We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay if you have to be in johnstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
nj
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“okay if you have to be in johnstown”
Reviewed 18 October 2006

nice place - clean - but downtown where this is located has no nightlife - so you're pretty much stuck in the hotel - no outside restaurants, ice cream , anything to walk to - and the fromt desk has no idea about anything in the area or restaurants to choose from, etc - and stay away from the special "diet" menu in the hotel - smallest portions i have ever seen for too much money - otherwise it is a good, clean hotel and if that's what is important to you & you need to be here, you'll do okay

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
joisey-joe,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on our hotel. It is through our guests reviews that we are able to create a create guest experience here at the Holiday Inn Downtown. I can assure you that your comments have already changes our training programs. We have now enhanced our front desk training and equipped our Guest Service Representatives with adequate information and maps to help our guests get out and experience Johnstown. Our management and staff appreciate your business and we hope that you will be able to return soon to experience the changes that you helped to facilitate. Hope to see you soon!
Cassie Malloy – Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    98
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
74
39
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

This was the second leg of a Pennsylvania trip to visit friends and family. My wife and I stayed at this property before and were happy with it--the same held true this time.

The property compares favorably to other Holiday Inns I have stayed at. The hotel restaurant is actually pretty good (although not terribly innovative--this is Johnstown). My wife had an issue with one dish on our previous visit (salmon needed to be sent back, wasn't quite cooked through). No issues this time at all.

The lounge is pleasant--nice place to come and relax. Very accomodating when we wanted to get a light meal and a drink each. Friendly people. However, quite a few of the patrons smoke...but you can usually find a spot where that is less of an issue.

Rooms have been very nice--our King room included a microwave and refrigerator. We were recognized as Priority Club members, which was nice (we don't have status in the program, but they still seemed to care).

We will no doubt return the next time we come to Johnstown.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
burnessis ,
Thank you so much for your great review of our property. The Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown prides itself on our ability to provide our guests with the accommodations that our business travelers value. It is our continued goal to provide 100% customer satisfaction and to be a great hotel that our guests love. I hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Sincerely,
Cassie L. Malloy – Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2006

We had to attend a funeral and when I called the hotel for rates, they asked what brought me to Johnstown. I told them and right away they offered a bereavement rate! It was a savings! Upon entering the lobby I sensed a smell of chlorine which I later found out that the pool was right off the lobby. Check in was pleasant and informative. The hotel appears to be an older one but may have been renovated over the last few years. Hallways were alittle dark but clean. Our room was fine, beds were already turned down upon our arrival. Room ammenities were in order; bathroom was clean; soap was tiny. The only thing I did not like was the shower liner that was too long and dragged in the tub.
We had the breakfast buffet the next morning which was fair and not extensive. I should have ordered off the menu; service was pleasant. To sum up not a bad little hotel in Johnstown! Will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown. I think you will be happy to know that we are continuing to update our property and as always, striving for 100% guest satisfaction. I would like to thank you for such a kind review of our property. I hope that you and your family will return again soon.
Best Regards!
Cassie L. Malloy - Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2006

I accompanied my husband on a recent business trip to the Johnstown area. Even Trip Advisor didn't have a whole lot of ideas (shocking, LOL) so we made reservations for one night at the Downtown Holiday Inn. We ended up staying for 3 nights! The resteraunt is great, the pool nice and clean, always fresh towels and the staff in general is polite and helpful. Room service was good, arrived promptly and the food was more than acceptable. They ask when you order room service if it's OK to add a 15% gratuity, I imagine you can refuse but I never did. We were in roon 507, smoking, but you'd never know it when we first opened the door or even out in the hallway when we stepped off the elevator. It was a king room, very clean and well stocked with toiletries and towels. While my husband worked, I walked around downtown and found all sorts of things to do besides the Flood Museum, which was very interesting as well. There is a really neat candy store right across from the Holiday Inn where they have candy I hadn't seen since I was a kid. They had a piano player in the bar Saturday night, he was good, and every time we ate at the hotel it looked as though the place was crowded with locals, always a good sign in a hotel dining room. Water pressure wasn't terrific, maybe because we were on the 5th floor but it was adequate, nothing really bad. All in all, the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown is a nice place, who'd have thought you could find such a gem in such a little town? This hotel is much nicer than your typical Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
bean,
Thank you so much for such a terrific review of our hotel and restaurant! The staff and management here at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown, appreciate your business very much and truly enjoy going the extra step to make our customers feel at home. It is through positive comments like those in your review that assures us that we are making a difference in the lives of our guests. I appreciate you taking the extra time out of your day to provide us with your feedback. I look forward to you staying with us again.
Have a great day!
Cassie Malloy – Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2006

The hotel was the perfect place for a weekend getaway! My partner and I reatly enjoyed our spacious room and helpful staff, they even helped in ordering flowers for when we arrived. The restrant is very classy and has wonderful food and GREAT deserts!! Check with the hotel for Package deals that they offer including the flood museam, history center and incline plane. ready to stay again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lbeguy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
I am so happy to hear that your stay was a great one! We here at the Holiday Inn Downtown Johnstown enjoy getting feedback from our guests, as it helps us to perfect each guest experience. The staff and management take great pride in providing the amenities that you and all of our customers seem to appreciate so much, such as Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck and our great desserts! We do have some great new packages too, like our Great Date Package, which is great for a weekend getaway with your loved one. I hope that you have a chance to check it out!
Take care and thanks again!,
Cassie Malloy - Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I really enjoyed my Saturday night stay at the Johnstown Holiday Inn. Normally, I'd bid on Priceline, but since they added the Holiday Inn Express to the zone, and that hotel is at least several miles away in Richland, I decided to book the HI, just to be sure I was in downtown.
Check in took two minutes with a polite and organized girl at the front desk. The hotel had a wedding reception and a busload of hockey players, but I never heard a thing.
Parking is free in their lot and garage. You can get a full breakfast (eggs, bacon, juice, coffee, biscuit) from room service for under $10!
Bottom line -- very clean, quiet, nicely furnished, great restaurant -- Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lvs2cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
luvs2cruz,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your honest opinion and your business very much. The Holiday Inn DowntownJohnstown takes pride in providing 100% guest satisfaction everyday. It is through the feedback of our valued customers that we can perfect future guest experiences. Thank you again for taking time out of your day to help us make the Holiday Inn Downtown one of the great hotels guests love!
I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Cassie Malloy - Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2005

The Holiday Inn in Johnstown is a very nice hotel with free parking, an indoor pool, fine restaurant and near the inclined plane and other tourist locations. When in Johnstown, take to plane to City Place restaurant. Breathtaking views. I would striongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmalloy250, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Bones57,
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel! I am so happy that you enjoy your visits to Johnstown. I am glad that the location of our hotel is convenient for your travels. I hope that you will be back to stay with us soon!
Have a great day!
Cassie L. Malloy - Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
399 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
120 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Johnstown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
105 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
662 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blairsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
Address: 250 Market St, Johnstown, PA 15901-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Route 56 in downtown, the recently renovated Holiday Inn Johnstown-Downtown provides the surroundings and hospitality to make your stay a memorable one. Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck offers a casual atmosphere and delectable menu of classic American & Italian cuisines. Enjoy a favorite drink and snack in Harrigan's Lounge. 159 Beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites feature amenities including an in-room microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and full-size ironing board. The Holiday Inn offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Johnstown Holiday Inn is conveniently located to: Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center, Cambria County War Memorial, Greater Johnstown Technology Park, Johnstown Flood Museum, Incline Plane and the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown. Close proximity to DRS Laurel Technologies, Lockheed Martin Corporation, and Memorial Medical Center. Our experienced staff will go the distance with a 3,519 square feet Crown Ballroom of function space for banquets, receptions and meetings for groups up to 350. Four distinctive meeting rooms, catering services, and A\V equipment are available. The Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel. The Conference Center has 31,895 square feet of available space, which can accommodate many large groups visiting the Johnstown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing