We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel in scenic area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel in scenic area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the inn before, this time we got a deluxe room which was much roomier. It was a noisy area compared to the last time we stayed which was in the back of the hotel. The room was very clean and service was great.

Room Tip: getting a room in the back of the hotel seems quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    211
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
73
405
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was a Groupon Getaway deal. The Inn was nice - clean, very comfy beds, kind staff. But there was very little to do in the town of Jim Thorpe. Most of the sites were closed and it was just a little too chilly to walk around for long periods. Probably not going back any time soon. Also if you have melanin in your skin, be prepared to be openly stared at everywhere you go. Might want to pretend that you are a movie star!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indrani1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here this past weekend, from 2/21 to 2/23 in room 215. Despite the good reviews that we saw on Tripadvisor about the Inn, we did not have a pleasant stay. When we arrived Friday night we headed to bed around 10pm. The live music from the bar was VERY loud. I laid in our bed and could hear every word of the songs playing until well after midnight. Then at 2am that night I was woken up by someone (sounded female) crying and throwing up somewhere near our room. We could not determine whether it was right outside our door or in the room next to us, but it was VERY loud and disturbing. Following this, it was difficult to fall back asleep due to the MULTIPLE door slams and people talking. I'm assuming as people were coming back from the bar that is on the first level of the hotel. I was once again woken up at 8am that morning to the sound of men literally YELLING at the top of their lungs the lyrics to songs. This went on for about a half hour until we finally called the front desk and complained. This is absolutely NOT what we were expecting from our stay at the Inn at Jim Thorpe. We were hoping to relax and enjoy ourselves and this simply wasn't possible. The fact that we could hear people talking ALL THE TIME told me the walls were paper thin, and the rowdy crowd is likely attributed to the lively bar in the hotel. It certainly is not advertised that way on the website. I am not pleased with our stay at the Inn, and would advise anyone looking for a truly RELAXING trip to avoid this place.

Lastly, on some websites this place is marketed as a bed and breakfast- and this is simply not the case. You get a $7 breakfast voucher for the restaurant downstairs. $7 does not cover the cost of the breakfast, the food was not that good, and the service was poor.

Room Tip: AVOID any room near the bar as it is VERY loud and plays live music well past midnight on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I thank this guest for bringing up the issues that were experienced during her stay. This is valuable information that will help us improve our service going forward. I have already sent her a separate letter apologizing for the issues she experienced during her stay with us.

Regarding the loud music: We do have music in our pub on Thursday and Friday nights. It is supposed to end at 11 pm. Past that time is unacceptable, because we are aware the music can be heard in a few of our guestrooms above. I apologize if it did continue past that time. I have already spoken to our restaurant manager about this. I do read every comment that we receive. If that was a chronic issue, I would know about it and it would stop. This was an isolated incident and will not happen again.
As far as the noise from other guests-that is unfortunate and I do apologize for that also. How other guests act, though, should not reflect on the hotel overall. It is not our fault if a guest is out of hand. We happened to have a wedding party in the room next to the room the guest was staying in that weekend .They were the ones carrying on. The guest wrote in a letter to me that they waited 1 1/2 hours after they woke up the next morning to call the front desk to complain about it.The only time we have any control over what other guests do is when the front desk is notified. If we take no action, then we are at fault-otherwise how can we be blamed? Unfortunately we cannot predict when a guest is going to create problems for others.

All walls within the hotel are standard 2 x 4 walls and are insulated. They are not "paper thin". We are dealing with a hotel built in 1894 which has been totally renovated. There is only so much we can do.
Regarding the $7 breakfast vouchers: It is exactly that- it goes towards the purchase of breakfast. Yes, we are listed on a few B&B websites, so I suppose certain assumptions can be made. However, all information on these sites pertaining to our specific property note that we are a hotel with 45 guestrooms with no mention of a free breakfast.
Our restaurant gets very high marks overall for our food and service. However we are not perfect. I am sorry if the guest was not satisfied with the food or service we provided.
:
Dave
The Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in this beautiful Inn, located in a historic New Orleans style building built in 1849. Located right on Broadway it is very conveniently located, being steps away from dining and shopping. The architecture of the hotel and the town itself is very pleasing in my opinion. The rooms are very well priced, are nicely furnished and have all the modern amenities. The room was a bit small and the front desk staff was not the friendliest upon arrival, but that did not ruin my experience. We will definitely return when we return to Jim Thorpe soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at The Inn for the Ski & Stay package which maybe only saves you a few dollars, but it is convenient nonetheless. The Front Desk was very helpful; when I booked they only had room at the nearby Broadway House, but on arrival I was able to get a room at the Inn. The King bed was wonderful, the room was comfortable, clean and relaxing, including a skylight and nice bathroom. The food was delicious at the hotel restaurant (Broadway Grille) for dinner and breakfast. We will definitely return. (Note that noise does travel through the walls a little, but it is pretty quiet by midnight here.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights over the weekend. It was lovely! Warm, well cared for, staff was great. The room was clean and very comfortable, historic without being stuffy or overwrought. Take advantage of all that the town has to offer as well, nearby state park, plenty of restaurants and pubs. Can't wait to return in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmoregrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stay there at least once a year. The rooms are well kept and comfortable although not huge. There is a small restaurant and bar that are both great. The food is good and bar crowd always great. I highly recommend staying there and visiting the great little town of Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getsmart12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing