We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons of an average stay.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sands Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons of an average stay.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

IMO, the price was too high for what we got. Overall ok but we expected more considering the high rates.

What we liked:
1)The townhouse was ok, clean, comfortable, modern kitchen well equipped. The bedrooms were ok.
2) Close to Pippi beach, even though we preferred Yamba beach (better for children and not many people with dogs).
3) Friendly staff.
4) Tennis courts

What we didn't like:
1) No AC in the unit, it was ok in late April but I wouldn't stay here in Jan - Feb.
2) Useless WiFi, seriously the service is terrible and at additional cost.
3) The pools were considerably small considering a complex this size and freezing cold!!!, only the Spa was heated but extremely small and always crowded.
4) No ventilation at all in the toilets and one of them was next to the kitchen !!!

We stay here during Easter long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your honesty. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of the Resort and would like to comment on some of your other feedback so that other prospective guests are adequately informed.

In terms of the AC, we do advertise that some have air con so it is important if you want air con that you request it. All of our apartments however have ceiling fans as a minimum. If the WiFi problem was reported to us, we could have done something about this as normally it is a minor issue an a quick fix. The townhouses have not had any problems with WiFi previously - in fact other guests have reported how easy it has been and how clear the signal is.

The two pools that we have available for guests consists of a smaller pool within the Leisure Centre where the tennis courts and one BBQ are located and the second pool is a 25 metre lap pool which is the largest on offer in Yamba. The heated spa also accommodates 12 people and we would not consider this small by any other standard and also is the largest on offer in Yamba. We agree that the pools are not heated (the spa however is heated at 27 degrees) but up until May the weather is still reaching temperatures of up to mid 20's and in comparison to the spa it would be cool. Being school holiday and Easter season the Resort is fully booked and yes the spa is a popular pastime for young and old who stay within the Resort.

We are looking into the ventilation problem that you reported and definitely agree that this is a valid point to be raised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamba again in the near future and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    32
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
78
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas 2012 for two weeks. It's a fabulous location and a wonderful place to stay. They have two pools, one of which has a lovely warm spa. The kids LOVED this place, which is just across the road from a glorious beach. You can walk into town in about 10 minutes. (There are no shops closer)
The apartment was very clean and very comfortable. We had an apartment with an ocean view and it was just delightful. We would very happily stay here again. (there is no air conditioning in the apartment, but there's always a lovely breeze so it didn't seem necessary)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridge1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in a 2br ground floor sc unit near the pool for 4 days.

The negatives. The spa, which is also the shower for the main bedroom, is hard to get in and out of, as it is very high. The room details said the room had air con, but it didn't, only ceiling fans. The cleaner was still cleaning the room when we arrived at 2pm. She didn't advise that she'd mopped the floor and my partner nearly went head over, as he was wearing thongs. We were near the pool area which can get noisy because some parents think it's ok for their children to run and dive in the pool & leave them unattended. That is not the resorts fault and credit to the gardener that let the children know the rules in front of the parents. There was a stain on the floor in 2nd bdrm & a slat missing on the vertical blind, also in that room. No exhaust fan for bathrooms & poor phone reception inside the building. Mattress in main also needs a mattress topper, not real comfy. I put a blanket underneath to cushion it. One of the leather lounges in lounge room was very uncomfortable and couldn't sit on it. Lucky there was another one to sit on.

The positives. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Two bathrooms, which was an added bonus. One with a spa in it and the other with a laundry. There is a 2nd small tv in the main bedroom which was also convenient and Foxtel on main tv. The gardens are well maintained and immaculate as is the pool area. The Resort is right opposite Pippi beach, so very handy and a short drive from the town centre. Basics are supplied, but you might want to take some dishwashing powder/tablets as only 1 use supplied and same for washing powder & limited dishwashing liquid and soap, so take some from home. Hardly anyone uses the pool near reception, so if you want quiet maybe go to that one.

All in all we had a great stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Best to ask if room has air conditioning, if that is important. Noisy near the pool, so ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We were sorry to hear about your near accident when you arrived and have spoken to our cleaners about advising guests about wet floors. We have also noted your other comments and have forwarded these comments on to owners and Strata Management to fix. In relation to the air conditioning our website does not refer to individual apartments and does say that "most" have air conditioning although all have ceiling fans. As the apartments are advertised as self contained it is expected that guests will provide their own supplies and as a courtesy to arriving guests we supply a "starter" pack only. We are happy to see that you did enjoy the gardens and pool area and the location of the Resort and look forward to your return visit. Please make sure to mention exactly what your requirements are so that we can make sure to accommodate your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

While the pool areas and beach views from the resort were quite nice, my friends and I were somewhat disappointed by the standard of the apartment, for the price we paid. There were stains on the blankets and lounges, and an uncomfortable scent in the air. The scent I think could have been partly from the musty middle bathroom which didn't appear to have very good ventilation. Our concerns were voiced to reception, and notes were taken, however no attempt was made to come up to see the apartment while we were there. Overall, it was ok, but if we were to return to Yamba we would try alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do recall that you came to see us at Reception on departure and voiced your concerns regarding the lounge and the rug which we have since reviewed and steam cleaned. So whilst the carpet and the lounge were not dirty (as advised by the carpet cleaner) they had a couple of residual stains that required additional treatment. In relation to the musty smell, it is difficult to comment on that as it was not evident at the time of departure cleaning. The pool area and grounds have always been kept immaculate and the view from this particular apartment is stunning looking across Pippi Beach and Lover's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We rented the penthouse here with my Mum and Dad for 3 nights. The unit was lovely and very well equipped, the views from all the rooms was fabulous overlooking Pippi Beach. Although a little bit out of town it was still a great position. However without any lifts and the unit on the third floor it was a struggle to get all of our eskys and bags up all the flights.The only other complaint was the spa bath in the main bedroom. It was impossible to get into as it was too high!! There were no steps to get up into it and even my husband who is really tall would have struggled to get in and out comfortably. Having said that I would go back. Maybe a lower level with not so great views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Your feedback was much appreciated and we take this seriously. Next time when you book, don't forget to mention that you would like to stay on the ground floor or even the middle level and we can give you a side gate remote to alleviate some of the stairs for you. We have some good winter specials on commencing 1st May and you also have your return guest discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom villa for 9 nights which had more than enough room for three people the sands is quite a large resort with many different types of accommodation its location is perfect just across the road from the beach and a very short distance from the golf club and the CBD.
The star on the tree is reception we were not the best guests as left items behind which had to be posted and also an accident with the carpet in one of the bedrooms for reception this was no problem at all and we have stayed at resorts where it would have been a drama We are going back in August for another 8 days. We have stayed in other rentals in Yamba the Sands is far and above the best make your next holiday here you wont regret it

Room Tip: try and book away from the gates which are opening all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patmore9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We were so happy to hear that you had a great holiday and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We have some great winter specials on commencing 1st May and don't forget your return guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom upper level apartment for three nights with a balcony that afforded lovely sea views over Pippi Beach. The Sands has a range of accommodation types on offer and our apartment was well appointed and spacious with two bathrooms, comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, Austal TV, secure undercover parking and alfresco dining option on the balcony - perfect. We did not use the large pool area but it seemed well patronised. We were made most welcome by our hosts on arrival. Each day we were visited by friendly rainbow lorikeets for a free feed. What a lovely relaxing time we had at The Sands......and will return on our next visit to Yamba

Room Tip: Top floor apartments facing the beach have best views but have to negotiate stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again real soon, look out for our winter specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Property: The Sands Resort
Address: 20-21 Pacific Pde, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT Resort Accommodation in Yamba!•Lap pool (SUITABLE FOR TRAINING) with splash area catering for smaller children•Outdoor entertaining areas and barbeques •Large Leisure Centre pool•Outdoor heated spa •Two Tennis courts •Security parking, mostly undercover• Easy walking to shopping, golf club, bowls club and general sights of Yamba. Free WIFI in the Leisure Centre and set within tropical gardens - paradise on the beach! A welcome pack is available on arrival to get you started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing