We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October migration”
Review of Hawk Mountain B&B

Hawk Mountain B&B
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kempton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawk Mountain B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kempton
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose the Hawk Mountain B & B because it was close to Hawk Mtn. We went to experience the migration of birds of prey through this area. The B & B is very rural yet on a busy road. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. A substantial breakfast of pancakes and sausage was served in the common room. The rooms are pretty clean, bedding was fresh and nice but the place really needs updating. The cob webs and stained window treatments should be addressed immediately. The innkeeper explained that he has been doing this for 27 years and is waiting for one of his children to take over operations. Needs work. I would not return until improvements are made.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlossEm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hawk Mountain B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

This B&B is ideally situated for visiting Hawk Mountain where in the Fall, if you are lucky, you can see a steady stream of migrating raptors. In 90 minutes we saw 9 Sharp shinned hawks, 5 Bald eagles, 3 Red tailed hawks, 1 Broad winged, 1 Osprey, 3
kestrels, and several Turkey vultures. It's a scramble up to the north lookout.
The B&B is about 7 miles away on a quiet country road, with a relaxing garden and pool. The rooms are in a fairly characterless but comfortable modern block, and the host was very friendly and helpful, with an open kitchen supplied with many drinks, especially exotic teas. The host cooks breakfast to order.


,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 497ianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This B&B badly needs updating. The owner is friendly and the setting is lovely, but the rooms are in need of new carpeting, fresh paint, and new decorative elements. The bathroom was adequate, but just. The breakfast was nothing special. Again just adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dingalingdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The owners were wonderful, the included breakfast was hearty and fresh. Our room was upstairs, it wa clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The location is quite rural and was so beautiful. We visited Pinnacle Winery and hiked Hawk Mountain and the Appalachian Trail. It was a peaceful and romantic weekend and I recommend this B&B highly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abitagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Some family members and I went to Hawk Mountain for the raptor migration this October.
I choose this place to stay from the other reviews I found here on Trip Advisor. The man who runs the B&B is just delightful. He cooks breakfast every morning and there was always coffee and juice available no matter how early or late you got out of bed.
We stayed three nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. There is always cold beer on tap in the common room. We did need to find a place to watch the NFL on Sunday, as there is not great television reception there. We found an Italian place in Kutztown that was perfect.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone, it's terrific.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank RonnieSueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This B&B has about 10 rooms that can best be described as "spartan." However, the extremely lovely remote location and friendly host more than makes up for it. If you're looking for a peaceful place in the country with a pool to jump into after a long hike or bike ride or run, this is the place. If you're looking for antique furniture or richly appointed rooms don't stay here.

Jim is very friendly and helpful, but as other reviewers point out, he doesn't "hover." He'll make breakfast whenever you want it (unlike some places that have an appointed time for breakfast). Breakfast was simple but really tasty (bacon & eggs one day; sausage & blueberry pancakes the other).

Would probably have given 4 stars if it hadn't been the hottest day of the year, which made the breakfast / great room too warm to sit and read in during the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentdiner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We couldn't believe how lovely this B&B was. Jim, the owner, is so nice and helpful, welcoming us into his home and happily answering all our questions and marking places of interest on a map. The B&B is situated in beautiful countryside, very close to Hawk Mountain (which is a must, the 1 mile walk to North Point is easy to do and a stunning piece of nature). The room was cosy and warm. Breakfast was very tasty. We wanted to stay another night, that's how welcome we felt. Thanks again Jim.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliainSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton
9.0 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
9.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
10.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Mountain B&B

Address: 221 Stony Run Valley Rd, Kempton, PA 19529-8747
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kempton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kempton
Number of rooms: 221
Also Known As:
Hawk Mountain Hotel Kempton
Hawk Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing