We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky Renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Reviewed 12 July 2011

A well situated hotel, undergoing a $2m renovation, thus allowance should be made for the time you are here, should there be contractors around.

From the amount of residual glue on the new wallpaper, the contractor needs to employ someone who knows how to do the job properly. Sadly, that can't happen for this hotel, and the evidence will be there for years for all to see.

The elevators are dated, slow, and the constant bell ringing out at every floor, is most annoying. Often they ignore the direction you choose to go!

The buisness center is badly positioned and is in effect, a fish bowl design, as everyone looks in, and is situated in front of the elevator, front desk, and passing human traffic. In one 20 minute period, I was interupted three times by people passing by, asking me where this or that was. There is no privacy, especially if you are on the phone.

The staff are very friendly, and accommadating. The rooms are decently sized and comfortable, but the cleaning staff needs to be monitored periodically, as the room we were in was not up to the usual standards of Holiday Inn. I had to ask the maid to use the vacuum cleaner into the corners of the rooms, and polish the surface of the wood on the headboards, grease from previous occupants heads was clearly visible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BHEBfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on our property. I am so glad to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating! We pride ourselves on great customer service, everyday. I am sorry to hear though that you were not impressed with our new property. We do have some finishing touches to make at the hotel both in the public spaces and a few of the guest rooms. I hope these unfinished areas were not too much of a bother to you! It is a very difficult process to renovate a hotel while doing our best to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable, but i can assure you, we are doing our very best. We are still in the renovation stages so i hope you will return again soon to experience the finished product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Before heading to Johnstown and making hotel reservations, I checked to see what was available there. I had read about this hotel thru Tripadvisor and overall I saw that the reviews were generally good. This was a good, clean hotel centrally located in the downtown district. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant on site was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feelings on your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. It is nice to know that our guests are reading and responding on Trip Advisor! Customer reviews are so very important in our industry and I am happy to hear that our previous guests have helped assure you that the Holiday Inn in Johnstown is a top notch hotel who is extremely driven by our guests needs. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you will return again soon! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I wanted to thank the Holiday Inn staff for making mine and my husband's wedding day extra special. The staff went out of their way to make sure our day went smooth and that everything we asked for was taken care of. From the limo driver to the check out person in the morning, everyone was fabulous. Carl the limo driver was always early to pick up everyone in the wedding party and he never mind waiting if he had to, he was prompt, courteous and kind. The suite the Holiday Inn provided for us was huge, it provided more than enough space for me and my wedding party to get ready. The room was decorated beautifully with a modern flare. The Holiday Inn Staff prepared the dining room per our request to the tee. From the centerpieces on the table to the candy bar and from the goodie baskets in the restrooms to luminars in the hall way. The team provided excellent service with a smile on their faces, they were all so eager to please and be attentive to our needs. Several of our attendants commented on how beautiful the tables looked, how delicious the food tasted and how courteous the staff was. Missy (Banquet Manager) was always around if we need something, she checked on us constantly to make sure everything was alright. She was absolutely amazing, she was a kind and caring person. We can’t thank the Holiday Inn team enough for all they have done to make our wedding day special.

We also have to give a “special thank you”, to Amy Toth (Catering Sales & Wedding Specialist), my gosh there are no words to describe how kind, caring and helpful she was in providing such one on one assistance in helping plan our wedding celebration. Thank you so much for being there to answer any questions we may have had and for making sure all of our special requests and needs were met. We thank Amy and the complete Holiday Inn staff for being such wonderful and amazing people not only to us, but to all the attendants that attended our wedding celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiths12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for allowing the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown to be the host location for such a special event! I am thrilled to hear that it couldn't have been more perfect for you. I will be sure to share your kind words with the Management and Staff. I hope the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown will be your choice location for upcoming events for you and your new family! Take care & congratulations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel was comfortable and the staff - for the most part - friendly and helpful. The restaurant (according to signage) is not operated by the hotel. The food is horrendously bad (as in, I got sick). Undercooked, overcooked, greasy, salty and/or "We're out of ________." Overpriced, to boot. You're better off venturing to a sandwich or pizza shop. There simply isn't much in downtown Johnstown, and the Holiday Inn restaurant is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadgeOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am terribly sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit to Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, located in the Holiday Inn Downtown. We do strive to be the best restaurant in the Johnstown area, offering a long list of menu options and some of the best wine choices in the county. I hate to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her visit to Harrigan's or the Hotel and I would love it if you would consider revisiting the restaurant and giving us another chance to show you what terrific food and service we do have here at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to come by again sometime soon. 814-361-2623.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is really the only hotel in downtown Johnstown (that I saw, at least), but they don't take advantage of that to slack off on service. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. The rooms have been remodeled and now all have small refirgerators and microwaves - a real plus in my book. The lobby renovations are in progress so you have to go around some construction, but the workers are very mindful of guests and it is not a problem. My only concern was that the hotel restaurant seemed somewhat high priced for the area. But the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsyjean117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thanks so much Patsy, for posting your thoughts on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We have been working so hard to bring the hotel up to our customer expectations. The renovations have been a trying time for the hotel and for the customers alike, but we truly appreciate you and all of our visitors for bearing with us and being so positive through the whole process. I am glad to say that the final touches are being added to the lobby and within the next few days, it too will be complete! I hope that you will revisit us again soon to experience the NEW Holiday Inn Downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a basketball tournament and this is where we always stay as a group. The pool area is great to hang out in and the hotel location is close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandermarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We love having sports teams and groups of all kinds at the Holiday Inn Downtown! I am happy to hear that the amenities we have here, like the swimming pool, were a hit with your group. I hope your team will return soon! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I have stayed here twice since May 2011 and have been very pleased with the hotel so far. The hotel is undergoing renovation, but this did not cause a problem with my stay whatsoever. The staff has been very helpful, and the restaurant is nice. The rooms are very clean, and have free high-speed internet. The parking is free. The location is convenient and was approximately 2 miles from Conemaugh Medical Center where I have been working. My husband and 3 year accompanied me on both of my stays in May and again in June. The hotel offered a special which included tickets to local museums and attractions. My daughter loved the Discovery Center. Kids eat free in the restaurant, which is a very nice feature. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEatons7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear Eaton Family, thank you so much for your continued business at the Holiday Inn Downtown! I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying the amenities that we offer to our customers like free parking and free wireless high-speed internet. If your family needs anything during your upcoming stays with us, please don’t hesitate to ask. Have a great summer! We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
122 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
407 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Johnstown
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
105 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
695 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville at Chestnut Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Address: 250 Market Street, Johnstown, PA 15901-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing