We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diggs”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Diggs”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Wonderful front desk service, easy check-in and out, clean, well lit rooms with ample outlets for electronics, spacious, well-appointed rooms, and terrific food! Our midweek special came with breakfast vouchers. Parking was free for guests and ample space was available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightmind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
So glad you "dug" your "diggs" here! Thanks for writing a review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    221
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
77
419
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the inn for one night while traveling. The inn was beautiful and the town is a step back in time. Although the room was small and the bed was uncomfortable I would stay here again for the ambiance. This is the cutest small town I have ever seen!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OHtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi, Ohio! We're happy your enjoyed your stay here in our little town. Sounds like you were in one of our smaller standard rooms. Next time, be sure to reserve a deluxe room or mini-suite -- we often discount them, especially during the week, and they're quite spacious. Check our web site often for specials and deals. Thanks for writing, your comments are important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Inn for the Anthracite Triathlon held at the park about 3 miles away. It was convenient to the park. I had a suite which overlooked the street with a balcony. It was charming and so relaxing to take my coffee out on the balcony and pass the time away. My room was huge and could sleep 6 people with a fridge and microwave it was self contained. The hotel staff were friendly and talkative. They give you cookies when you check in----I checked in like 3 times...

The only complaint I have is the parking is awful. I have a truck and it was just nerve wracking to maneuver around either one of the parking lots, one of which was located about 2 blocks from the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clamshell0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi, ClamShell! Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're happy your enjoyed your stay with us, despite the parking. We do have 3 lots within 2 blocks of the hotel that can accommodate our guests. Unfortunately, our town was built for carriages, not cars, so we have to cope the best we can. Sorry if you experienced a bit of hassle -- it sure was a busy weekend here. And I'm sure after doing a triathlon, you didn't want to walk any further than you had to, and we don't blame you! :) Thanks again for your comments, and maybe we'll see you during the next race?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean & Comfortable room - a lot of things to do in the area - old town charm. Restaurant on site had decent food. Lots of shopping in the area - antiques etc- rafting - train tours.

skjhlhelkjcbheeeeeeeeeeee opskpoqjo dn;ANKckasCAKSC NCDE;KcnkCNKBNCVBSCBscbwcb
scnksnSKBbl 'EJ;F;WEF;KWBNswbSBVCSWBNF;WFJHOFJ'QIJF'QIJFF/LAnfwefn

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemoneyforahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at the Inn in Jim Thorpe, it was our 1st anniversary. We stopped for lunch at Penn's Peak on our way in, which is about a 10-minute drive from Jim Thorpe and was remarkable...the food, the view, the band on the deck.
Upon arriving in Jim Thorpe, we checked in hassle-free and dropped our belongings in our beautiful room on the 1st floor with a private balcony before touring the town...which included a walk through the many shops, a horse & buggy ride and drinks on Molly McGuires's deck. *We tried to get in the bar at the Inn but every time we checked, it was pretty busy. Since we had a big lunch we opted for a small dinner at Antonio's pizzeria which was very good. Afterwards we met our friends on the 2nd floor balcony of the Inn and chatted with some other guests before calling it a night.
Before heading out, we had breakfast in the Inn's dining area and really enjoyed it, the service was especially good.
We look forward to a return trip to Jim Thorpe and especially the Inn to see some of the other sites we missed and possibly a whitewater rafting adventure.

Room Tip: *Being in room 101 you're close to the main street and entrance so it's not the quietest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks so much, Becky, we appreciate your kind words! Keep you eyes peeled deals in our monthly newsletter and on Facebook, we'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The visit to Jim Throup was awesome except for our room,upon checking in the room was not ready and as we waited people coming in off the street got a room right away without reservations which we had,entering the room finally we found lots of flying bugs,after complaining they offered to come in the room and kill the bugs,we declined and went out hoping they would not be there when we came back which they multiplied and complained again and the girl at front desk got annoyed,Renea,I believe her name is and after complaining as I went to get a drink and it was swarming with bugs in MY drink my daughter finally went down in person and told this ignorant girl again and they FINALLY moved us to a very nice room which they should of done in the beginning and I would of respected the hotel but the older lady checking us in very rude and girl Renea(spelling)...There was a sweet girl there who was very helpful Faith,she was pleasant,also Molly Mcguires restaurant and hotel will be our next stay,rooms look awesome but mostly food was great and our waiter Chad was awesome,very nice and pleasant and funny and informant ,a must visit.

Room Tip: Check out other places first,I will not stay there again.Rude service and bugs,no thank you!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I apologize for the inconveniences the guest experienced during their stay. We generally get high marks for both our accommodations and service so this is upsetting to me.
First off, check in time is 3 pm. The guest tried to check in early but it was not possible since the room still needed to be cleaned. Other rooms were cleaned so some did get into their rooms quicker. But the fact was the guest was checked in at 2 pm, one hour earlier then our stated check in time.
Regarding the bugs: Yes we had gnats in that room for some reason. That is by no means typical. Very strange. Initially, from the notes posted in our system, we offered to move the guests but they did not want to be moved. As was posted we offered to then try to get rid of the gnats, but the said no. Then they did decide to move rooms since the bugs were still there when they came back.
Regarding the rudeness of the front desk: That is unacceptable. Should never happen. I apologize for that. This will be discussed at our staff meeting next week.
I did leave a note in our system to give this guest a discount for the inconveniences they experienced. That was accidently missed by the front desk person who checked them out. We will make good on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Thorpe Pa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The inn is very historic and has a great restaurant. The town is amazing and has alot of shops to shop in . It has train rides to go on that shows the beautiful mountains. There is the Aca Packer mansion which you can tour showing the life of people years ago.. There are plenty of places to eat on every budget. The inn itself was a little pricey. There is a monument of Jim Thorpe on the other side of town that you wont want to miss. It is a very nice vacation spot or just a day trip.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
172 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing