We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort and a perfect destination”
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sands Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely resort and a perfect destination”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom townhouse for 4 nights recently with our son. Although it was too cold to enjoy the lovely pools we did enjoy a game of tennis at the resort. The resort is close to the town and within easy walking distance to beach and shops. The townhouse was well presented and had everything we needed to enjoy our holiday. Both bathrooms were very clean (a rarity these days) and the kitchen was well equipped to enjoy dinner cooked at home. The beds were lovely and the complex easy to understand. Even though it was school holidays I did not hear neighbour noise or noisy children to spoil a lovely break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at The Sands Resort and that it met your expectations. We will look forward to once again welcoming you home again to the Sands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    33
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in a first floor apartment with balcony and ocean views. Apartment beAutifully decorated with two bathrooms and kitchen well equipped. Great location away from hustle and bustle and peaceful and quiet yet only a couple of minutes drive to shops. on site staff efficient and helpful

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrystabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
It was so lovely to read your feedback and to hear that you had a lovely time at The Sands Resort and that you especially liked your accommodation and the position. Don't forget to mention when you next stay that you are repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Sands on Friday 23rd and Sat 24th May on a second floor apartment at the southern end of the complex overlooking the ocean. Our 2 bedroom apartment was amazing and we could even see whales in the distance from our balcony. This is about the 4th time we have stayed at The Sands and the only thing that disappointed us this time was the extremely loud music and high pitched yelling/screaming of a large gathering of people coming from a private property situated right next door to the southern perimeter of The Sands on the Friday night. This was allowed to go on until 4am in the morning and meant we did not get any sleep. I appreciate that The Sands management are not responsible for what happens outside of their resort but unfortunately this does impact on their guests and residents.Thankfully the Saturday night was quiet and we were able to sleep ! Other than this we enjoyed our stay at The Sands once again.

Room Tip: Choose a quieter room in middle or northern end of complex with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Owner at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your response. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the Resort and your apartment but sorry to hear that neighbours outside the Resort caused you some disturbance which we were unaware of until we read this posting. You are correct we can control what goes on within the Resort if we are advised at the time but we cannot control the unfortunate behaviour of others outside the Resort however a quick phone call to the Police would have perhaps resolved this issue quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I was told when booking this room that it was recently refurbished but it wasn't. I found it quite expensive for what we got. Nice pool and spa area. Also found a note on fridge that we have to take out all rubbish and wash and place all dishes in cupboard before leaving otherwise you get billed $50. Never seen this kind of thing anywhere else.

Clean unit though, ocean views only, not beach views

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

IMO, the price was too high for what we got. Overall ok but we expected more considering the high rates.

What we liked:
1)The townhouse was ok, clean, comfortable, modern kitchen well equipped. The bedrooms were ok.
2) Close to Pippi beach, even though we preferred Yamba beach (better for children and not many people with dogs).
3) Friendly staff.
4) Tennis courts

What we didn't like:
1) No AC in the unit, it was ok in late April but I wouldn't stay here in Jan - Feb.
2) Useless WiFi, seriously the service is terrible and at additional cost.
3) The pools were considerably small considering a complex this size and freezing cold!!!, only the Spa was heated but extremely small and always crowded.
4) No ventilation at all in the toilets and one of them was next to the kitchen !!!

We stay here during Easter long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your honesty. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of the Resort and would like to comment on some of your other feedback so that other prospective guests are adequately informed.

In terms of the AC, we do advertise that some have air con so it is important if you want air con that you request it. All of our apartments however have ceiling fans as a minimum. If the WiFi problem was reported to us, we could have done something about this as normally it is a minor issue an a quick fix. The townhouses have not had any problems with WiFi previously - in fact other guests have reported how easy it has been and how clear the signal is.

The two pools that we have available for guests consists of a smaller pool within the Leisure Centre where the tennis courts and one BBQ are located and the second pool is a 25 metre lap pool which is the largest on offer in Yamba. The heated spa also accommodates 12 people and we would not consider this small by any other standard and also is the largest on offer in Yamba. We agree that the pools are not heated (the spa however is heated at 27 degrees) but up until May the weather is still reaching temperatures of up to mid 20's and in comparison to the spa it would be cool. Being school holiday and Easter season the Resort is fully booked and yes the spa is a popular pastime for young and old who stay within the Resort.

We are looking into the ventilation problem that you reported and definitely agree that this is a valid point to be raised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Yamba again in the near future and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas 2012 for two weeks. It's a fabulous location and a wonderful place to stay. They have two pools, one of which has a lovely warm spa. The kids LOVED this place, which is just across the road from a glorious beach. You can walk into town in about 10 minutes. (There are no shops closer)
The apartment was very clean and very comfortable. We had an apartment with an ocean view and it was just delightful. We would very happily stay here again. (there is no air conditioning in the apartment, but there's always a lovely breeze so it didn't seem necessary)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridge1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in a 2br ground floor sc unit near the pool for 4 days.

The negatives. The spa, which is also the shower for the main bedroom, is hard to get in and out of, as it is very high. The room details said the room had air con, but it didn't, only ceiling fans. The cleaner was still cleaning the room when we arrived at 2pm. She didn't advise that she'd mopped the floor and my partner nearly went head over, as he was wearing thongs. We were near the pool area which can get noisy because some parents think it's ok for their children to run and dive in the pool & leave them unattended. That is not the resorts fault and credit to the gardener that let the children know the rules in front of the parents. There was a stain on the floor in 2nd bdrm & a slat missing on the vertical blind, also in that room. No exhaust fan for bathrooms & poor phone reception inside the building. Mattress in main also needs a mattress topper, not real comfy. I put a blanket underneath to cushion it. One of the leather lounges in lounge room was very uncomfortable and couldn't sit on it. Lucky there was another one to sit on.

The positives. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Two bathrooms, which was an added bonus. One with a spa in it and the other with a laundry. There is a 2nd small tv in the main bedroom which was also convenient and Foxtel on main tv. The gardens are well maintained and immaculate as is the pool area. The Resort is right opposite Pippi beach, so very handy and a short drive from the town centre. Basics are supplied, but you might want to take some dishwashing powder/tablets as only 1 use supplied and same for washing powder & limited dishwashing liquid and soap, so take some from home. Hardly anyone uses the pool near reception, so if you want quiet maybe go to that one.

All in all we had a great stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Best to ask if room has air conditioning, if that is important. Noisy near the pool, so ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We were sorry to hear about your near accident when you arrived and have spoken to our cleaners about advising guests about wet floors. We have also noted your other comments and have forwarded these comments on to owners and Strata Management to fix. In relation to the air conditioning our website does not refer to individual apartments and does say that "most" have air conditioning although all have ceiling fans. As the apartments are advertised as self contained it is expected that guests will provide their own supplies and as a courtesy to arriving guests we supply a "starter" pack only. We are happy to see that you did enjoy the gardens and pool area and the location of the Resort and look forward to your return visit. Please make sure to mention exactly what your requirements are so that we can make sure to accommodate your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.7 mi away
Yamba Sun Motel
Yamba Sun Motel
#3 of 11 in Yamba
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Property: The Sands Resort
Address: 20-21 Pacific Pde, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT Resort Accommodation in Yamba!•Lap pool (SUITABLE FOR TRAINING) with splash area catering for smaller children•Outdoor entertaining areas and barbeques •Large Leisure Centre pool•Outdoor heated spa •Two Tennis courts •Security parking, mostly undercover• Easy walking to shopping, golf club, bowls club and general sights of Yamba. Free WIFI in the Leisure Centre and set within tropical gardens - paradise on the beach! A welcome pack is available on arrival to get you started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing