We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plot of the Unknown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandview Cemetery

Grandview Cemetery
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Plot of the Unknown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you are a visitor to Johnstown, you won't want to miss Grandview cemetary in Old Westmont. The plot of the Unknown, is said to see as they all have the same date and no names. Make sure you also visit the Flood Museum in downtown Johnstown. The movie is well worth watching.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
463 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“I love the history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I love the history of the cemetery. My wife and I try to find all the people that died on May 31th 1889 (Flood year). Some of the sites have some huge stones and the artwork is great.

Coming here one would have to visit the plot of the unknown.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you're on the Flood Tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

There are hundreds of victims of the 1889 flood buried here. I recommend if you are driving that you stop your car by the large marker with the many stones (about 700) of many unidentified victims. It's a sad place to visit, but brings history alive in a way that is otherwise difficult to experience.

After you visit the graves of the unknown, walk in any direction and look for older family plots. You will find dozens of plots where sometimes the entire family was wiped out in the flood. Others tell similar stories with only one or two lost in the flood, but all the gravestones, Mother, Father, Son, Daughter, etc, bear the same date, May 31, 1889.

One note, don't stay in the cemetery after closing hours (posted on the gate). They locked the gate on us without checking to see we were inside. We had to call an emergency number to be let out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Quite the unique cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We like to visit old cemeteries, and have never been to one like this. Walk (or drive) through the property to view the hundreds of stones with the same date of May 31, 1889--the Johnstown Flood. So sobering to see the young and old that lost their lives to the Flood, and then to see the field of stones marking the Unknown Dead. Truly a unique cemetery, and definitely a part of the Flood story to go along with the museums of the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very panoramic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I've been coming to this cemetery since I was a kid. I have a lot of family buried here. Even if you don't know anyone who is buried here, this is still a nice visit. The memorial and burial area for the unknown victims of the flood of 1889 is touching. And the view of the surrounding hillsides as you drive around the cemetery is phenomenal! I had to stop the car so I could get a good look at it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandview Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Grandview Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing