We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service & inconsistent food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asiago Tuscan Italian Restaurant

Asiago Tuscan Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asiago's is a Tuscan Italian restaurant that specializes in using only the freshest ingredients and homemade sauces to create unique appetizers, entrees & desserts. Our upscale Romanesque atmosphere creates the perfect environment for your lunch, dinner, engagement party, anniversary, birthday or what ever the occasion. Located atop the Johnstown Incline with a scenic view of the Johnstown skyline, Asiago's is the perfect choice for all of lifes special moments.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bad service & inconsistent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I think this place has lots of potential, but the service is unreliable. People seem to enjoy the food but I think it was lacking. We have been here a handful of times now, and the food quality was varied each time. Overall the ambiance is nice, and there is a view, if you count the dilapidated 'city' of Johnstown view-worthy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    18
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is lacking in quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have come back now 3 times since it has opened last year, and came to a conclusion last night when we went for appetizers and drinks: It's a wannabe fancy restaurant. It tries too hard to be top of the line and "edgy." I might be too picky about my calamari (being from CA), but this restaurant tried to make it super fancy and just ruined it. It was fried as if it were chicken nuggets and tossed with a weird combination of tomatoes and your usual banana peppers. The waiter thought it was an exciting dish, but it was not! The bread served was cold once again. I ordered a martini which was mostly good but the flavoring tasted a bit like cough syrup.

Maybe if they tried to get better quality in the food, we would come back!

Still good for a date night because the setting is so pretty and romantic.

We love the waiter Nick! He is so nice!! The entire staff seems friendly, actually!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank zemgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

You'd not expect a restaurant this good next to a tourist attraction, but it's one of the city's best. The Mediterranean-style food is quite good, the service is just about the best in town, the décor is near the top, and the view is spectacular. That's because the restaurant is perched into the hillside at the top of the Inclined Plane; a window wall looks east over the city and along the main line of the Norfolk Southern (formerly Pennsylvania) Railroad from the Mid-West to New York City. For history buffs, that's looking toward the path of the great 1889 Johnstown Flood.

The waiter brings flatbread and dipping oil with herbs. The sandwiches are creative, as are most of the entrees. I love the Mediterranean pasta, even without chicken or shrimp. My wife loves the lobster ravioli. A friend loves the gnocchi in garlic sauce. The only thing that ever came close to disappointing was a very popular warm chicken sandwich on ciabatta; mine was a bit dry that day. The bar is cool, and it's between the restaurant and the engine room of the Incline (just beyond a plate glass window).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific food and beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just came from Asiagos. Our kids love the Incline Plane so we went to the visitors shop then to dinner. We had sausage/pasta, crab ravoli, caeser salad, crab dip and our children ordered pasta/meatballs, chicken fingers and fries. Our meal was delicious. Our server was wonderful, refilled bread, drinks without us asking. On top of everthing, great server. The crab dip was as good as Maryland crab dip. They have a good variety of italian meals at a decent price. The atmosphere was romantic, black and white, leather chairs. But they were close together. Overall the meal was great, we all had a nice time, will go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiprob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An OK Dining Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The food quality and service does not match the prices. Bar top serving style, luke warm food and small portions.

Tastes like they need to clean their taps. **Should also ask customers before they dye beer "green" if they have a food dye allergy or be expected to take returned beers that un expectantly show up at the table "Green" - St. Patty's or not - I do not want colored beer.

Our server was fairly young, she did not offer as great of a service as other wait staff working around us. I only knew to ask for the evening's specials due to hearing other wait staff openly offer the information to their customers - but not our girl, she looked surprised that I would ask. I was dining with two men, the waitress served them more and communicated more with them. She even went as far as to bring me the $115.00 - dollar check. Not once did she ask if everything was ok.

The kitchen was directly behind us and open - could hear all the workings and communications with each other bustling behind us.

On a positive note - the caramelized cheesecake was quite good. Would of been nice to be offered coffee or a dessert cocktail.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asiago Tuscan Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Asiago Tuscan Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing