriage house we enjoyed. I would recommend staying at the Harry Packer Mansion rather than the hotel in town. We stayed the first weekend in October during the Fall Festival.

Jeff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harry Packer Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing