We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob & Pat were AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Bob & Pat were AMAZING!”
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed at the mansion on the weekend of July27-July29, 2007 and we had an amazing time. Bob & Pat along with their son were very down to earth good people. Bob told great stories of the history of the town. If you have a chance when you stay at the mansion, make sure to find Bob at one of the local bars so you can get some friendly conversation over dewars and water. Thank You for a great time. Stupied Gusie & The Snake

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heavenzangel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We had friends who stayed here and raved.... so we thought we would see if they were right and it was better thean we had heard. the place is incredible and the town filled with activities.
We are passing it on to more friends.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler5Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dresman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Third Stay!!!!! This time we brought family to enjoy the murder mystery weekend. Everything was wonderful as usual. The down time to enjoy the town gave us just enough family time. We can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Murder mystery weekend
  • Disliked — We had to leave!!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dresman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radnor, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We had so much fun! Bob is a great story teller and Pat is a wonderful cook. The mansion is beautiful and the town is charming. Highly recommended!!!

  • Liked — The building, decor, friendliness and the food!
  • Disliked — The walk up the hill from town but it does keep you in shape
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We stayed here as a getaway weekend. After reading some of the previous posts I was a bit leary, but decided to give it a try anyway, and we are both glad we did. The house was very charming. Big, obviously being its a mansion, very nicely decorated and spotless. We stayed in Gussies Room. It was just a basic room---queen sized bed, very comfy in fact, and a private bath. The bath was nothing to speak of, but we didn't stay there for that reason. It had a shower stall, sink and toilet and was perfect for what we needed. We did peek in some other rooms at checkout to see some had sitting areas, baths, etc. Breakfast was good----nothing extravagent like you get at some other B&B's but definitely filled us and got us out the door in the AM. It was served buffet style. The porch was awesome to sit out and look over the hill. The views are absolutely awesome. Bob & Taylor (Innkeeper & son) were there during our stay and I have to say were absolutely outgoing. We talked for Bob for quite a while multiple times. You can learn alot of the history of the area just by having a conversation. They don't force "social" time like some B&B"s do like with tea time at 3....but they are very outgoing if you are willing to sit and chat. While there we did some siteseeing, bike riding and caught a show at Penns Peak. There are restaurants/pubs within walking distance, although the hill is quite steep---keep that in mind when trying to walk home. Right next door is the Asa Packer Mansion---you can tour that, however we didn't.

Price wise, I think it was $165/night which I feel was appropriate for our accomodations. You can spend that much in a boring hotel...you definitely get atmosphere at this house.

If we make it back to Jim Thorpe again, we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank sarah9540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

My husband and I just spent his 33rd birthday weekend participating in a murder mystery at the beautiful Harry Packer Mansion. I had read reviews that Pat was cool, which for us was just fine. We keep to ourselves a bit and enjoyed not having someone clamoring for conversation. And believe me, Bob more than makes up for his wife. If you can get past his crass words, Bob has a wealth of fascinating Packer family gossip. The murder mystery wasn't as mysterious as one might hope, but was more a participatory history lesson full of wine and laughs (keep in mind it is a BYO). We had a ball. Some must-see places in town - the old 'castle ruins' behind the Mauch Chunk Opera House, which you can freely climb and explore. Also, you must visit the cemetery at the top of the hill overlooking Jim Thorpe. This was our last stop out of town, and it was exhilirating to search out the tombstones of every person from our murder mystery. Overall, wonderful experience. Only thing we regret - we didn't stay in the mansion itself. Next time!

  • Liked — The incredible history
  • Disliked — The carriage house was much more sterile and modern than the mansion itself.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygirlshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2006

We arrived on Friday Night to a beautiful appointed room in a Mansion decorated with Antiques. The facility was very clean, and the inn keepers seemed to be personable. After settling in we started the first phase of our murder mistery. We were given our characters and witnessed a staged murder.

Breakfast was buffet style and food was tasty, then went to phase 2 of the murder mistery. We had about 6 hours of down time, giving us enough time to explore the town. It was with in walking distance of the Mansion.

Buffet dinner was included and was very tasty, also leaving choices for the vegetarians. The evening culminated with the end of the murder mistery, the group of 8 couples-- almost all strangers to each other spent a great deal of time together, sharing good conversations and many laughs along the way.

In the morning was another great breakfast, and check out was at 11.

We had a great time, with a bunch of strangers, we are looking forward to doing it again with family and friends. If we had fun with strangers, we can only imagine what fun lies ahead for us with our friends.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
635 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
59 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harry Packer Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing