We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different experience in December!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Garden

China Garden
Ranked #28 of 37 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ticowife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Different experience in December!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I wrote a review on this inexpensive take-out (and eat in) restaurant in Oct 2012. We visited it several times since July of 2012. On a recent visit in December, I was very disappointed in how dirty the carpeted floors were! Very obviously dirty, nothing subtle - this should not be in a restaurant. At the time there was only one other couple dining there. The food was also just ok. So, my opinion has changed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ticowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ticowife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistently good food at good prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

China Garden on Broadway might not look like much on the outside but the service is polite, friendly, fast and the food is really good! It is not a fancy restaurant by any means. I think most of their business is take- out. We have ordered food here several times and we have enjoyed it each time! I wish they would deliver! You can call in your order and then pick up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ticowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“not overly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We did take out and the food was just ok. The interior of the restaurant, while pretty much the generic Chinese decor, seemed a little dirty/dingey. Maybe it's just that we had gone in right after they had a large party (or party with young kids) and they hadn't had a chance to clean up yet but it left us a bit turned off.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank kalypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had dinner here one night, the food and atmosphere were average, nothing you can't get at any place of this type

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lds1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“CHICKEN WITH CASHEWS!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great food. Great Prices. Even better service. Parking in that area is bad but this place is worth a little walk.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing