We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW”

Johnstown Inclined Plane
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built to remove citizens from Johnstown in case of a flood, this is the world's steepest vehicular inclined plane.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

While travelling through PA - we drove through Johnstown and stopped to ride the incline. This is when I learned about the horrible flood that destroyed this beautiful little town. The incline was really cool and my family thoroughly enjoyed it. The historic story about Johnstown was very interesting, as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    114
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
342 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

You get an amazing view of Johnstown & the area!!! Visit the museum and learn about the terrible flood that wiped out the town, very humbling!!! A great place to visit & the ride is very awesome for all ages!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnilouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Married on the Observation Deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Over 10 years ago, we were married on the Observation Deck of the Inclined Plane. We treated our guests on a trip to the bottom where we picked up the Renaissance Trolley to our reception destination. Visited with our son this year to show him where it all began. He loved the Incline and the views it offered. Great experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is by far one of the best scenes of Johnstown. It has an overview of the town and gives some of the history of the Johnstown Flood. Their is a lot of history at the bottom of the Inclined Plane meaning Johnstown and also at the top which is Yoders Hill. I think that the Inclined Plane should be tied in the the Park Service which does alot with the Dam Site and the Flood Museum. There is a small fee to ride the incline but worth it, also you can ride with your vehicle to the top or bottom. And it has a gift shop at the top and a restaurant just a few steps away.
It is known as the World Steepest Vehicular Incline Plane.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyBtrue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A fun side trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were in the area visiting various attractions. Given our interest in all things train, we had to take a ride up on the Inclined Plane. It's steep, fast and very smooth. You can even take your car up. At the top, you can check out the engine house through a window in the souvenir shop. Once you at are at the top, you can climb a little further to a large open park area that has a decent sized playground on one side.

The Inclined Plane attendants were pleasant and the fare not exorbitant. While it's not something you'd go out of your way to visit, if you are in the area, it's worth the detour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ibcgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnstown Inclined Plane also viewed

 

Been to Johnstown Inclined Plane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing