We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Kennett House for two days while visiting Longwood Gardens. It is a beautiful old home converted to a B&B. It has been beautifully preserved and modernized without compromising its charm and grace. The hostess was as nice and helpful as one could possibly expect, the breakfasts were delicious and nutritious and the room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a lovely common room at the top of the stairs with a table, refrigerator with free water and soda and shelf of complimentary snacks that is perfect for going over brochures and planning the day's travels. Longwood, Winterthur and other sites are within a very short drive and downtown restaurants are within easy walking distance. We could not have been happier with our stay and would readily go back. Indeed, we hated to leave!

Room Tip: My room was in the front of the house facing the main street but was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed an amazing oasis of calm and quiet in a marvelous 1910 home when we stayed with Gilja over Easter. The bed was sooo comfortable and the sheets were fabulous! The breakfasts were a work of art. It was a short walk to an excellent dinner at Byrsa Bistro (BYOB was nice to know from some research we had done of local restaurants) and a short ride to Longwood Gardens where we had a first class Easter Dinner. A most memorable week-end! Thank you again for sharing your home with us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlateHillErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent three nights with our wonderful hostess Gilja. The Inn is immaculately kept and the beds are very comfortable giving you a great night's sleep. The Inn is on a corner on the main street through town but our rooms was still very quiet and restful. The breakfast that is prepared each morning is sooo good. The fruit was always fresh and the main entrée cooked wonderfully and full of flavor. From the Inn it is an easy walk into town where there are a number of restaurants (we ate at Le Verona twice which was excellent) and plenty of shops to browse through. There is plenty to do in the area including Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and several wineries. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Gilja is a wonderful hostess! The Kennett House is delightful! It is immaculate & a wonderful place to call home for our wedding day/night. The food was fresh & yummy, yummy!! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TacieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a lovely place in Kennett Square, the small town near Longwood Gardens -- clean, comfortable, very good breakfast and accommodating owner/hostess. Would definitely stop there again when visiting Longwood.

Room Tip: One room has nearby private bath, others ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N41B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

we are a mature couple who visited Kennett Square from Boston to see the gardens and mansions near by- we had the Longwood Suite for 2 nights mid-week so very quiet- breakfast was superb as Gilja is an excellent cook- she helped us with restaurant suggestions- ate at Le Verona, an excellent Italian place- downtown a very short walk- home well kept and beautifully landscaped- recommend this B and B to anyone who is in the area and would prefer a small B and B to a large hotel atmosphere

Room Tip: Longwood Suite huge- shower but no tub- one room has bathroom in the hall- love being able to open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Kennett House during the annual Mushroom Festival in Kennett Square. Despite the crowds and hubbub associated with the festival, the bed and breakfast was a haven of tranquility and a step back in time.

The house is historically accurate and beautifully decorated much as it might have looked at the turn of the century. Gilja, the owner of the bed and breakfast, greeted us warmly and proved to be a master cook who not only prepared the meals but also served the plentiful, gourmet-style breakfasts. Gathering in the dining room each morning to mingle with other guests was a great way to start our busy days in Kennett Square,

The town is historic, beautiful and filled with good restaurants. We highly recommend Portabello's for its food and for the friendly owners who go out of their way to greet you and to ensure that you are having a pleasurable dining experience.

At the bed and breakfast, we stayed in the Longwood Suite, a large, comfortable suite containing a separate sitting area- it was like having our own apartment for the weekend. The room and the entire inn were spotlessly clean. Furnishings in the room were a bit dated and the carpet is beginning to show wear and tear. I am also not a fan of dispensers of shampoo, soap and conditioner in the shower. I would much prefer a selection of name toiletries so that I could at least recognize the products that I am using. The 18 oz. container of Trader Joe's lotion was not appealing to use as a moisturizer.

I also didn't like leaving my room key at the front desk every time we left the inn- it may have helped the innkeeper keep track of her guests'' comings and goings, but to me it appeared to be a potential invasion of privacy.

All in all, we had a great time and I would recommend the Kennett House B&B to those who are visiting Kennett Square and/or the many historic places located in the Brandywine Valley area.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire if your room has an ensuite bathroom. One of the rooms has a private bathroom bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincipalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
645 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
4.2 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
9.1 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#8 of 13 in Wilmington
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing