We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & bad service”
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
Ranked #6 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced & bad service”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My boyfriend & I went here for dinner after hearing great things about the food. Local, seasonal & unique. We were excited to try this place. After placing our order of several appetizers & drinks, the food was slow to come. The beer my boyfriend ordered, never came at all. We were one of three tables in the place so I was surprised at the slow service. After tracking down our waitress to get our bill, it finally dawned on her that his drink had never arrived. However, she never checked in on us to tell her otherwise. The food might be unique for the area that's used to fast food & prepackaged meals, but I was not impressed & will not be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 95Daisy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food and service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The owners of this place clearly care about what they're doing. They genuinely seem excited about the fresh ingredients when they describe the menu, which offers a broad selection of choices (from traditional entrees to flatbread pizzas to multiple small side dishes like the onion that everyone talks about). The drink menu is impressive well executed as well. Good food, great service. I guess it can be kind of expensive, but it's worth it if you're looking for a good dining experience in Johnstown.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithPute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed an impromptu meal in this cozy place. ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We were visiting for the concrete canoe competition and used trip advisor to pick a place for dinner. Everything was fresh and local, including the smoked trout appetizer. The mixed drink menu was unique to other places we've been. It's a small but cozy restaurant and the staff was very attentive. We would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
2 Thank VABeachGirl757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Expensive, Good Service, Excellent Food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stopped in while traveling to Johnstown PA. The place is actually just a little neighborhood bar / restaurant but it's nice inside and clean. I have to say this was a bit expensive. The entrees are all "a la carte" and any side dish including bread is extra. Having said that the food portions are quite large and the quality is excellent. Everything was FRESH and cooked to perfection. While enjoying our dinner the chef actually came to our table to make sure everything was o.k., a very nice touch. Our server was very attentive and was quick to refill water or bring us additional drinks ect. Yes this place is expensive but if you want to enjoy something special I think it's worth the cost.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a 100 mile trip to try!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped by on our way from DC to pick up son at IUP.
Excellent service, excellent food and comfortable, casual/elegant atmosphere. You must order the cheesy onion side dish! We will be back. Well done, Back Door Cafe! Did I mention the truffles? A must at the end of your amazing meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing