We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uepi Island Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ropiko Beach Resort(Gatokae Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
114
17
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishother guestsreef sharksmarovo lagoondive shopsashimidive sitesno hot waterbreakfast and dinnercrabcakebeachfront bungalowcoral gardensgreat divingceiling fanbiscuitsplunger coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just loved this place. It was all we expected and more. On the Island as snorkellers only we were able to swim with the reef sharks, sea turtles and Manta Rays. It truly was surreal the nature we saw. Off the Island we walked to Waterfalls and had a vilage visit to Chea where the people were so welcoming and proud. Uepi Islands staff were fantastic, peaceful and happy people - of course! because they live in paradise.... The part owners of the resort Jill and Grant are more keen for you to enjoy yourself than to try and push you to do numerous excursions etc.
Really interesting people. We would love to go back with the kids and see some more of the Western Province area and share another Uepi experience.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bungalow is the way to go. We stayed in #2
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Swimming with Manta rays & snorkelling with black tip tiger sharks…all before breakfast…we are at a magical place called Uepi. Located a 30min boat ride from Seghe airport, Uepi is another Solomon Island paradise. We stayed in one of the beach bungalows that face onto the lagoon. The bungalows are a good size with excellent verandah with hammock. There are tea/coffee facilities & a refrigerator that is always cold as there is power for 24 hours a day. Three meals a day are included in the price. The breakfast runs for 3 hours which gives you a chance to indulge in your favourite activity before breakfast. Lunch is delivered to your deck & dinner is a three course meal at 7pm each night. The staff are very well trained in all aspects of their jobs & are helpful, friendly & happy. The snorkelling is fantastic with the choice of going straight off the jetty or out on a boat to be dropped at some snorkelling mecca. Our diving friends loved their diving experience as well. As well as the obvious diving & snorkelling there are other activities such as paddleboats, kayaks, fishing, walking trail (need good shoes), volleyball court, basketball ring, darts, library & massage. A really nice touch is going to the bar to buy your drinks and they put them in a little esky with ice to ensure you can enjoy the coldest Solbrew on your bungalow deck. This place has a great feel & is all about service so our 2.5 days/3 nights was just not enough….

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is clear that the owners and their family love this place and have got it all together. They run an extremely well organised operation whilst at the same time providing work and support to the residents of the Marovo Lagoon. This is a bucket list destination without doubt.
We stayed in one of the units which was clean, comfortable, spacious and very well appointed. We were made welcome right from the start and given all the information about how to make the most of our stay in a brief ‘induction’ when we arrived.
Meals were fantastic, cooked to perfection, making the most of fresh local produce. We feasted on fresh fish, lobster, mud crab, local fruits and vegetables along with delicious cakes and desserts. Special dietary needs were taken care of.
The waters are clean and there is fantastic snorkeling right off the house reef and well organised dive and snorkel trips to nearby areas offering a diverse water experience. We were lucky enough to see the huge manta rays and also enjoyed the spectacular snorkeling and dive sites all in instant or quick boat access from the resort. Would I come back to this place – Absolutely!
Remember to bring quality unwanted clothes, books, sheets and towels and so on to leave with the locals who will really appreciate your kind donations.

Room Tip: From what we could see, all of the rooms are spacious and well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ausigirlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very comfortable 4 1/2 hour flight from Brisbane all the way to Seghe [with a stop in Honiara and a short walk to domestic] . After a wonderful scenic, comfortable boat trip I arrived with a group of Kayakers for a week of paddling on Marovo Lagoon. We where all greeted with a fruit welcome drink and this friendly family welcome continued for the entire week. All food is local cooked with great skill.
What makes the difference at this resort is the money you spend here stays here . All the staff are local , working one week on and 1 week home in a local village out on the lagoon.
The staff are so proud of their surroundings their history and their Lagoon.
Buy visiting you are really making a difference to so many familes lives. Please do not put it off any longer . This paradise cannot stay hidden for much longer.

Room Tip: All CABINs have out door area surrounded by beautiful orchid gardens with sea views . Lunch is served each day on your own patio.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was there in 2013, I found the island quiet and very slow. The food was ok, but I found the idea of eating in my room and then taking my empty tray back a bit average. The dive crew were great, but being only to be able to dive twice a day, and then told by the owner that it was so the dive guides didn't have to danger themselves I find a bit hard to take. This area is great and with the price and the amount of effort it take to get there it should be more for the divers who pay to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews