We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would not stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our first trip to Jim Thorpe and the Inn was highly recommended by our travel companions. Their advice was right on the money. It is a little pricey but............From the nostalgic reception area to the clean comfortable rooms it is well worth the price. The attached restaurant is cozy, clean and the menu choices are very much accommodating to all tastes. The $7.00 breakfast voucher is a nice added bonus. Live entertainment in the bar area, while a bit loud, is a nice feature as well. Full balconies on all levels facing the main street is a nice place for hanging out with friends for some casual conversation and relaxing downtime. Free parking also provided right next to hotel. Would definitely stay here every time in Jim Thorpe and recommend to anyone visiting this quaint village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    223
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
80
421
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Comfortable room, great location, front porch on each level to relax outside, great restaurant attached. Inn provides parking and $7 (each person) voucher towards breakfast for the attached restaurant each morning. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaE129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just returned from a great trip (my first time) to Jim Thorpe.
A group of friends have been returning to Jim Thorpe every year for about 10 years and this year I decided to join them and I was not disappointed.
The town itself is so picturesque and quaint. The Inn was was fabulous. It is like stepping back in time but with modern amenities.
We had a standard queen which was a tad small but the bed was very comfortable and very hot water in the shower. We have already booked a king room for our return trip next year.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast at the Broadway Grille & Bar was delicous.
You recieve a voucher from the Inn for breakfast.
Our favorite spot was the porch/balconey off the second floor landing, happy hour with all our friends every evening overlooking the town was a delight.
My only suggestion for any light sleepers and non early risers, the rooms fronting the street can become a little noisy in the morning.
The Inn is located on the main street that runs through the town and when traffic starts in the morning it might wake you.
I would book a room towards the back of the building.Because of all the great outdoor activities in the area ,we were always awake early and enjoyed the view from our room.
I am very much looking forward to our return trip next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks so much for your detailed review! We appreciate it very much and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is my 5th time back and it was the best stay yet! The room was impeccably clean {I called ahead and requested it to be so}, Beds were very comfortable, 4 pillows which I love, clean bathroom with new shower curtain, coffee maker & microwave. I requested a mini fridge and they had it there for myself and my friend.
I was in 217 which is one of the smaller rooms but big enough for 2 GF's to be comfortable. We did have a spirit visitation which was scary but fun after it was all over with! There was lots of activity at the Inn and elsewhere in the town that weekend.
Shout out to Linda who got us the 2nd night stay when it was booked for weeks. She went above and beyond her duty when the others told me to call back and check fr cancellations. Loved the 2nd floor balcony to people watch and relax!

Room Tip: 217 was a good spot. Quiet, small but it was not the deluxe room so I expected it. We didn't spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaLovesToTravel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, KA! Great to see you again. Thanks so much for taking the time to write. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was my husband and my first trip to Jim Thorpe and we will definitely be returning. The Inn caught us by surprise as we weren't sure what to expect. The rooms were very nice with Victorian decor. What impressed us the most was the extras that came with the room including an in room keurig coffee maker and breakfast vouchers. We will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hlzuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I really liked my room and I reserved it months in advance. Everyone that works at the Inn is nice and wants to help you out and make your stay wonderful. I liked that you could put your bike in a shed when you were done with it for the day. Nice keeps it dry! They have apples out for the taking and they give you wonderful cookies at check in. We liked them so much we asked for more the next day. They gave them to us with a smile. The place is very clean. Housekeeping is great and they left the extra towels I asked for. They even wrote me a note and said have a happy stay. My hair is really long and I never get enough towels but that was not a problem here after my first night. They include a 7.00 pp value for breakfast, which is a nice touch. The coffee at breakfast could be better. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony but some people were smoking out there and really that is NOT allowed at the Inn. This is a very historic building and I have no idea why anyone would break the rules and smoke there. I saw this happen a few times. Maybe the workers should check the balconies from time to time to enforce the rules. The rest of us could do without smelling second hand smoke. The parking is tough and very close. Once you find a spot you should just walk the rest of your stay or better yet get a bike and see everything and do the rails to trails and keep your free parking spot. Most people did this. You can walk to so much from the Inn. I will return soon! I would say let's keep this place a secret but the secret is out and it is hard to get a room at this Inn.

Room Tip: You can use the website and see every single room they have and the floor lay out too. You should ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipthelightfandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Smoking is definitely NOT allowed on our balconies, so we're sorry that you were inconvenienced by this. The staff should have put a stop to that immediately. I'll pass your comments along to them so that doesn't happen again. Take care, and we'll see you again soon, hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talleyville, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the main inn during our last visit and found it a little noisy (see previous review). We opted to stay at their sister building a few blocks up Broadway this time and had a very good experience. Our room was on the side of the building and had a shared balcony that was very comfortable. It overlooked the parking lot so the view wasn't much to rave about but it was a nice option to have during comfortable weather. 55 Broadway is also a little farther from the train line and traffic noise.

We had a two room suite with Victorian decor. The furniture appears to be relatively new and in good condition. It's generally comfortable and practical, whether you are staying one night or many. The TVs are all modern with one in the generous sitting room and another in the bed room. The bathroom, which is small, was recently renovated and everything functioned well. The room features a small fridge, microwave and Keurig coffee maker.

Wireless networking in both the main inn and 55 Broadway worked well and always reconnected without hassle. Wireless speeds were about 3MBps or just "OK". Your Netflix movies might sputter but, otherwise, it's fine for mail and web browsing. Cell phone coverage in Jim Thorpe is really challenged due to the steep valley. We could barely get an AT&T signal at 55 Broadway. Many of the other buildings in town have old tin decorative ceilings that totally block out wireless coverage (some of those ceilings have been covered over and aren't apparent until you see "no service" on your phone.

The only negative during this stay was the window air conditioner, which has seen better days and was very loud when it ran. It kept us up for multiple nights. I just don't understand inn keepers who spend thousands to renovate rooms and then don't give any thought to the comfort quality of their HVAC systems. The problem is all across the U.S., not just Jim Thorpe. If only the innkeepers would spend a night in each of their rooms. This would have been a 5 star review if only the management had spent $150 more to get a new AC unit.

We'll come back to this room but only during cooler weather.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SearchLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnJimThorpe, Front Office Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi, SearchLite! Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at 55 Broadway. I'm passing your comment about the air conditioner to our maintenance staff, who will take a look at the unit. I'm so sorry it was noisy, that's a drag. But hopefully they can fix it soon. We look forward to your return visit! Take care, and thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#3 of 6 in White Haven
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing