We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennett Square
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kennett House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Not a fan of B&Bs but none the less have stayed in many throughout the U.S & Europe. The Kennett House is spectacular--- more like a boutique inn with its quality ammenities & tasteful decor. No detail is overlooked. The breakfasts are gourmet made with the freshest ingredients. Gilja is a hostess par excellence. We stayed in the Delaware Room, very private, very quiet. The Kennett House location is perfect. We walked to the Kennet Inn(just a restaurant-no rooms despite the name) & enjoyed lovely dinners outside on 2 consecutive evenings. A very short drive & we were at The Hagley, Winterthur, Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Museum, & wine tasdting at the winery. Leaving the Kennett House was painful after our luxurious stay. Gilja felt like a dear, dear friend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMCPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is a fantastic historic home, with many unique features. It's located really well, close to Brandywine Battlefield, right on the edge of Amish country, and within easy driving distance of Philadelphia. The town itself is very quiet and friendly, and the place lends itself to a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.
The rooms itself are all nicely updated, while retaining their authentic character. Bathrooms have all the amenities, including great supplies from high-quality soap and shampoo, to little touches like q-tips and cotton balls. It is these little accents that make the place so incredibly comfortable.
The beds are better than some of the bedding at high-priced hotels: very soft sheets but firm, good quality matresses and pillows.
As a business traveler, I especially appreciated the (free) WIFI connection throughout the property, as well as the good selection of channels on TV.
The innkeeper was extremely accommodating and made you feel like part of the family without being intrusive or awkward about it. The breakfast she cooks up is made to order and so plentiful and varied (with fresh fruits, as well as delicious bacon), that it is a true joy to come down for that meal. My favorite memory was waking up in the morning to the delicious smell of fresh bacon and coffee from the kitchen downstairs.
Great place! I'll be sure to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BavarianDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed in the Delaware Room which has an adjacent sitting area with TV. Unlike the previous reviewer, we found that it wasn't noisy at all. Since this suite of rooms is toward the back of the house, we did not hear any traffic or noise. There was nice bathrobes, luxury soaps and lotions, along with other necessities you may forget to bring with you. The bed was quite comfortable with high quality linens. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. During our 3 day stay she prepared mushroom omelets, French toast (my favorite) and a more traditional breakfast. She asked us what we prefer to eat for breakfast and was very accommodating. The location couldn't be better! Just a couple of blocks and you're in Kennett Square - a quaint area with nice restaurants, cafes, and shops. We highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank celluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Absolutely fabulous weekend...our hostess, Gilja, could not have been warmer or more accommodating. We stayed in the Delaware Room, which is actually a two room suite including the enclosed former sleeping porch; it was cozy and just large enough for the two of us and our stuff for three days. The bed linens were sumptuous and the decor is wonderful. The breakfast was outstanding and included fresh fruit in season and an omelet made from fresh local mushrooms. The building itself is an outstanding examply of early 20th Century Architechture, and we became intrigued. As we checked out, we hated to leave and gave Gilja a big hug and told her we'd definitely be back. We highly recommend the Kennett House; don't just stay one night, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sh00bie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I had a great stay at the Kennett House! I am traveling nearly every week for work, and it was refreshing to feel like I was at home for a week. Gilja made me feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed. The room was gorgeous, with fresh linens, a soft bathrobes and luxury soaps and lotions! All of the little details really make a big difference. Each morning, Gilja made me a delicious breakfast with several options, hot or cold, and fresh fruit from the local farmer's market. When I had some free time away from work, she suggested I go to the Longwood Gardens. This was one of the most beautiful places to visit, any time of the year! Kennett Square is a quaint little town with plenty of room to explore. For business travelers, it is only about 45 minutes to an hour from Philly - a nice esape from the city! If you need to get the airport, Gilja was very helpful at giving an alternative route to avoid heavy traffic! I would recommend Kennett House to anyone - business travelers or honey mooners or family get-a-ways!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bigmacc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed at this bed and breakfast in Sept of 2007 and were very impressed with the house, the hostess, and the amenities and appointing of the rooms.

The location is great, only a couple block walk to the quaint shops and restaurants in Kennett Square.

The only complaint we had was with the breakfasts. For both mornings we had breakfast, it was not up to par with the breakfasts we've come to expect from excellent BandB's.

We would definitely stay here again, as we loved everything about our trip. However, we will eat breakfast in one of the many breakfast nooks in town.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Late30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Kennett House and we can't say enough good things about it. We are seasoned B&B travelers and we know a good one when we see it!

The hostess was most charming and very knowledgeable about the area and the local restaurants and was most happy to make suggestions. She always had a pleasant smile and was most friendly and eager to be of help.

The rooms are very well maintained, and have all the amenities that you would require at a B&B. They were immaculate and comfortable.

Snacks and beverages are provided, as well as a lovely breakfast served in a most charming way.

We are definitely going to recommend the inn to our friends and we certainly will be back for another stay.

It's also quite convenient to all the local attractions. If you go, make sure to east at Sovano Bistro. We went there two nights in a row...it was that good!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookishbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
7.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
11.3 mi away
HOTEL DU PONT
HOTEL DU PONT
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 503 W State St, Kennett Square, PA 19348-3028
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Kennett Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kennett Square
Price Range: £95 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennett House Bed and Breakfast offers guests the casual elegance of a magnificent granite foursquare mansion, just three miles from Longwood Gardens. Built in 1910, this Brandywine Valley, Arts & Crafts style B&B is nestled in the historic borough of Kennett Square, and features beautiful chestnut and rosewood woodwork, antique furnishings, and oriental rugs. The Kennett House is just a few minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Museum, Brandywine River Museum, and Hagley Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing