We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for non smokers.”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for non smokers.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We love Yamba. We have been many times. We arrived late, having quickly scanned wotif on the way to Yamba. We should have tried elsewhere when the offered prices were above the online ones.
As we unpacked the car, the owner was sitting at the back door smoking. As we climbed the stairs there was a lady smoking with an overflowing ashtray.
Our nonsmoking room had 2 ashtrays outside it. Our room reeked. It was foul. It made us feel unwell.
Nice position, half decent rooms. But unless you are a nicotine addict, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alicarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This motel happened to be the best stay on our two week north coast trek. I wanted to find something restful and special for my husbands 60th birthday to recover from celebrations in Sydney and we had a wonderful stay here. We had the top floor apartment with amazing views, privacy, comfort and everything we needed. I would come back here anytime.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Right on the beach. Very good value, booked through internet for one night. Owners were nice and stayed out of our way.

Would stay at this motel again if visiting Yamba, a no frills experience, but who needs pool etc when so close to the Beach! (across the road)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justsaying99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Motel in a great location, close to Main beach, Yamba and surf swimming pool. Clean rooms with great views. Friendly enough staff. Within a short walk to some great restaurants. Some shared balconies - not great but otherwise, one of the best placed in a Yamba.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The motel is well-situated on the headland at Yamba and the views outside are beautiful. However our room overlooked the entry road and brick wall but the room was large, equipped with small kitchenette bench and microwave, toaster etc. Bathroom is a reasonable size and the shower was hot and strong. The television screen is small for the size of the room. There were both a fan and air-conditioning in the room.

Parking is limited and very tight but is at least off-street if you are able to get a space as the number of spaces does not match the number of rooms. Food and amenities are close by and staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

When you just want a quick break and a great view go for a place like this. The one bedroom is like a glorified studio but a bit larger and with a half wall separation of sleeping and dining. You won't want to stay in much anyway as the view is so spectacular. There is a small outdoor area directly outside the front door and this has a good view of the park and surf. Perched directly atop Main Beach it is a prime position . A short walk to the surf club, local restaurants and the fabulous old pub. Managers seemed as helpful as they could be though we asked for no more than extra milk. Would certainly stay there again for a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parispugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Average clean room, floor and bed not level poor nights sleep. Booked two nights left after one overpriced overrated. Too many smokers including owners butts and ashtrays on verandahs and decks. Paid less to stay at much better places on the coast. Old place renovated should have done a better job, mutton dressed as lamb.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yamba Sun Motel
Yamba Sun Motel
#3 of 11 in Yamba
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.1 mi away
Yamba Beach Motel
Yamba Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Yamba
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2 Queen St, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Motel is located overlooking Yamba's beautiful main beach and ocean pool – one of the best locations in Yamba. All rooms are luxury 4 Star apartments. The motel is a short stroll to all of Yamba's best restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing