We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hometown watering hole!”
Review of Scott's by Dam

Scott's by Dam
Ranked #8 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A tiny little place-really a small bar-recommended to us by a local who we stopped on the street. Best tacos, ice cold draft beer, an way low prices.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hometown watering hole!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I can't say enough about this place. The food was excellent (tacos of course) and the beer was cold. The owner, Scott, went out of his way to make you feel welcome. Very attentive staff and fairly priced menu.
Many of the Tomahawk players came here after the game with their parents to eat and BS about their big win. The head coach even came there to grab a bite. He honestly took the time to talk to almost everyone in the restaurant.
The place is small but I wouldn't change it for anything. Perfect place to hole up and drink a beer (or two) and get a great bite to eat. We will definitely be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PSUfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The tacos here had great reviews so we had to try them. The large is very large! The taco soft shells are hand made and delicious but I wasn't so keen on my filling of teriyaki chicken wasn't as good as I'd hoped but they had great beer!. The owners and locals were very friendly. A cool little place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debby t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
231 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“excellant local bar”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Don't miss the Taco's at Scott's by Dam! This is a great local bar that has served the community for many years. You have to stop to get a feel of the city

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
“Fantastic "mom n pop"”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hubby and I found this restaurant while visiting Johnstown. Fantastic food (the tacos are their house specialty!) and the family that runs the restaurant is spectacular. Personable and friendly. We will continue to go back after our relocation to Johnstown and bring our guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeMolaysGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tacos”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Recommended by our hotel and it did not disappoint. If you are in the Johnstown are this is a must try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott's by Dam also viewed

 

Been to Scott's by Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing