We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Young
Sydney
Level Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good motel”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Decent, clean and comfortable accommodation.
No surprises and no frills.
A couple of kilometres out of town so if you want to drink up big over dinner in town, you need to drive - not walking distance.
A bit expensive at $140/night without breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
30
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I celebrated our Christmas party here, with our group of motorcyclists. The rooms were clean and on entering the room our noses were greeted with a lovely aroma within the room.
The rooms had everything required, bar fridge, tea, coffee, fresh milk (not the long life sachets) and the greeting at reception was warm. The cleaning staff were only too happy to give us extra towels, soap if required.
They have a restaurant called "Elevation"and our Christmas food was delicious and beautifully presented. We cannot fault the waiting staff at all.
Our thanks go to Peter, David, Amy and Meg for the wonderful food and our wonderful receptionist. They could not have done more for our group and we look forward to staying with them again.
Peter organised for a few of us to visit a working cherry farm, and we were able to watch the cherries being picked, sorted, washed, packed and then we were able to buy some! Truly the best cherries you could taste and top quality, plump and lush, supermarket cherries do not hold a cracker to these!
True country hospitality and Five Star Rating.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the wonderful country hospitality in Young, where ever you visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bixandlites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The best motel in Young without question. The location is perfect, the staff are first rate, and the food is nothing short of excellent. I loved the spacious room and the layout of the motel itself. The intimate country style restaurant really made our stay. Intending guests are advised to book well ahead, as this motel is one of the very few that can boast 100% occupancy for most of the year, and deserves its success.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We ensured our motoring trip included a night at Hilltops as we'd enjoyed our previous stay here and weren't disappointed. The rooms are clean, spacious and well-appointed. We had a delicious dinner at the motel's restaurant. Recommend the motel and restaurant to anyone looking for good, country accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maree m, Owner at Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey and your glowing comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you again, is a good feeling when guests return and I hope to meet you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We took our elderly Mother home to see her Family. The staff and management went above and beyond to make Mum's stay a comfortable, including providing special meals and a shower chair . My husband and I shared a Wonderful meal in their Restaurant and a very comfortable nights rest. This was made even more important as it ended up being Mum's last trip home and it was made so very lovely for her.
Thanks again to all the Staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maree m, Owner at Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your mother got to enjoy her last visit. Thank you for choosing Hilltops Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I cannot put my finger on it but cannot rate as outstanding. In a relatively quiet area although can hear larger vehicles travel along road during night. Welcome OK. Large grounds surround motel to walk around.
Rooms very large and well-appointed with mini-bar available (if you like this sort of thing. )Bathroom well set out and area big as well.Restaurant for dinner available most nights and breakfast.
Pool available for use during summer months
Motel located 2 kms out of town

Room Tip: All rooms - 15 I believe- are good as well away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prowler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We needed a motel about half way between Byron Bay and Melbourne and Young was the lucky location. The motel was well credentialed and it lived up to its reputation. Comfortable rooms, with some Foxtel, free Internet (although it wasn't working when we were there), restaurant. We dined in the restaurant which was quite good but quite pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Young hotels
1.8 mi away
Cherry Blossom Motel
1.5 mi away
Young Federation Motor Inn
1.7 mi away
Town House Motor Inn
Town House Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Young
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Colonial Motel and Serviced Apartments
1.3 mi away
Goldrush Motel
Goldrush Motel
#6 of 6 in Young
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn

Property: Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn
Address: 4662 Olympic Hwy S, Young, New South Wales 2594, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Young
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Young
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Property is a country motel 2klms from town center, in a rural setting, on a hill. Hilltops Retreat is a highly rated three & half star motel, very quiet and safe. It is 2kms south from the shopping centre on the Olympic Highway, situated on a hill and a five acre block. There are 14 refurbished and clean rooms, a quiet rural setting. Mini bars are available with complementary teas & coffee. Park at your door and enjoy the quiet country area. Salt water pool and barbeque facilities are available and large grassed areas are available for the children to run around. Why not visit the Museum, chinese gardens and cherry orchards in November & December. Elevation Restaurant is situated with the Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn The Restaurant has undergone a refurbishment providing relaxed, quiet dining with a bar for the pre dinner drink and a fireplace for the cold winter night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing