We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View says it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“View says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

When you just want a quick break and a great view go for a place like this. The one bedroom is like a glorified studio but a bit larger and with a half wall separation of sleeping and dining. You won't want to stay in much anyway as the view is so spectacular. There is a small outdoor area directly outside the front door and this has a good view of the park and surf. Perched directly atop Main Beach it is a prime position . A short walk to the surf club, local restaurants and the fabulous old pub. Managers seemed as helpful as they could be though we asked for no more than extra milk. Would certainly stay there again for a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parispugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Average clean room, floor and bed not level poor nights sleep. Booked two nights left after one overpriced overrated. Too many smokers including owners butts and ashtrays on verandahs and decks. Paid less to stay at much better places on the coast. Old place renovated should have done a better job, mutton dressed as lamb.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

What a place and what a view! Weather was blowy but was still warm. My partner and I were in room 1 and yes it is as good as the other reviewers have said. A private balcony overlooking the beach with views out to the ocean where at night you can watch the fishing boats go out for their nightly haul... Would have been perfect if there wasn't a gale blowing. All this and walking distance to the restaurants and hotel on top of the hill and a short drive down the hill to the shops etc. Friendly people who are accommodating even the cat was lovely (so much so puss puss nearly ended up in suitcase coming home with us). All in all would not hesitate in going back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wannagoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The first floor Queen room was of a very high standard. The bed was comfortable and the en suite very clean and well appointed. Spectacular views over Yamba Main Beach. Off street parking was limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casino
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend just last week. The location is brillant, beautiful views overlooking the main beach and ocean wall. The ocean pool is located there which is very nice for swim & just across the road is a park with BBQ's. We walked into town to eat at the restuarants and cafes though if you arent very fit you would need a car as its very slopey.
We stayed in the front room which has its own private balcony which is definately the pick of the rooms as its right up the front with uninterrupted views and you arent sharing with balcony with other guests. Great spot for a drink. The room was was comfy with the windows opening right up to take in the great view. Bed very comfy. Everything nice and clean. The lady who ran the motel was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front rooms with the private balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Yamba is a great little town and an easy getaway for us .
The surf motel is in an incredible location , with magical views .room 1 ....is by far the best.
Lovely wooden shutters and bedding ,gives it a nice holiday house fell. Very big verandah with a food and outdoor table and chairs

Easy walk to the swimming baths . And pacific hotel

Good shopping and wonderful fresh seafood

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very clean motel and lovely owners. We stayed in room 5.. It has a shared balcony which didn't bother us as we were only staying 1 night for a wedding. Room 1 & 2 looked awesome with their own balconies. I think I'd definitely go for those rooms next time as we will be back next time. The location is great if you love the beach. Only a short walk to the Pacific Hotel and there's also a cafe on the corner. If not just a 1 min drive down the hill to the Main Street. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyleewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yamba Beach Motel
Yamba Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
1.3 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
0.6 mi away
Yamba Sun Motel
Yamba Sun Motel
#3 of 11 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2 Queen St, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Motel is located overlooking Yamba's beautiful main beach and ocean pool – one of the best locations in Yamba. All rooms are luxury 4 Star apartments. The motel is a short stroll to all of Yamba's best restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing