We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days later I want to go baaaacccckkkkk”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

What a place and what a view! Weather was blowy but was still warm. My partner and I were in room 1 and yes it is as good as the other reviewers have said. A private balcony overlooking the beach with views out to the ocean where at night you can watch the fishing boats go out for their nightly haul... Would have been perfect if there wasn't a gale blowing. All this and walking distance to the restaurants and hotel on top of the hill and a short drive down the hill to the shops etc. Friendly people who are accommodating even the cat was lovely (so much so puss puss nearly ended up in suitcase coming home with us). All in all would not hesitate in going back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wannagoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

The first floor Queen room was of a very high standard. The bed was comfortable and the en suite very clean and well appointed. Spectacular views over Yamba Main Beach. Off street parking was limited.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterLangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend just last week. The location is brillant, beautiful views overlooking the main beach and ocean wall. The ocean pool is located there which is very nice for swim & just across the road is a park with BBQ's. We walked into town to eat at the restuarants and cafes though if you arent very fit you would need a car as its very slopey.
We stayed in the front room which has its own private balcony which is definately the pick of the rooms as its right up the front with uninterrupted views and you arent sharing with balcony with other guests. Great spot for a drink. The room was was comfy with the windows opening right up to take in the great view. Bed very comfy. Everything nice and clean. The lady who ran the motel was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front rooms with the private balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Yamba is a great little town and an easy getaway for us .
The surf motel is in an incredible location , with magical views .room 1 ....is by far the best.
Lovely wooden shutters and bedding ,gives it a nice holiday house fell. Very big verandah with a food and outdoor table and chairs

Easy walk to the swimming baths . And pacific hotel

Good shopping and wonderful fresh seafood

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very clean motel and lovely owners. We stayed in room 5.. It has a shared balcony which didn't bother us as we were only staying 1 night for a wedding. Room 1 & 2 looked awesome with their own balconies. I think I'd definitely go for those rooms next time as we will be back next time. The location is great if you love the beach. Only a short walk to the Pacific Hotel and there's also a cafe on the corner. If not just a 1 min drive down the hill to the Main Street. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyleewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location, lovely views but no private balcony, very pleasant staff, comfortable and modern facilities. Stairs to unit not suitable for anyone with physical restrictions, quite steep for carrying up heavy luggage. We had small bags so had no problems although being aged early 60s, found the stairs a little discouraging. We were disappointed on arrival that there was no balcony to enjoy the views. When we left our room, we noticed a semi-enclosed area where you could sit and have a drink which we did but it is accessible to other visitors and not ideal for a long term stay considering the cost. I probably would not return, preferring units with private not shared balconies. Had nice Chinese meal at night but restricted choice of eateries within walking distance compared to other towns. Very hilly area between unit and town centre. Would have to drive to obtain groceries, see the sights of Yamba etc rather than easy walking which we prefer.

Room Tip: Check if there is a private balcony overlooking the views or you will be disappointed. If any medica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickanpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Found this place via WOTIF and got the same rate in person. Clean, tidy room (No. 7) right near the beach. Best shower of our road trip with fantastic water pressure - luxurious! Can also recommend the Pacific Hotel for a feed and bevvie as it's within walking distance to the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madashell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pegasus Motel
Pegasus Motel
#8 of 11 in Yamba
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#3 of 11 in Yamba
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2 Queen St, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Motel is located overlooking Yamba's beautiful main beach and ocean pool – one of the best locations in Yamba. All rooms are luxury 4 Star apartments. The motel is a short stroll to all of Yamba's best restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing