We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Trujillo, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for five days at the end of July. The room was spacious and clean. The kitchen had everything you needed. Our can opener broke one night and the receptionist came to our door, collected the can, and took it over to the restaurant to open it for us. The next morning they delivered a new can opener. Every appliance operated as expected including the heating unit and the spa. A lovely addition was the enclosed verandah with the super comfy day bed. The pool was way too cold for swimming but lounging in the sun was pleasant. We ordered room service one night which was delivered very quickly.
The tourist information area was sadly lacking in tourist information. My friend used the gym every day. I didnt try the wifi but phone reception wasnt very clear.

Very pleasant and relaxing stay. Super helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    168
    73
    20
    17
See reviews for
95
208
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had just come from the Paradise Palms Resort at Cairns so it was a good comparison. This place was far far better in every respect except that it lacked a golf course!!! Better, bigger, cleaner rooms with plenty of space and light. The decks are screened for sandflys and mossies which we were told are a problem in warmer weather. We had no problems and enjoyed being one of the few guests in the Resort at the time. It was wonderfully quiet, peaceful and private. (Although they advise you to do your own washing up or pay, our dishes were finished and tidied away for us on day 2 - and we appreciated it) The landscaping is well done and allows short walks around the property into a small section of rainforest, past tennis courts and over to the restaurant which has a bar and snooker table. Speaking of restaurants, we had 2 meals there, they were both excellent. The service was very professional and friendly, food very good, especially for a resort restaurant. Fresh fish, slow cooked lamb and little leek pies were delicious. And thank you to the cleaner who found our left behind luggage before we'd left town.

Room Tip: Go off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We organised a 3 day family get away to Yamba and thought we'd book and stay at the Angourie Resort, the reviews weren't all that bad. We arrived to check in, all good and well the lady at reception was lovely. We got to our room expecting a sofa to be made up for our 3 year old as we previously discussed with reception when booking the room. We got settled in and went back to reception and asked for bedding to use for the sofa, she replied "that'll be an extra cost charged to your credit card"! My partner discussed with the lady that we'd already paid the extra cost, but if it was going to be a problem not to worry about it and he'd sleep with us, we weren't going to be charged again for a 3 year that wouldn't take up any room, so she handed over the sheets and said there would be no extra cost... Meanwhile the nights had been cold up there so we turned the heater on to warm the room up, the next morning our 3 year old woke up with a runny nose & a cough, my partner and I also sick (I'm 30 weeks pregnant) so I felt like I'd been hit by a truck. Trying to get everyone better and get out to the fresh air. We ended the day with a hot spa, while filling the bath up and turning the jets on a whole lot of mould come out of the jets, we were shocked. Day 3. once again we all woke up the same again. My partner jumped up and looked at the air con filters they were riddled with mould, so unhygienic and gross we went straight to reception and asked management to get the cleaners to fix the problem. We left the apartment and returned a few hours later to find the cleaners had only wiped the blades over on the air con not removing the mould, by this time we were all over it. We decided to just stay it out as we had paid good money to stay. Got a bottle of coke out of the mini bar it was flat it was out of date since March. That was it we packed up went to reception checked out and all the could say was sorry! Not offer us anything in return. Would recommend this place at all. Very unhappy!!! Now we're left with a very sick 3 year old.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloe*mackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment on a two night Groupon deal which was good value for money. The apartment was great - spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen and nice balcony area. The bathroom was the only room that perhaps let it down a little - although there was a lovely big spa bath, it could all have done with a bit of updating, to match the rest of the modern apartment.

The pool area was great, lots of loungers and separate children's pool. We got some sunshine on our second day so luckily had the chance to relax by the pool with a couple of drinks in the afternoon. The loungers are very comfortable!

We didn't use the bar or restaurant during our stay so can't comment on those, but they looked lovely.

Couldn't get the wifi to work the entire time, or a phone signal, which was a little bit annoying. We called reception a few times about the wifi but they'd had no other reports of any problems, and didn't seem to be in a position to fix things so we just gave up in the end. There was a hard wire connection in the bedroom which we were able to use with our laptop, but obviously this isn't ideal if all you have is a tablet or smart phone.

I think using the name "rainforest resort" is a little misleading, giving the impression of a secluded retreat - but it's very close to the main road and townships of Yamba / Angourie, so not really what we expected in terms of the location. Nevertheless, we had a lovely relaxing time and enjoyed use of the apartment. Not sure I would be giving quite the same review if we'd paid full price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I expected more of the resort but was generally happy with our stay - was touted as 4.5 star but I'd say more a 3.5. Room was clean and basic, but like many reviews here very difficult to heat with the loft style ceilings. Good facilities for families. I called before we arrived to check if they had free WIFI for business reasons, and when we arrived the free wifi was only for one hour and you had to pay thereafter - would have been nice to have been told - this is not even listed on their website. We accidentally left a shirt behind and received a call letting us know and asking if we wanted them to send it COD. I would have thought this does not happen often and they can claim for postage of small items - I have been charged $20 postage!
Very disappointed with the restaurant and have left a separate review.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I took my whole family away for six days - my wife, three daughters, their husbands and all our grandchildren (aged from 5 to 23) - 14 people altogether - to enjoy my 80th birthday in a gorgeous quiet setting with lots of space, beautiful surroundings and lots to do. Angourie Rainforest Resort proved to be ideal and met or exceeded all of our objectives. Nearby Yamba and the surrounding countryside provided us with fishing on the Clarence,, horse riding, cycling, golf, wonderful bush walking and a not to be missed ferry trip across to Iluka.

The service was perfect - friendly, quiet and unobtrusive - nothing was too much trouble. The resort and its huge range of family friendly facilities was spotlessly clean and safe for little people on bicycles or emulating world cup soccer, while the individual family villas, pleasantly appointed and equipped, were perfect for those who wanted to read a book quietly or, in the case of my sons-in-law, keep in touch by WiFi on the latest business news.

The birthday dinner in the resort's Cunjevoi Restaurant was perfection; it could not have been more nicely done with beautiful food to suit all tastes.

All in all this was a very special experience and I applaud and thank all at Angourie Rainforest Resort for a most memorable family experience.

Room Tip: Look at the resort map on the website and select your room to suit your needs and tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The kids loved the resort with the playground and the pool, they headed off to the playground first thing in morning and went back to it after our activities during the day. The pad itself was a great layout although the heating was not really up to scratch during our winter stay and they didn't have doonas just blankets so we were quite cold during the night. Maybe they weren't prepared for how cold it was going to be. It had everything except a broom for cleaning the floors but I thought they probably came round and did that during the week but that didn't happen, so I would suggest supplying a broom for each room maybe. We had a car and found it was close to everything we needed but it would have been expensive to hire a bike for everything you wanted to do at $10 each for half a day. The extras for everything, eg dishwashing powder and extra coffee or tea were a little extreme, I'm assuming they get these things quite cheap so it would be nice to pass that on to their customers. All in all we had a great time and would recommend it to other people, although the rainforest is not huge, it was a nice setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne_A88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
1.3 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#5 of 11 in Yamba
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angourie Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angourie Rainforest Resort

Property: Angourie Rainforest Resort
Address: 166 Angourie Rd, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia (Formerly Australis Angourie Rainforest Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angourie Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angourie Rainforest Resort located in Yamba, New South Wales is a coastal oasis adjacent to the sand dunes of pristine Flat Rock Beach, between the famous Angourie surf beach and the village of Yamba - voted the #1 Town in Australia. Multi-award winning 4.5 star Angourie Rainforest Resort nestled beside 600 hectares of open forest containing remnant littoral rainforest, is an exclusive eco-friendly retreat. The resort offers a uniquely Australian holiday experience for the professional family, couples and the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Angourie Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angourie Hotel Yamba
Angourie Resort Yamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing