We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time out”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This motel happened to be the best stay on our two week north coast trek. I wanted to find something restful and special for my husbands 60th birthday to recover from celebrations in Sydney and we had a wonderful stay here. We had the top floor apartment with amazing views, privacy, comfort and everything we needed. I would come back here anytime.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Right on the beach. Very good value, booked through internet for one night. Owners were nice and stayed out of our way.

Would stay at this motel again if visiting Yamba, a no frills experience, but who needs pool etc when so close to the Beach! (across the road)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justsaying99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Motel in a great location, close to Main beach, Yamba and surf swimming pool. Clean rooms with great views. Friendly enough staff. Within a short walk to some great restaurants. Some shared balconies - not great but otherwise, one of the best placed in a Yamba.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The motel is well-situated on the headland at Yamba and the views outside are beautiful. However our room overlooked the entry road and brick wall but the room was large, equipped with small kitchenette bench and microwave, toaster etc. Bathroom is a reasonable size and the shower was hot and strong. The television screen is small for the size of the room. There were both a fan and air-conditioning in the room.

Parking is limited and very tight but is at least off-street if you are able to get a space as the number of spaces does not match the number of rooms. Food and amenities are close by and staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

When you just want a quick break and a great view go for a place like this. The one bedroom is like a glorified studio but a bit larger and with a half wall separation of sleeping and dining. You won't want to stay in much anyway as the view is so spectacular. There is a small outdoor area directly outside the front door and this has a good view of the park and surf. Perched directly atop Main Beach it is a prime position . A short walk to the surf club, local restaurants and the fabulous old pub. Managers seemed as helpful as they could be though we asked for no more than extra milk. Would certainly stay there again for a weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parispugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Average clean room, floor and bed not level poor nights sleep. Booked two nights left after one overpriced overrated. Too many smokers including owners butts and ashtrays on verandahs and decks. Paid less to stay at much better places on the coast. Old place renovated should have done a better job, mutton dressed as lamb.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

What a place and what a view! Weather was blowy but was still warm. My partner and I were in room 1 and yes it is as good as the other reviewers have said. A private balcony overlooking the beach with views out to the ocean where at night you can watch the fishing boats go out for their nightly haul... Would have been perfect if there wasn't a gale blowing. All this and walking distance to the restaurants and hotel on top of the hill and a short drive down the hill to the shops etc. Friendly people who are accommodating even the cat was lovely (so much so puss puss nearly ended up in suitcase coming home with us). All in all would not hesitate in going back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wannagoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Yamba Sun Motel
Yamba Sun Motel
#3 of 11 in Yamba
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yamba Beach Motel
Yamba Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Yamba
211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#5 of 11 in Yamba
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2 Queen St, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Motel is located overlooking Yamba's beautiful main beach and ocean pool – one of the best locations in Yamba. All rooms are luxury 4 Star apartments. The motel is a short stroll to all of Yamba's best restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing