We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a cozy bear in a cave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jones Mills
Monkerai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like a cozy bear in a cave”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed in the Bear's Den suite, so the review mostly covers that space.
Generally the accommodation is good. We stayed to visit FallingWater, which is about 25mins away. We also did quite a bit of hiking, lots of nature reserves within half an hour drive.(we visited in December) .
There is a mini zoo out the back of the cabins, which was closed when we were there. There is the Indian Creek Valley trail behind the place so you can go hiking from your accommodation without having to drive, which is nice in the land of car. There is also a massive giftshop and saddlery complete with some of the quirkiest kitsch ever.
Complimentary were shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and face cleansing wipes in the bathroom. In the kitchen coffee, sugar and powdered creamer.
We had complimentary breakfast because we were in a suite. This had great fresh bagels with a toaster and cream cheeze provided, also fresh pastries, french toast, muffins, donuts. All types of cereals in little packets, milk, oatmeal, grits all in packets. Bread for toast, juice, fruit coffee, tea, hot choc. SO it is a good all american pre-packaged breakfast extravaganza.
The Bear's Den suite was great for us. It has three bedrooms, all well insulated for sound ( we travell with twin 2yos) . Plus a huge living area with hot tub, massive TV, lounge area, open fire. Kitchen has stovetop and oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker,big fridge, and all pots, pans, cutlery, crockery etc that you need, except no kettle or teapot. We made do with saucepan and coffee pot as a replacement for these vital items.
All linen is included, towels, sheets, blankets, pillows etc.
The place generally was great for us as a big family travelling together. All I found a bit weird about the bears den is that there are NO windows in any of the rooms at all!I did find that a bit claustrophobic and had to keep opening up the front doors which let the cold in... but the warmth in there is plenty anyway!
The rates are much better during the week, and it was good value for money then. The weekend is a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1000years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    52
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
42
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed in spring, very nice rooms. The staff very friendly and informative about area. Went to see Fallingwater, it's about a 12 to 15 min drive. One of my favorite things about motel, the animal kingdom is right next door. Litterally same place to pay for your room is the place to pay for animal kingdom. Was no problem with animal noise. The only draw back, the free breakfast was not much of a breakfast. Tip, look for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a property that promises a rustic decor in their brochures and in the exterior appearance. Happily, if that's what you seek, the rooms don't disappoint. Everything in the room matches the log cabin design of the exterior, including the dresser and shower area.

Bed was a little soft but well-appointed w/ outdoorsy bedspread. A/C controls were a little sluggish; I'm not sure how well it would perform the task on a very hot day (70s when we stayed, it was sufficient for that). Jacuzzi was quite roomy, but as has been mentioned, jets could be a little stronger. Also know that you can't use soaps or oils in it w/o incurring a significant cleaning fee.

Be advised that first-floor rooms do pick up a bit of noise from upstairs, including families w/ children. If you happen to have loud upstairs neighbors, bring earplugs.

Otherwise room fit the bill, w/ good cable service on a decent-sized flat-panel TV, good-sized room fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Febag12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

No online booking so I called their number and they were very helpful. Stayed in two rooms in the lodge, a two story long building of about 10 rooms per floor. The rooms were fairly clean, bathrooms very clean, although both carpets smelled and needed either serious cleaning or replacement.
Basic cold breakfast provided each morning in a kitchen area off their gift shop / front desk / Living Treasures aminal zoo entrance. This attraction looks good if you have young kids. They also have discount tickets for a nearby mini-golf and go- cart amusement area which is a good deal.
Overall OK place to stay once for something different, I'd recommend booking into one of the cabins on the property instead of the lodge.

Room Tip: Book a cabin on property, not in lodge. The largest units are down the road near a highway, so only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here Aug. 6, 2012 with my daughter and two grand-daughters. Our room was a 'smoking' room, but walking into it, you would never have known. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious! Special touches include: vaulted ceilings, rustic decor, a large flat screen tv w/dvd player, alarm clock w/night light, large, clean! bathroom! microwave, fridge and! chairs on the deck. The staff was very friendly and efficient. As others have said, the breakfast was very simple.. truly, though, enough to get you thru til lunch time, so, no complaints there. Check-out was at 10 a.m... just wish it was a bit later, (possibly, til 11 a.m.) so that we had more time to enjoy the morning there after a late check-in. Kudos! to those who make this a realllllyyyy nice place to return to again and again! Already planning another visit with hubby in the fall.

Room Tip: if you're an 'in room' coffee kinda person, be sure to bring your own lil 4 cup coffee m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClassiqueGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband, my son, and I stayed at this place about a week ago. We enjoyed it's location and the rooms. We stayed in one of the family rooms and had a great time--loved the funky decor. However, the breakfast was pretty bad with only a few bagels, muffins (no eggs or bacon or anything hot), and pretty mediocre coffee. If you want the log cabin experience without having to rough it, this is the place for you though. The room was very spacious and clean and so was the bathroom. Tip: bring one of those fly catchers--the sticky tape ones. There were a lot of flies in the room. We told the front desk and they were nice about it and gave us a flyswatter. Another thing, if you're a light sleeper, keep in mind that, when it rains, it is very loud in the upstairs rooms since the roof seems to be made out of tin. So bring earplugs or stay in the rooms downstairs.

All in all, we had fun at this place and see ourselves staying here again. We will recommend it to anyone for the experience, the pretty amazing little zoo behind it, and the proximity to Idlewild park.

FYI--amazingly enough, in this little crossroads of a town, there is an excellent restaurant. It is called Out Of The Fire. It is a BYOB so grab a local bottle of wine before you go. We went there two nights in a row while staying at Log Cabin. Yes, the food is that good. We also loved the nice view of the highlands from its deck.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latingirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We'd made reservations here taking advantage of the Idlewild package. (It's about a 20 minute drive to Idlewild.) As we drove up, we started getting a little worried, the sign on the place appears hand painted and a bit of a throw back. Our concerns grew as we checked into our room (the 'office' is a gift shop) and were told breakfast is in what appeared to be the staff break room.
We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room and it was clean, spacious (the 2nd floor has the vaulted ceilings), the decor was pretty cool (horseshoe handles, hooks... even the toilet paper holder was a horseshoe), and there were no offending odors.
As an odd added bonus, we were travelling with our 15mo son who will only scream if you put him in a strange crib, so we were planning to co-sleep those nights, but it turned out even better. The beds are on solid frames with no openings under them, so we set up a little barricade between the beds and put him down to sleep there and he was quite happy.

The only drawback was my allergies. In the room it was fine, but going to breakfast or the gift shop, they would go nuts. This of course is because of the adjoining petting zoo. (We did go to the zoo and it was awesome, btw. Buy food, it's really fun. My daughter will always remember feeding the bears. I loved feeding the monkeys - you put the food in the bucket, they pull it to them and get the food, you pull it back and repeat!)

Room Tip: 2nd floor has vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jones Mills
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
5.4 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
24.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
22.3 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Lodge and Suites

Property: Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Address: 288 State Route 711, Jones Mills, PA 15628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Jones Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jones Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Log Cabin Lodge and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log Cabin Lodge & Suites is located near 7 Springs and Hidden Valley Resorts in the heart of the Laurel Mountains. We are more than a typical franchise chain or family inn; the Lodge is constructed of white pine logs by local craftsmen and provides a special flavor of the Laurel Highlands. We offer a variety of room choices, from a Queen single room with a Jacuzzi Tub and Fireplace, to a Brand New suite with 4-8 bedrooms, 3-6 baths, ping pong, pool tables, sauna, and out door hot tub. All rooms include a mini-fridge and microwave. Call and Discover our Many Room Choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Log Cabin Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log Cabin Hotel Jones Mills
Log Hotel Jones Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing