We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Game/Date Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location for a Johnstown Tomahawk's game and a fun night out. If you are in the Central PA area and want to enjoy a clean, comfortable stay and catch a hockey game, this Holiday Inn is the place for you.
The War Memorial is only a stone's throw from the hotel and the parking couldn't be more convenient. There is a $5 charge for parking though.
We had a few drinks at the hotel lounge. Although we didn't eat there, the menu looked great and the atmosphere was classy. The hotel and restaurant staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The away team also stays at this hotel so be careful how much "heckling" you do at the game, it could come back to bite you later.
One can't forget that Slap Shot was filmed here which adds to the hockey experience. Although downtown isn't the most happening place, there are a few small ma and pa establishments that won't disappoint. Although the inclined plane was not in full swing, it is only a few blocks away.
The only downside to this hotel is the price. We paid around $166 for the evening. I feel it was a little too pricy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSUfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear PSUfan158,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We were so happy to have you in our hotel. Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! I am happy that our location in the Johnstown business and entertainment district was helpful to you. The staff and management here at the Holiday Inn really strive to provide the amenities that our guests love. Providing feedback from your stay really helps us to perfect future guest experiences. I hope that you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel on Market Street is clean and modern. The rooms are large and have a small refrigerator and a microwave. This hotel is in the middle of town which makes it convenient to everything. It's just a short drive to route 56.

Rooms are clean and large. Bathrooms are also a nice size and have all of the typical Holiday Inn toiletries. The room has a large flat screen TV.

A parking garage is available but was not needed for this trip.

Room was under $100.00 per night which included all taxes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusdriverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear BusdriverPhil,

Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We greatly appreciate your business and the time it took you to post this review. It is through the feedback of our valued customers that we can perfect future guest experiences. Our management and staff appreciate your business and we hope that you will be able to return soon to truly experience what makes us one of the Great Hotels that Guests Love!

Hope to see you soon!
Melissa Bird – Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Can be had at the Holiday Inn Downtown. I would highly recommend this location for those traveling with children or dogs, as the motel accommodated both very well. We had two dogs in our room with little fanfare and at a reasonable rate of $30.00 per dog per night. The pool was a big hit with the kids. The location was ideal for our purposes - centrally located in downtown Johnstown and a short walk to the vehicular and local eating/drinking establishments.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikinigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear kikinigel,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown and for sharing your feedback! We love to hear from our guests! I’m so thrilled to read you had a pleasant stay and the kids loved the pool. Please consider coming back to see us when you are in town. We’d enjoy seeing you again. Thank you again.

Happy New Year!
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very convenient, clean, and comfortable. Needed a place to stay while in town for an early a.m. hockey game. Just seconds to the War Memorial, and only 5.6 miles to Planet Ice. Parking garage was nice for the fact that I did not have to clean snow and ice off of my car early in the a.m. There is a $5.00 parking fee but well worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaC5246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear LisaC5246,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown while in town for the hockey game. We do appreciate your business, as well as the time it took to post this review. With the snow in town this past weekend, I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the parking garage. Hope to see you again next time the team is in town. Thanks again for your business and review.

Take Care and Happy Holiday!
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My boyfriend and I were in johnstown for two days visiting family and stayed here. We arrived around 5pm in a hail/snow storm after a 5 hour drive and was very pleased that the hotel lobby was clean, well lit, and warm. The front desk staff were very curteous and friendly, but they did not mention anything about the extremely large number of military personelle that were at the hotel that weekend. I am a recent military veteran myself and so is my boyfriend so we wouldn't have cared either way... If they had not given us a room right next to the fire escape on the second floor, which seemed to be ONLY occupied by military, who had a room party and opened and closed the fire escape door (very loud) ALL night long both nights. :/ as we were only staying for 2 nights we didn't feel like going through the trouble of changing rooms. I'm not sure if this is a MEPS hotel for that area or if there was some sort of function but for $230 for two nights I expected it to at least be quiet. The room was clean and well furnished. We had a view of the roof and an ugly generator of some sort but we weren't there for the view so we didnt care. We ate both nights at the hotels restaurant, the food was excellent but pricey the service was great we had the lead server (it was on his name tag) and he was wonderful at explaining the menu. We'll stay here again but will call ahead next time to make sure there are no parties!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Alisha M,

Thank you to you and your boyfriend for your recent military service – we appreciate your sacrifice and dedication. Thank you also for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. I’m pleased to read you were happy with our front desk staff, lobby and restaurant. Jonathan is a wonderful server – I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to the management team.

To protect the privacy of our guests, our staff does not share information with other guests regarding groups staying at the hotel. I do apologize that the guests we had in the hotel were disturbing your stay. Please call the front desk in the future so that the staff can address the situation – we want all of our guests to enjoy their stays. Our guest service representatives will be happy to move rooms for you next time if rooms are available so that you may enjoy a great night’s sleep.

Thank you again for your stay and review – we value your business and the time it took to post this review. I do hope you will consider staying with us again! Happy Holidays!

Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

They've continued to improve this hotel and it shows. Front desk was a little stand offish. But we had our room and didn't leave. Everything worked and it was fine. We were in and out for biz. It's a fine hotel with large rooms and hvac that works.

Room Tip: both towers are fine. If you're booking the presidential suite, also get the 3 other connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear jacksondc,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. We greatly appreciate your business, as well as the time it took for you to post this review. I’m thrilled to read you love our renovations! Please keep us in mind anytime you are travelling in Johnstown – we’d love to have you stay with us again!

Enjoy your Holiday Season! Kindest Regards,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Centrally located this renovated hotel provided quite a decent stay. With newer choices just 5 minutes off the city centre located closer to malls and restaurants, it very much depends on what your needs are. I had a very good service in-and-out and rooms were kept clean although in clear need for remodeling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriano757702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Adriano757702,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown! We certainly appreciate your business, and value your feedback. I’m happy to read your service was great. We hope you will visit us again soon! Take care.

Thanks Again,
Melissa Bird
Group Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
422 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 7 in Johnstown
108 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
106 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
658 reviews
22.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Address: 250 Market St, Johnstown, PA 15901-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing