We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just returned from a delightful stay at Kennett House in celebration of our 46th anniversary. It was a wonderful experience! Gilja provided the warmest of hospitality, not to mention a most delicious breakfast! This was by far the cleanest and best equipped B&B we've ever stayed at. Everything we needed was there....but best of all was the quiet and peace! After a late afternoon ride through Amish country, we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the cool porch of this stately home. The small town of Kennett Square looked so inviting, which we'll have to explore on another visit to the Kennett Square House!

Room Tip: The Longwood Suite was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Kennett House for two days while visiting Longwood Gardens. It is a beautiful old home converted to a B&B. It has been beautifully preserved and modernized without compromising its charm and grace. The hostess was as nice and helpful as one could possibly expect, the breakfasts were delicious and nutritious and the room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a lovely common room at the top of the stairs with a table, refrigerator with free water and soda and shelf of complimentary snacks that is perfect for going over brochures and planning the day's travels. Longwood, Winterthur and other sites are within a very short drive and downtown restaurants are within easy walking distance. We could not have been happier with our stay and would readily go back. Indeed, we hated to leave!

Room Tip: My room was in the front of the house facing the main street but was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slate Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed an amazing oasis of calm and quiet in a marvelous 1910 home when we stayed with Gilja over Easter. The bed was sooo comfortable and the sheets were fabulous! The breakfasts were a work of art. It was a short walk to an excellent dinner at Byrsa Bistro (BYOB was nice to know from some research we had done of local restaurants) and a short ride to Longwood Gardens where we had a first class Easter Dinner. A most memorable week-end! Thank you again for sharing your home with us!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlateHillErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Syracuse
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent three nights with our wonderful hostess Gilja. The Inn is immaculately kept and the beds are very comfortable giving you a great night's sleep. The Inn is on a corner on the main street through town but our rooms was still very quiet and restful. The breakfast that is prepared each morning is sooo good. The fruit was always fresh and the main entrée cooked wonderfully and full of flavor. From the Inn it is an easy walk into town where there are a number of restaurants (we ate at Le Verona twice which was excellent) and plenty of shops to browse through. There is plenty to do in the area including Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and several wineries. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Gilja is a wonderful hostess! The Kennett House is delightful! It is immaculate & a wonderful place to call home for our wedding day/night. The food was fresh & yummy, yummy!! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a lovely place in Kennett Square, the small town near Longwood Gardens -- clean, comfortable, very good breakfast and accommodating owner/hostess. Would definitely stop there again when visiting Longwood.

Room Tip: One room has nearby private bath, others ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N41B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

we are a mature couple who visited Kennett Square from Boston to see the gardens and mansions near by- we had the Longwood Suite for 2 nights mid-week so very quiet- breakfast was superb as Gilja is an excellent cook- she helped us with restaurant suggestions- ate at Le Verona, an excellent Italian place- downtown a very short walk- home well kept and beautifully landscaped- recommend this B and B to anyone who is in the area and would prefer a small B and B to a large hotel atmosphere

Room Tip: Longwood Suite huge- shower but no tub- one room has bathroom in the hall- love being able to open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
4.2 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
9.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing